We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel Beautiful Grounds” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rathsallagh House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Rathsallagh House
Ranked #1 of 4 Dunlavin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Meath
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel Beautiful Grounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stayed here in January with a Group from Work, we booked the entire hotel and had a wonderful experience, whilst it is a bit hard to find and we had our Sat Nav on overtime we got there (a few more signposts and directions would be brilliant) we did miss the Entrance to the Hotel as it again is not well signposted but apart from that we arrive to a beautiful drive down an Avenue under an Archway where there was Ample parking, the Check In Staff were very helpful and polite and guided us to our Rooms, the Rooms were fabulous my room was in the Main Building down winding corridors and boasted a huge Four Poster Bed with very Traditional furniture in line with the Ambiance of the Hotel, the Bathroom was very Large with a Bath and Shower and two Washhand Basins, the lighting wasn't great in the Room but then again it is in line with the Hotel ambiance and I like that. I would have been happy to chill out in the Room for the Weekend it was that Peaceful and looked out onto the Courtyard and Golf Course. We had a Buffet Dinner that evening and the choice of Food, the Food itself and the Staff were excellent very high quality for the Buffet Style Meal we had. The Bar is quite small and almost looking like a kitchen but it is definately not lacking in atmosphere, we had a lovely night and we not the staff got quite noisy (Karoke) the Staff were lovely and could not do enough for us. The Breakfast for the 2 days was one of the best I've had in any Hotel, the Sausages, Bacon and Egg Choice are the best and I believe they have awards for same and I am not surprised to hear that. We had a lovely walk in the Grounds which were lovely and had a Spa Treatment which again was lovely and just what the Doctor ordered !!! Overall the Staff, the Rooms, the Place is wonderful and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All Rooms were lovely, I particularly liked the Rooms not directly attached to the main building as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaureenBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you so much for your detailed review. Apologies regarding the signage, we are constrained by Wicklow County Council as to what we are allowed to put up and it is very frustrating for all. It was lovely having you all here, Rathsallagh is available as you know for private and exclusive use, and because of that it allows us to really look after out guests on an individual bases. I remember your Karaoke night, that was great fun and we loved having you all here for the two days. Please do come back and see us soon, and do bring the gang, we could do with another great party. Thanks again from all at Rathsallagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    57
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
98
192
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roma
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I was there some years ago for a job meeting.
It was in January.
Wonderful building, well organized and clean everywhere, huge rooms.
An incredible landscape facing to the hotel: fields and meadows all around, with trees and bushes of flowers.
Excellent breakfast.
You can`t loose it once in your life.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MASORoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. The views are indeed amazing at Rathsallagh, from the Blue Room out across the lawns to the planes of Kildare and from the Club House veranda you can see the Wicklow Mountains without any interruption from buildings or other developments. The Golf Course is magical and is totally devoid of any residential development around it , a sad case in many golf resorts these days. We just love living in this quiet rural landscape and we are thrilled when we can get to share it with someone who appreciates it. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We had the best wedding weekend one could wish for! Our wedding was planned to perfection and in the most relaxed manner. We had 12 people from Australia fly over for it plus the Irish contingent and we booked the place out for 2 nights and 3 days. The rooms are truely beautiful.
The meals were all fantastic and we had great fun in the bar. We arranged a Trad band and partied the weekend away.
The boys Clay bird shooting in the snow on the morning after was hilarious and so much fun, I would really recommend it. Pity the snow prevented us getting on the golf course.
We will never forget this magical experience, our friends still rave about it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaunW1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you both for your lovely review. What a party you had, we remember it well. Winter wedding’s work so well at Rathsallagh and it was a joy to have you all and your friends from overseas. We wish you both long life and happiness and thank you again for your great review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We were at a wedding here recently.The staff were really pleasant and helpful. The canapes were delicious and pleantiful and the main meal was very tasty.
The marque got very cold as the night drew in and i would advise women to bring a coat/jacket into the marque to keep the cold at bay.
Overall, it is a lovely wedding venue with good food.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for wring a lovely review, the kitchen team are thrilled you enjoyed their canapés and wedding breakfast. We are sorry you found the wedging pavilion a bit cold that night, it has a very extensive and sophisticated heating system, and so we are puzzled as to your experience. We have shared your review with our service tem and they will be sure to continue to be cognisant of guest’s comfort late into the evening. Thank you again and please do come back and see us soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Recently attended family wedding and cannot thank the hotel enough. Amazing drive up to house and sensible parking options you enter the most relaxed atmosphere, attentive staff, and when you get to the Wedding breakfast the food was one of the best meals I've ever had at a wedding. From the beautiful room overlooking the garden what a magical place. With great accommodation, taxis to local accommodation and great walks for the day after, Rathsallagh excells.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for a wonderful review, we are thrilled that you enjoyed the wedding here in our dedicated wedding pavilion looking over our gardens. The Rathsallagh team are thrilled with what you have written and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us very soon. From all at Rathsallagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Our wedding experience at Rathsallagh far exceeded our expectations. From the very first time we visited Rathsallagh we were captivated by the place, words cannot capture how magical Rathsallagh is. We knew immediately that it had to be the location for our wedding but that was just the start of what was to become a truly wonderful day. Catherine's enthusiasm is infectious and after our initial meeting we were bursting with excitement, this feeling grew even more so throughout the planning process towards the big day on February 14th 2014. Catherine and her staff were absolutely amazing, they couldn't have done enough for us. They gave us great ideas, advised and guided us in the right direction throughout the planning process making the whole experience calm, relaxed and enjoyable. It is a great joy for us to hear our guests speak of how much they also enjoyed themselves. Each one of them have been praising their experience which is a huge delight for us, with many of them planning return trips to Rathsallagh. We would like to thank each and every member of the staff. They are the most professional, welcoming and hospitable group of people one could hope to meet. They made us and our guests feel extremely comfortable in the very special and homely atmosphere there. I could continue singing it's praises but I think the message is clear. We would again like to thank most sincerely everyone at Rathsallagh for making our wedding the most enjoyable and happiest day of our lives, we look forward to making many returns to this very special place, our home from home. Love always, Kieran Doyle and Ciarán Keating

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieran D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Kieran and Ciaran. Thank you both so much for a simply wonderful review. Catherine and all the team here at Rathsallagh are thrilled that you gave them such high praise. It was a great pleasure and an honour to host your wedding here and your guests were a delight to serve. We hope that you will come back and see us all soon, and in the meantime may we wish you long life and happiness. From all the team at Rathsallagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Really enjoyed returning to Rathsallagh a few years after last being there. It has not lost any of its charms. As always the food was amazing and the breakfast which cannot be rushed is as always been the best in Ireland.

Only downside was the rooms we were in were cold and seemed to take forever to warm up also if you are going to restrict children which is ideal for adults getting away for a weekend then please extend this to having a dog in the bar. Really annoying little terrier in the bar in the evening when we were having a nice quiet drink.

Keep up the good work, re: Food, Open Fires and the friendly welcome.

Room Tip: Do not get the two on the ground floor opposite the main reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caoimhan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are thrilled that Rathsallagh still lives up to its expectations for you. We are very sorry about the room not being warm enough on arrival, the heating should have been turned up well in advance of your check in and obviously there was a failure on our part to delver on this occasion. I have shared that with the team here and they also offer there apologies over that. I was in the bar on the afternoon when that cute little terrier came in. His owners were staying in Rathsallagh and had just come in from a long walk around the grounds and were enjoying a warming drink by the fire. We do welcome dogs here, and have heated kennels for them to stay in, although they are not normally allowed in the bar. On this occasion the little chap was only in for as long as it took his owner to warm up, and it was a very cold weekend. We will be more cognisant in future and again apologise for any annoyance the terrier caused. Thank you again for a great review and please do come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunlavin
11.5 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
19.5 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
5.5 mi away
Dun Na Si Guesthouse
Dun Na Si Guesthouse
#3 of 4 in Ballyshannon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Kildare House Hotel
Kildare House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kildare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
9.9 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
0.0 mi away
Tynte House
Tynte House
#4 of 4 in Dunlavin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathsallagh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathsallagh House

Property: Rathsallagh House
Address: Dunlavin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Dunlavin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dunlavin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rathsallagh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathsallagh Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing