We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic and friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tynte House

Tynte House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tynte House
Ranked #4 of 4 Dunlavin B&B and Inns
West Sussex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Authentic and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

My family and I had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at Tynte House over a weekend. The hosts proved to be a delightful and genuine family who welcomed us warmly to their establishment. The house is an authentic Georgian building with bags of character and personality and a welcome change from the usual 21st century blandness often on offer. Dunlavin is ideally situated for exploring the beautiful Wicklow Mountains and getting a feel for a more rural location. The breakfast was excellent and included local produce, well cooked.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nabufster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    13
    9
    4
    11
See reviews for
18
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
129 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2010

Tynte House is a lovely, period house right in the middle of Dunlavin village. Very quiet and peaceful. Comfortable bedroom and great welcome from mine hosts, Caroline and John (and their polite, friendly children). Formidable and delicious Irish breakfast. Walls covered in fascinating old pictures of the village. For a poor benighted Englishman, it feels like a taste of the real Ireland.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happywanderer063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

Caroline and JJ run one of the most charming and cosy hotels in Ireland. As well as being superb hosts, their house is beautiful and the rooms clean, warm and very comfortable. Their location makes it ideal to explore the stunning countryside and the nearby lakes and mountains, and the tasty Irish breakfasts are just the thing to get your energy levels up for a nice days' walking. Would definitely recommend this hotei to anyone travelling to Ireland.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WakeVortex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick Eng
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2010

What hospitality!. For someone new to Ireland, this was the place to be.. out in the country, an hour from Dublin, beautiful weather, a fascinating place to stay with lots of local history. some uncomfortable for an English visitor. Its the people you meet that make the difference. The couple wjho own it with their friendly children are excellent hosts full of warmth , humour and local stories, and a great breakfast the next morning

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BradfordboyWarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2010

If you're en route to the South or South West of Ireland or looking for a base in the Wicklow Hills then this is the place for you. Comfortable, generous and welcoming with an abundance of Irish rural charm. Unparalleled hospitality, fantastic local produce use in the cooking....a full Irish breakfast to refuel a travel weary body and wonderfully welcoming family. Forget the chain hotels and motels, they all look, smell and taste the same and do not reflect true Ireland. Tynte House however does and is nestled in the little village of Dunlavin which has an abundance of character and history..........

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salisbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2010

My wife and I had never before ventured this far away from Dublin on our infrequent trips to Ireland, and our stay at this spectacularly friendly place will be repeated as soon as we can possibly contrive it. for those who prefer places to stay in an establishment with the atmosphere of a dentist's waiting room, well, maybe look elsewhere, but we had the friendliest welcome ever, and were amazed to find ourselves included in a party attended by the most beautiful and friendly people you could imagine meeting. I believe they were relatives of the Caroline, who runs the place with JJ and their really cool kids. I suppose it must be a bit of a shock for your standard-issue, cardigan-sporting English to find themselves up past ten, but this place was well up for the craic, warm, friendly, colourful and the breakfast an endless feast, served with a smile as wide as the road that runs through Dunlavin.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carltonofthefo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co durham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2010

stayed for one night with other family members and if we had seen the place first we would have passed it by.rooms were very dusty and bathrooms needed a good scrub down, heating was not on when we arrived but had warmed up later when we got back after our party. breackfast was excellent and the owner and his daughter were very friendly which did make up for the state of the rooms.i would suggest that a blitz on the cleaning would encourage guests to return for future visits

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennycodurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunlavin hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunlavin
0.0 mi away
Ash House Bed and Breakfast
Ash House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Calverstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rathsallagh House
Rathsallagh House
#1 of 4 in Dunlavin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tynte House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tynte House

Property: Tynte House
Address: Dunlavin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Dunlavin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dunlavin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tynte House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Tynte House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing