We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places to stay in Ireland!”
Review of Rathsallagh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rathsallagh House
Ranked #1 of 4 Dunlavin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Galway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“One of the best places to stay in Ireland!”
Reviewed 11 August 2006

My husband and I (and our 3 month old dachshund puppy) stayed in Rathsallagh for 2 nights at the end of July, and we loved every minute of it!!

The staff, without exception, were very friendly and welcoming, and really seemed to enjoy meeting with and chatting to the guests. Both Joe and Kay (the owners) mingled with guests in the dining room in the evenings, stopping at every table and making sure everyone felt very much at home.

The bedrooms are lovely. We were given the "Kilbarry" room, which is in the newer block at the back of the house. We had a massive bedroom and a separate sitting room, with plenty of wardrobe space (and hangers). The bathroom was also huge, with a separate bath and wet room, and was filled with lovely toiletries and cosy waffle bathrobes.

Breakfast and dinner are served in the main house (there are bedrooms here as well, but I think they rooms in the new wing are bigger). We had dinner on both nights and were pleased that the menu was completely different on both nights, so there was no problem with deciding what to eat. The meal was gorgeous, and included little extras like pre-appetisers and petit-fours. Breakfast was an equally impressive spread, and was plenty to set you up for the day.

The trip was for our 5th wedding anniversary, and we needed somewhere that was pet-friendly, as our new puppy was too young to go to kennels, so would have to come with us. Rathsallagh has a specially converted stable, and the dog was perfectly happy there for the 2 nights. The staff were great with him, and did everything to make sure he was comfortable.

We’ll definitely go back to Rathsallagh, and would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway. It’s worth keeping an eye out for special offers on the website. We booked the "Midsummer Madness" package, which consisted of 2 nights B&B, dinner on one night, a round of golf or massage each and cocktails on both nights, which only cost €199 per person.

  • Liked — Luxurious accommodation and great food
  • Disliked — Nothing - it was perfect!
  • Tips/Secrets — Forgot to mention - Rathsallagh isn't suitable for children under 12
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AvrilQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    58
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
107
200
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2006

Rathsallagh is such a wonderful place. Welcoming, warm, friendly, great food, wine and beer......and lastly entertaining. We had the Blue Room which was occupied by Julia Roberts, what more needs to be said. Didnt play golf but looks fantastic and breakfast is to die for! All in all a fab experience.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Oenophil1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
all over
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2006

The Rathsallagh House was far and away the best accomodation of our Ireland trip. We were naive enough to book the "Irish Castles" tour through [------------]without reasearching the accomodations ourselves like we typically do. The other places we stayed at ranged from forgettable to aweful, but the Rathsallagh House was fabulous. Has a great "country manor" feel to it - because it is, I guess. Room was great, food was the best we had in Ireland, and the common areas and grounds were outstanding. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IslandChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2006

Have just returned from two fabulous nights at Rathsallagh Country House. The welcome from the O'Flynn family was wonderful and our every need was catered to.
Food was excellent. We had the rack of lamb which just melted in the mouth followed by very decadent chocolate dessert and leisurely drinks in the sitting room afterwards. We had to drag ourselves off to the very comfortable and spacious bedroom which had an amazing shower room in the bathroom.
Make sure to take a wander around the walled garden.
The place is divine and I can't wait to return.

Helpful?
4 Thank caos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2005

We were married near Rathsallagh in August, and had our reception here. We stayed for three nights in total. Everything was simply wonderful. The food is fantastic (100 fillets of beef served to individual taste simultaneously for example!) with the finest quality of meat. The rooms are very comfortable, and we really wished we vould have had more time there to luxuriate in the room and its surroundings.

The staff are charming and are a credit to the O'Flynns who own and run Rathsallagh. For a little romantic get away, or a big do, I can't think of a better place

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2005

We stayed for only one night but had chance to sample the restaurant food and the golf course....both being very impressive.

The golf course is parkland in style with many large trees and water features. May be not quite of the standard of wentworth but my partner thought it rather resembled it.

We stayed in Rose Cottage, It was of ample size with very nice furniture.

The staff were very friendly and had the knack of being helpful without being over bearing. The receptionist was probably the best I have every come across, nothing was too much problem...if only all receptionists could be this good!

One word of warning though..there is plenty of roadworks on the way to Dublin and what should have been a 1hr journey can easily turn into 2 1/2hrs of slow crawl.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wilderj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2005

We have just returned from a weekend break at Rathsallagh House, I can only describe it as pure bliss. We wanted a relaxing weekend and this is what we got.
Rathsallagh House is a quaint old house in a private setting. This place is designed for quietness, privacy and relaxation.
If you enjoy good food you shall really appreciate Rathsallagh House, both breakfast and dinner are outstanding.
Would recommend for a quiet/romantic get away.
Does not cater for children which suited us fine.

Helpful?
2 Thank glesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunlavin
11.5 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
19.5 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
996 reviews
9.9 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
13.5 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
563 reviews
19.8 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathsallagh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathsallagh House

Property: Rathsallagh House
Address: Dunlavin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Dunlavin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dunlavin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rathsallagh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathsallagh Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing