We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A genuine country house experience”
Review of Rathsallagh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rathsallagh House
Ranked #1 of 4 Dunlavin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Homely, authentic with warm hospitality. I’ve been to Rathsallagh several times in the last number of years and each time it delivers on what it is; a genuine Irish country house. The bar has a good natural atmosphere, no annoying background music here, and the drawing rooms are relaxing with big open turf and log fires. The staff appear to be mostly local and are professional and friendly. The bedrooms all have names which can be confusing after hours but adds to the appeal. We have stayed in rooms overlooking the court yard and walled garden and all had excellent finishes and luxurious products….and great big bathrooms as well as beds. The menu here is classical French with some modern influences, the dining room itself having timber walls and a great big fireplace, again it fits the period of the house, this is a place to relax and unwind in genuine old world luxury. Lovely walks, views and golf on site available if your thing. We will be back again.



.

Room Tip: Speak to the staff at reservations and ask for a courtyard room as closest to main house, easy parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oenophil1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Thank you for your lovely review and for coming back to stay with us again. Apparently an oenophile is a lover of wine . More intriguing is a restaurant of that name in New York that had a sign in the window giving its definition of oenophile as “ an affliction of the senses characterized by intense cravings for good food and service and vintage wines served in a tasteful, comfortable setting at reasonable prices” A restaurant reviewer of the time said that Oenophile sounded like a disease one could catch, some times when replying on these pages I rather think it would actually be a cure for some far worse afflictions. Thank you again and we hope we will see you again soon. From the Rathsallagh team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

Rathsallagh has a lovely ambience about it. The turf fires in the sitting areas are instantly relaxing. However the gas fire in the restaurant was disappointing - why gas?!
We stayed in the Lily Room which was a fine sized room with a lovely big bed, big bathroom and especially appreciated - a big bath. Overall the decor of Rathsallagh is a bit tired - especially in the dining room, and some elements could be improved. The bar area is really disappointing - boring bright lighting and no music make for a strangely silent experience, with the hum of the fridge and the dishwasher behind the bar being the only noise. We opted to have our drinks in one of the sitting rooms in front of the turf fire instead.

Dinner was also a disappointment to us - the dining room is visually dated, and the menu was similarly dated. Old fashioned faux-leather menu holders, and old-fashioned food descriptions - and when our meals arrived, they were heavy and drowning in sauces. I had cod which was overpowered by heavy sweet sauces on the plate, and my husband's duck was cut into thick slabs. There was nothing wrong with the food but it was all very heavy with too many sauces for our taste - even the potatoes were swimming in butter. My mussels starter was delicious but again, the sauce was so rich and heavy - a bit too much.

The gardens are beautiful and a lovely surprise - Rathsallagh's setting is superb and the gardens are so well tended they are a pleasure to walk through. Our room had doors into the courtyard but no mat inside the doors; walking in and out from the courtyard meant we were dragging leaves and muck in onto the carpet. We asked one of the staff for a mat and they said they'd see what they could do, but nothing appeared and it wasn't mentioned again. Similarly, in the entrance to the accommodation building from the courtyard, there was no mat and we felt we were walking dirty boots onto the floor and the large rug.

Overall a very nice night away for us, the staff were a pleasure, the turf fires were great and the grounds are fantastic. We'd hope the chef might update his menu with lighter, less fussy dishes, and the management might update the dining room itself.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank locloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeWicklowIreland, Manager at Rathsallagh House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and also for your visit to Rathsallagh on our 2011 Pigs Back deal ( €120 for B&B, Prosecco on arrival and a €30 dining credit ), I do hope you will keep on eye out as the 2012 version of this offer is due to be released soon, although the number of vouchers available is very limited .
I am sorry you were not happy with our dining room, Rathsllagh is over 400 years old so we cant unfortunately remove the oak paneling on the walls and replace them with stainless steel. ( we do replace the carpet every year however and the linen tablecloths, linen napkins and fresh flowers are replaced every day ) You asked re the gas effect fire, and you also noticed the lovely smell of turf smoke around the place, and we cant have that in the dining room obviously . The old kitchen bar is a similar story ( it has no dishwasher and you cant hear the fridge ! ) but it has an old clock on the wall ( beside the turf and log fire ) and you can hear that ticking if its really really quiet. Rathsallagh is a Country House for relaxing in, a place to give you time to listen. Your feed back on the food is appreciated, we are not sure where you managed to get your ideas on heavy sauces from however. In addition the leather covers on the menu are real, but then as we are all exposed to so many conveyor belt style operations these days sometimes we lose our ability to distinguish quality from mass production. Thanks again. From all at Rathsallagh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I recently visited Rathsallagh for dinner. The chef has just started his autumn menu, and let's just say the food matched the season/weather perfectly! Smokey mussels, venison vol au vent, stuffed quail, pumpkin rissotto, and the list goes on. Everything was cooked perfectly, very good clean flavours! I have eaten at many star rated restaurants, and Rathsallagh is keeping right up with the big city places, in the quite rolling hills of Co. Wicklow! Fairly priced, nice portions, friendly staff. This is definitely somewhere I would recommend trying, I know I'll be going back!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelingplate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Thank you for your lovely review As you have noted our style of cooking here is French classical with some modern influences resulting in a clean light style. Its heartening to know that you have appreciated our efforts in designing our menu to incorporate as much local produce as is possible. Sometime its frustrating to produce such food from scratch and then have it misrepresented by amateur restaurant critics, more used to simple fair and with no idea or understanding of classical cooking. So refreshing then that you took the time to write such an informed review. Thank you. From all at Rathsallagh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Having had a wonderful experience at a friend's wedding some years back, we decided to treat ourselves before the school hols were over. Travelled down on a Friday pm to meet the couple who's wedding I spoke about.
First thing you notice as you get out of the car is the amazing smell of the turf fires. Relaxation starts here.
Unfortunately we were extremely disappointed by the rooms.
We were staying in Rose Cottage. The smell of damp was overpowering. The cobwebs on the ceiling were enormous and the carpet didn't lend itself to being stood on in bare feet. Bathroom was very dated and the sanitary wear was stained and dirty looking.
The restaurant experience continues to be amazing. Food is stunning & service excellent but with prices to match.
Breakfast without doubt is the best I've ever experienced.
All in all a good experience but I won't return unless the standard of the rooms improves significantly

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
4  Thank Pickagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My husband and I were invited to attend a wedding taking place in Rathsallagh House. To say it was wonderful would be an understatement. The Civil ceremony was conducted in The Orangery which provided a lovely backdrop to a happy occasion. Then out on to the lawn for champagne and general mingling. The meal was a wonderful, tasty treat and the dancing in excellent surroundings. This hotel really knows how to do weddings. It is set in beautiful gardens and the staff were in attendance constantly with a wonderful friendly attitude. Our room was spacious anfd luxurious: we were on the ground floor in the courtyard area. Breakfast next morning can only be described with one word: magnificent. I shall look for an opportunity to return. I loved it

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MotherBird77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Thank you for a great review, it is in itself a “treat” for all the staff here , a reward for all the hard work and effort they put into every wedding at Rathsallagh. We are very proud of our food quality and particularly our breakfast and we get such a buzz when guests let the world know that they enjoyed what we had to offer. Thank you again for taking the time to write. From all at Rathsallagh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Rathsallagh House near Dunlavin Co. Wicklow provides a lunch on Sunday that cannot be bettered! The Hotel itself is a lovely mellow old building surrounded by extensive grounds incorporating a golf course if one is so inclined. But its the Lunch served in the dining room that is the star attraction.We had been told about it by friends and decided to try it out. One can begin with soup-we didnt as we knew what was to come but Im sure it was delicious. There is a choice of about 12 different starters and one can make a selection of as many or as few as desired. One can also go back to the starter table again if one is shameless!
The proprietor mr. O Keefe presides over the table in the centre of the room and there is a selection of beef, lamb, pork, fowl, and fish , all accompanied by beautifully cooked veg and a selection of sauces, chutneys, dressings. Not alone is the meat full of flavour but the cordial Mr O Keefe (Joe?) is attentive to all fads and carves well done or rare, crispy end bits or elegant slices, fat or fat free to everyone's choice.
Then its time to pause! The desert table had eight separate and delicious deserts the day we were there and as with the starters there was individual choice and no limits.
We retired to the drawing room for tea or coffee and a selection of fine cheeses including a particularly tasty Brie, and oat biscuits.
I think this superlative lunch is served only on Sundays and advance booking is a good idea.
The Staff are warmly welcoming and efficient and Joe-if it is Joe-O Keefe sets the atmosphere, recognising returned visitors and welcoming new ones. One feels comfortable and totally at ease in this lovely old house. We will certainly return on many another occasion.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toberdaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Thank you for scrumptious Sunday Lunch review. The service and kitchen teams are absolutely delighted with your comments. You have really captured the essence of what we are trying to do, good local produce served with a smile because we know its good and also because we derive great pleasure seeing you really enjoy what we have prepared for you. My full name is Joe O’Flynn and I am the second generation of O’Flynn’s to work and run Rathsallagh, but I would be nowhere without the team at the front and the back of the house, it is they who do all the really hard work. Thank you again for a really lovely review and please do come back for lunch soon. From all the Rathsallagh team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We had our wedding reception at Rathsallagh House in August this year and I cannot speak highly enough about the staff and the venue. I would give it 10 stars if that was an option on here!

Firstly, we were planning our wedding from afar so most of our communication with the Wedding Co-ordinators was via email. They would always reply to us so quickly and took so much time to help us with all our questions and gave us brilliant advice. We felt extremely valued right from the beginning and just the tone of their emails was so welcoming and friendly-it was like our wedding was the most important wedding they ever had! That is exactly how every wedding venue should treat you, but I don't think that is always the case with other venues.

The wedding day itself couldn't have gone better. Rathsallagh know exactly what they are doing and the day is organised perfectly without it feeling like a military operation! We had a beautiful, sunny day so we were delighted to be able to be outside in the walled garden with our guests, who were suitably enamoured with the place! The house and surrounding grounds are so beautiful, and you have it all to yourself for the day. The food was magnificent, service fantastic and our guests felt completely looked after and happy.

The bedrooms are beautiful, so big and spacious with beautiful bathrooms. And the breakfast is simply the best breakfast I have had at any hotel, first class!

If you are hesitating about booking your wedding here...don't! You will not regret it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Intomyarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Thank you for a really lovely review. Our wedding coordinators, Catherine, Gillian and Trish are over the moon with the high praise you gave them. Our kitchen team are also thrilled. As you know August in Ireland was one of the wettest summer months for years, you were so lucky to get such a beautiful sunny day. We can only hope that this luck stays with you both for the rest of your lives. Thank you for letting and more importantly trusting Rathsallagh to play its part in one of the most important days of your life. We wish you both long life and happiness together. From all at Rathsallagh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunlavin
11.5 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
13.0 mi away
Osprey Hotel
Osprey Hotel
#2 of 5 in Naas
1,212 reviews
19.5 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tynte House
Tynte House
#4 of 4 in Dunlavin
66 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ash House Bed and Breakfast
Ash House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Calverstown
27 reviews
24.9 mi away
Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathsallagh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathsallagh House

Address: Dunlavin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Dunlavin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dunlavin
Price Range: £153 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rathsallagh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathsallagh Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing