We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different, delightful and ducks”
Review of Ashton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ashton House
Ranked #1 of 5 Avoca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Hard to fault this really excellent B+B run by Catriona and Shane. Great welcome, smart, comfortable rooms, full breakfast with homemade relish and jams, view of the river and ducks marching up for breakfast, with the ponies and foal nearby, lovely location. Nothing too much trouble. Evening meal in pub in Rathdrum, 10 minutes away. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mauriceh822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Ashton House is family owned and run by a lovely couple who will do everything they can to make your stay wonderful, starting with tea (or coffee) and homemade pastries. They carry your bags upstairs to beautifully decorated, and very private, rooms. The view from ours was one of two rivers that converge nearby. The showers have plenty of hot water. Breakfast is not just the usual cereal, pastries, fruit ,and coffee, but an actual menu with wonderful choices, including an omelet. The owner has plenty of brochures of local sights and maps to direct you. He is happy to advise an itinerary based on your time and interests. I wish we had been able to stay longer. Wicklow has much to offer for sight seeing and Ashton House is a good base to do it from.

Room Tip: Every room has a reason to stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kfarrell52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed in the Ashton House as the first stay in our Ireland holiday trip. It was a very good choice. We were welcomed by a good cup of tea/coffee and delicious cake/discuits upon arrival. THe room was clean and well equipped. The breakfast was amazing and the surrounding was beautiful. It is a good value for money. Would love to come back to stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerInCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

This b&b gives the customer all what a b&b is expected to give plus some more. A lot of more. It starts with the beautiful surroundings accompanied by a peaceful stream and neighborly ducks. It continues with afternoon tea and biscuits (homemade of course), it continues some more with the room and great breakfast, and on top of it all is the hosts welcoming manner with advice regarding the places to go. We enjoyed it a lot and wholeheartedly recommend this place.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Yoav_Lurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Just stayed for one night in Ashton House in Avoca. I would highly recommend this lovely B&B to anyone who wants to experience the beauty of Avoca and surrounding area. Firstly the welcome from Shane was genuine and friendly it was like meeting an old friend, our room was spotless, the bed was comfy. Breakfast was lovely, fresh food and plenty of it, even down to homemade jam and marmalade..the other half is Coeliac and Shane had gluten free sausages, bread ooh and Museli available!! What a host, we were sorry we were not staying for longer!! We met Catriona as we were leaving she was as friendly and kind as her lovely husband I wish them well with this business of theirs. The house is so pretty quiet and peaceful...we will be back again to stay for a little longer maybe.........

Room Tip: Over looking the front garden, really pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avril P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I can't thank Catriona & Shane for a most welcoming visit & stay. Catriona kindly arranged for her husband Shane to meet us before the normal check-in as well as reserving a restaurant for us, Shane was more than helpful with recommendations & providing coffee & delicious home-made cakes & biscuits. The B&B has been renovated to a high-standard: the decor is terrific, the beds & duvet are very comfortable. We were given a room with a view of the river, which was stunning, as were the grounds. Breakfast was delicious (there were numerous choices on the menu) and both Shane & Catriona were very gracious & attentive. Thank you, thank you! I hope to come back! I wish you every success!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the room. If you're lucky, you will even see some ducks & a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Lovely B&B set in beautiful surroundings, just 20 minutes away from Glendalough. We arrived in the evening after having spent the day walking in the Wicklow mountains. Catriona and Shane are perfect hosts - very friendly and welcoming, offering good advice and taking care of our restaurant reservation. Tea or coffee with homemade cakes offered upon arrival. Delicious homemade breakfast the following morning (with so much choice!) The bedroom was very cosy and comfortable with a gorgeous view over the river. I thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ber_lep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avoca
3.7 mi away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
4.1 mi away
Macreddin Rock B&B
Macreddin Rock B&B
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
47 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#2 of 5 in Avoca
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Cherrybrook Country Home
3.2 mi away
Stirabout Lane Bed and Breakfast
3.1 mi away
Rockfield Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashton House

Address: Meetings of the Waters | Vale of Avoca, Avoca, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Avoca
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Avoca
Price Range: £78 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashton House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ashton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashton House Avoca, Ireland - County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing