We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smell the peat fire, savour the food, pity about the internet !”
Review of Rathsallagh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rathsallagh House
Ranked #1 of 4 Dunlavin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
509 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
“Smell the peat fire, savour the food, pity about the internet !”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I visited as part of a 20+ crew of golfers playing on the adjoining course.

An hour and a bit from Dublin, Rathsallagh is a country house ( as opposed to an hotel ! ), which sits in the lush green surroundings of County Wicklow. A pleasant drive up to the house over stone bridges and with a good view of the excellent golf course and thoroughbred horses in adjoining fields of buttercups. I loved the smell of the peat fires burning and this was symptomatic of the warm welcome that we received. Staff continuously helpful and the touch of the proprietors is apparent as they remain actively involved in the running of the house.

Spent quality time reading and having tea in the two comfortable drawing rooms, both tastefully furnished with antique and old style furniture. Lots of interesting paintings and old photos to reflect on too. The bar is more functional and doesn't manage to carry the same sense of style.

The food is an enormous plus point for Rathstallagh. Each evening we were given a choice of three options for each course and all we had was superbly presented and cooked and arrived in ample quantities. Good breakfasts too, not least the lovely home baked bread.

There is a billiards room across the courtyard and its well worth exploring the extensive Victorian gardens across the quad. Monkey puzzle trees and original stone cold frames etc.

Unfortunately, there is one major negative to Rathsallagh - internet repletion is awful. If you sat next to the router in the bar and the wind blew from the west, you could manage a connection. I tend to take the view that nowadays fast internet connectivity is about as standard as running hot water. Rathsallagh just have to come to grips with this problem and fix it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lieutenant_Feraud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you so much for your fantastic review, it was such a great pleasure to have you all here, and of course we look forward to a return visit later this summer of another group from the fantastic Knightsbridge Golf School. Our kitchen team headed up by Nico are only delighted that you enjoyed their food , they had great fun serving you all.
We are very sorry about our internet. We did have a problem while you were here and this has now been narrowed down to a rouge router in the bar, it was re set , DHCP activated, and this brought down our public wi fi network. We have had that fixed and tamper proof router installed, so we have good net access back now in all bedrooms, , conference rooms and public areas. You know we are only 50 miles from then center of Dublin and it pains us to admit it in what is supposed to be “technologically advanced Ireland “ but internet access is not available here on the telephone lines, and fiber is only something we can dream of. To get access to the net we have had to install a series of links over neighbors lands and have a company bring it in specially for us at accost of €700 + vat per month. ( 12mb + up and down with no contention ) No excuses for it not working when you were here, and we apologies again for that, but it is back now and will be ready for your next visit. Thank you again for a super review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    61
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
116
205
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed here as part of a wedding party. Excellent, quiet location deep in the Irish countryside.

Friendly, hard-working staff (weddings on two consecutive days, bar open until 3 am but they still managed to get the place spick and span between events).

Good restaurant, EXCELLENT breakfast selection.

Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OneofmanyMikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review, its so much appreciated. Also thank you for praise our wedding team, they sure do work hard to give each and every wedding 110% . But you know when we have a wedding the House is given over exclusively to that, no other guests are allowed in. However we do have dates in our summer calendar when no weddings are on and you can come and stay at Rathsallagh and enjoy the peace and the quiet, keep an eye out for some of our great summer special offers including our overnight with complementary golf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

What a great spot, hidden away in the lush countryside of West Wicklow. Following a great drive from gate lodge to the main house past elderly large trees, racing hares and over stone bridges, we approached the main house. The layout is a little higgelty piggelty, driving through archways to find parking and into farmyard type areas, you really feel like you are miles away from urbania! We entered reception and were shown to one of the lovely drawing rooms (sounds formal but they are actually really relaxed, comfy seating areas) where we placed our dinner order with changes being made to the menu offering to suit our requirements without quibble or question. We then settled into the relaxed atmosphere that seeps into you once you enter the doorway. When our dinner was ready, we were brought to the dining room, a cosy old style room. The food was really well considered, well cooked and presented we enjoyed every bite. The use of sourced local ingredients is evident on the menu. Nice touches such as old style Newbridge cutlery, silver coffee pots and homemade cookies all add to the warmth of Rathsallagh. Well worth the trip and looking forward to the next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScreenqueenIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
What a fabulously well written description of arriving in Rathsallagh, thank you, you have summed it up perfectly . It is a little higgledy piggledy , that’s because its over 400 years old in places, the main house having burned down back in 1798 so what you are staying in these days are essentially the stables, although the horses would never recognize the luxury now. Thank you also for your praise of the food, Nico and his team are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed their efforts. We look forward to you visiting us again, please keep an eye out for some of our great summer special offers including our six course tasting menu and overnight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed in the hotel for a wedding and it's an excellent venue. The ballroom was set up beautiful for the wedding and food was very tasty. The room was located in the main house close to the ballroom. The double bed was large but I did notice it was two beds joined together. The bathroom was huge and had plenty of mirrors! The room had a real sunny feel to it. I would love to come back and stay in the hotel again and relax for the weekend with my book as it's a very peaceful venue.

Room Tip: Good stay in the yellow room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felixamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the wedding here. We are very proud of our food, and we always cook meat to order even for a big wedding with 250 or more guests. . Yes we do use what are called zip and link beds in some rooms, they are orthopaedic mattress made especially for us by King Coil in Kilcullen, As they are individual they provide a super level of comfort and a great night’s sleep. We are also delighted that you enjoyed the bathroom, as you noticed they have double ended baths ( designed for two ) and walk in power showers, these bedroom are in excess of 50sqm , so plenty of size. Thank you again for taking the time to write, we look forward to welcoming you back to Rathsallagh very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Excellent distinction and venue for a wedding! Cute rooms located close to the ballroom - which makes it very easy to get home after the bar closes! From the moment we arrived every member of staff made us feel welcome and at home!
Beautiful meal and great breakfast in the morning!
One small issue would be the size of the bars and the number of staff working at them - they are quite small and only seemed to have 2/3 barmen!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gearoidoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for a lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed the wedding here at Rathsallagh. Each wedding is very special to us and as you know all weddings here are on a totally private and exclusive use bases , ie we have no other guests other than the wedding party around. We actually had five bar staff on the night you were here, it was hectic however with 140 guests. We are glad you had a great visit and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rathsallagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I stayed in Rathsallagh, with my Mum, for 3 nights in April on a Blue Book Voucher Deal. It's a wonderful old house with beautifully finished, well-equipped, comfortable bedrooms and bathrooms. We couldn't have wished for anything more.

The staff are magic! Very professional, friendly and cater to your every need from serving coffee in front of the fire after dinner to checking out Mass times in the local church. Miriam in reception was particularly warm and welcoming.

With so much to love, it's a pity to have a criticism on any part of our stay. Yet when you find something so good, you tend to be disappointed when a part of it doesn't quite live up to your expectations.

Breakfast was very good but when the menu offers a Special Dish of the day, you expect it to be special. On Day 1 we had scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and it was very good. On Day 2, the breakfast special was scrambled eggs with tomato and on Day 3 the special was scrambled eggs and ham. At that stage breakfast didn't feel quite so special any more.

We had dinner on 2 nights. I highly recommend the beef, lamb and pork belly. The fish selection, however, was disappointing. Tuna and teriyaki salmon are not fish dishes with mass appeal. I had the calamari starter on one night. It came with a combination of ingredients that just didn't work, and the group dining at the next table felt the same.

So while there's a lot to love about Rathsallagh, it would be great if the Breakfast Special Dish of the Day was a real choice and if the fish selection on the dinner menu could be improved. Sort out those and Rathsallagh would be a place I'd keep coming back to. As I said at the beginning, there's a lot to love about Rathsallagh,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are delighted that you and your Mum enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations over breakfast. Our normal breakfast would have such items as smoked salmon, our famous breakfast hams, cheese boards, kedgeree, Doyle’s sausages black puddings, mushrooms beans tomatoes, fired , poached and boiled eggs, our home made preserves, natural yogurt and freshly stewed rhubarb , mueslis and granolas etc. We should also have a different free range egg ( from our own hens ) dish such as Eggs Florentine, Benedict or Natasha on every morning . I have passed on your disappointment to our chef over this unacceptable lapse in variety that weekend and on behalf of the breakfast team he apologises profusely . We did have a number of fish dishes on that weekend including Tart of Fresh and Smoked Haddock, The teriyaki glazed salmon , seared tuna fillet, and of course the Deep Fried Squid, with pineapple Salsa, and on that Saturday night we also had a special of a classic prawn cocktail. And as every dish is prepared from scratch our chefs will prepare these fish dish’s anyway you like on request, we are sorry if this was not made clear to you. We will take your comments on board and will ty to improve on our fish offerings and we thank you for your invaluable feedback. We are fully booked now for every weekend until the 10th of October when we start our special offers for Autumn weekend breaks. Please do have a look at those as we would love to welcome you both back to Rathsallagh soon when we hope that you will like at of what Rathsallagh has to offer. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review. The Rathsallagh team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We were taking part in the 40th birthday celebration of a good friend, together with many, many others. The setting of the hotel is to die for, especially as for the entire three days we had sunshine in Wicklow during Easter! Service was smooth and impeccable, and the staff efficient but not intrusive. Our relatively small double room was superbly appointed, and the outsized bathroom with bath AND shower perhaps accounted for the missing "space". Don't think about watching television however, it was the size of an iPad! The setting is what makes this hotel, and we would recommend it to anyone looking for style, peace and tranquility, yet with a touch of Irish charm and hospitality.
The breakfast was to die for, and no wonder they have won awards as being among the best in Ireland! We were there for banquets dinners, but if those are anything to go by, the quality of the cuisine is just outstanding. Service to match. I can't say enough, as a regular TA contributor, as to how complete their service and quality goes. We will certainly make the 60 minute journey from Dublin Airport again.

Room Tip: Keep away from the back rooms when there is a party!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RocketmanGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeWicklowIreland, Owner at Rathsallagh House, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
What a fantastic weekend that was , and thank you so much for writing such a lovely review on it. This was a special weekend of us as well, as the birthday boy is a long standing friend and guest of Rathsallagh. It was such a pleasure and indeed an honour to host this event and we are so thrilled that it went off so well. Thank you also for your praise for our breakfast, although we appear to have dropped the ball the following weekend which I must look into –see above . We do hope you will make the short trip down from Dublin and stay with us again,. We have some lovely autumn weekend brakes planed from October 10th, hopefully we will see you then and thank you once more for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunlavin
11.5 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
9.9 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
19.5 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tynte House
Tynte House
#3 of 4 in Dunlavin
62 reviews
9.7 mi away
Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort
24.9 mi away
Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathsallagh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathsallagh House

Property: Rathsallagh House
Address: Dunlavin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Dunlavin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dunlavin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rathsallagh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathsallagh Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing