We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just a getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ashton House
Ranked #1 of 6 Avoca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Naas, Kildare, Ireland
1 review
“just a getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

would like to thank Catriona and Shane for making us feel at home for our short but very enjoyable stay, very welcoming (cakes were amazing)friendly and knowledgable, couldnt recommend these lovely people and there lovely home enough, will be back!
Barry/Jenny

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    10
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
96
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Lovely friendly owners and the house itself is very luxurious. Cooked breakfast is very tasty (homemade rhubarb and vanilla jam is gorgeous) and the setting is so calm and peaceful. Thank you very much for accommodating us on the first night of our round Ireland bike trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GAWA75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Just back from a trip round Ireland where we stayed in 5 different B&B’s. They were all rated with an overall rating of at least 4.5 stars on Tripadvisor. We had a vote on the way home as to which one was the best and the result was unanimous, all four of us picked Ashton House. My wife and I had already stayed at Ashton House last year and Shane and Caitriona have maintained the same excellent standard - if we were going that direction again Ashton House would be the first place we would try. The other reviews have covered it well but one thing worth mentioning is the breakfast - it is amazing. The porridge was the best I have ever eaten. The homemade Rhubarb and Vanilla jam was so tasty. If you are going to Wicklow (which is a beautiful part of Ireland) check if Ashton House is free, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 408Geoff408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Catriona and Shane are wonderful hosts. They are so friendly and helpful- it was no problem to bring food back to eat outside (Catriona left a tray with all equipment needed, and more cakes!), or to put a bottle of wine in the fridge. We were welcomed with drinks and home-made cakes on our arrival and helped with the luggage. They are both so knowledgeable and friendly, suggesting places of interest to us and how to get there. The setting is beautiful - next to a field with horses and donkeys, the flowing river at the bottom, and not even a 5 minute stroll to the pub! The house is clean and airy with sitting room provided, and the bedroom large and comfortable.The breakfasts were wonderful and the whole experience was relaxing and peaceful, just what you want on holiday! I would recommend Ashton House to anyone. Top marks for everything!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
523 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

We recently stayed 1 night at Ashton House, and found everything to be excellent. Shane and Catriona are excellent hosts. When we arrived, there was a choice of coffee or tea, served outside on a warm day, and with home-made cake and biscuits. Shane was quick to help us with our large suitcases, and provided advice on local attractions and the best places to eat. Catriona serves an outstanding breakfast, probably the best I have had in years. Nothing was too much trouble for either Shane or Catriona,, and we would have no hesitation in recommending Ashton House.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avidtraveller195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Catriona and Shane were really welcoming and helpful. Great service and value for money, from the wide choice of freshly prepared breakfasts to the tray of tea, coffee, biscuits and homebaked cake waiting for us on arrival and when we returned from days out - and excellent advice on places to see. The room was simply but tastefully furnished and spotlessly clean. The house is in a lovely setting. The food at the local pub was fine, but Bates Restaurant in Rathdrum is well worth a visit. Altogether a very pleasant stay and thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrnambool Victoria Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Ashton House. The location at the Meeting of the Waters is unique and very scenic. It is a rural setting with horses in the paddock next door, the two rivers close by and a trio of pheasants strolling the grounds.

On our arrival we were made very welcome by Shane who gave us tea and cake after showing us around. Catriona served us breakfast the next morning which included a variety of options on the menu from the full Irish to the more simpler tea and toast. A highlight was the selection of homemade jams and marmalade made by Catriona's mother.

Our room at the front of the house was clean,quiet and spacious.The rooms are furnished in non cluttered fashion which was great and certainly made it easier to spread ourselves out without fear of knocking the 'antique china vase' off the table.
WiFi is also available and unlike other B&Bs we stayed in we could access it quite easily from our room. It was great to be able to use this to plan our exploration of the area the next day.

Ashton house is right next to the Meetings of the Waters pub and we spent a very pleasant Sunday afternoon there listening to music.
This was one place which we wished we could have spent more time in and would certainly return to if we ever get the opportunity.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the house and had a lovely outlook over the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avoca
3.8 mi away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
4.1 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
15.5 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
18.2 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cherrybrook Country Home
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashton House

Property: Ashton House
Address: Meetings of the Waters | Vale of Avoca, Avoca, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Avoca
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Avoca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashton House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ashton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashton House Avoca, Ireland - County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing