We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was nice”
Review of Glenview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glenview Hotel
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Was nice”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in August last year and again in February August was amazing loved it all February wasn't great bar service was very slow even though it was empty and there was 4 staff on we hope to be back again soon think we will dine out in future, leisure center was lovely very clean and staff are very helpful especially with kids, rooms are large which is great for kids to play restaurant is lovely in the evening time breakfast is a bit simple they do a picnic basket which is a great idea for this area we will be trying that next time.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mover A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel. I am sorry to read the service in the bar was slow. As you are aware from your previous visit this is not our usual standard.

We were delighted to hear that overall you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and that you will be coming back for another visit.

We really appreciate your continued custom and look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenview in the future.

Kind Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    303
    163
    48
    37
See reviews for
329
380
16
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

From the moment we booked our wedding with The Glenview everything was perfect. The people we dealt with, the way we were dealt with was just so lovely and so, so professional. I cannot recommend them highly enough. ALL of the staff were a pleasure to deal with from our wedding co-ordinations Alina and Sabine to each and every person that served us and our guests dinner. All of my guests commented on this. Their attention to detail was excellent in that I had a particular vision in my head of how I wanted everything to look and sure enough when I walked into our reception room for the first time I could not have been happier, it was everything I had hoped for and more. The food was excellent and their choice of wine was second to none as it really complimented the food.
Our stay there was also amazing, so relaxing, just what you need after a year's wedding planning :-) I used The Haven for a facial and manicure and once again I wasn't disappointed -perfect.
If you are considering using The Glenview for your wedding reception, just go ahead and book - it'll be so worth it. Same goes for if you're just looking for a weekend away it's the perfect choice. Now just go ahead and Enjoy!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Trish & Ben,

Congratulations on the occasion of your recent wedding. We are thrilled to hear that everything went so well for you.

We would like to wish you both a long and happy future together and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenview Hotel soon.

Kind regards

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Returned to the Glenview for DH's 60th birthday treat. As usual, a relaxing and enjoyable stay with very helpful staff. We were welcomed back like old friends, and our room was clean and comfortably warm. Treated to drinks by the manager - thanks Brian! We had requested a front facing room and this is what we got. Lovely old furniture adds character and interest. Our package included one dinner which was delicious. Breakfast looking out over the valley (and everyone else travelling to work on the N11!) was very nice, altho we had to wait for some items. Fried eggs deserve special mention - just perfect! The mini croissants just out of the oven were well worth waiting for. The woodland walk is as demanding as you want it to be - you can have some climbing and steep areas, but if you want, you can just go on a shorter flatter walk, or for those not so active, just a few steps will take you to the gardens at the front of the hotel, with secluded areas and lots of seating. The pool area is outstanding - sitting in the outdoor hot tub at 8am on a frosty morning must be the height of luxury! Yes, the hotel is perhaps a bit dated, and in some places could do with a face lift, and certainly new tv's - but overall it is solid comfort and has a character missing in many soulless hotels elsewhere. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for front facing room if you like a view.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank happyholidays673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review. We are delighted to hear you had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay with us. Your continued custom is very much appreciated.

We all look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed for one night getaway over the St Patrick's weekend. Even though the hotel was very busy everything was excellent. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable with great view. Dinner (part of package) in Woodlands Restaraunt - very interesting menu and super service. I would quibble about tea and coffee not being including in packages and being charged as extras. But that is the only thing I could fault in our entire stay. Unless you count the N11 dual carriageway nearby, but the surrounding and view are still beautiful and the hotel is far enough back from the road for noise not to be an issue. Breakfast was also perfect. Swimming Pool and Sauna up to expected standards. Wasn't particularly cheap but it was St Patrick's weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fachtna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your wonderful review. We all look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greystones, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Joined my family for lunch and a catch up in the Glenview restaurant on Patrick`s Day, The selection of food was first class, That coupled with the Friendly attentive service made our visit perfect, We started with golden fried tempura prawns, mixed seafood & confit salmon and good ole fashioned vegetable soup, all good !!. For the main they had a choice of two fresh fish specials, Herb encrusted fillet of Cod or oven baked fillet of salmon served with mixed tri color vegetables for paddy's day no less, which suited my brothers down to the ground, I ordered the roast leg of lamb, mouth watering stuff, served with mixed vegetables and thick gravy mmmm no complaints, for pudding we had poached pear in white wine with ice cream, home made rhubarb crumble and ice cream & Dark chocolate mousse, raspberry coulis and ice-cream ..heaven on all accounts, finished off the meal with coffees and admired the view of the woodlands from where we were sitting. A very pleasant day, Thank you

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Toxmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel. I am very pleased to read you and your family had a very enjoyable lunch in our Woodlands Restaurant.

Your compliments regarding our friendly attentive team are also very much appreciated.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenview in the future.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunboyne, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We recently stayed at the Glenview Hotel to celebrate our recent engagement. We arrived on Friday and from check in on our stay was very enjoyable. The girl at reception was very welcoming and our room 308 was spotless, very large and at a perfect temperature. We used the gym that night and found it very extensive and up to date with equipment. Friday night we went down and had a drink in the bar which had a good atmosphere and the Guinness was good. (which is important!!) . The next morning we had break fast in the restaurant. There was a good selection of fruit, cereals and pastries as well as the standard full irish. My only down fall would be the tea,coffee and toast took a very long time to come out so we were nearly finished our break fast by the time it was put on our table. Saturday we both had the spa treatments which we found very relaxing. The girl was very accommodating when my girlfriend asked to swap one of her treatments for a nail manicure. Saturday night we had dinner in the restaurant. The food was brilliant apart from my beef fillet being a little under cooked. I asked for medium and it came out rare but my plate was clean by the end so it can't have been so bad!! The restaurant staff were very helpful without being in your face. We again went to the bar that night and there was a man playing music on a guitar. He was very entertaining and had a good few people up dancing. We had break fast again the next morning before using the pool and out door jacuzzi which was a great end to a very enjoyable and relaxing weekend. All in all I would say the Glenview is a good place to stay and I would give it an 8 out of 10.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to read you had a very enjoyable and relaxing weekend and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenview soon.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed here recently for two nights and to be honest the only positive comments I can give are on the quality of the dinner in the Woodlands restaurant and the service provided by the evening staff. The dinners were of excellent quality and were well presented. Unfortunately I cannot be as positive about the quality of the breakfast or the overall appearance of the Hotel. It is in need of a painting on the outside and the room we had looked out onto the roof of a shed and a hedge. To recap I would only recommend this hotel for the quality of it's dinner menu and the professionalism of it's staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 506Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted to hear that you had a very enjoyable meal in the Woodlands Restaurant and your compliments regarding the team are also very much appreciated.

I am disappointed to read that you were not entirely satisfied with your breakfast experience and the overall appearance of the hotel. Your comments have been noted and should you wish to discuss your stay further please contact me the details below.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Tel: 01 2873399
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Of The Downs
4.0 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
1,986 reviews
3.5 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
495 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Martello Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
993 reviews
3.3 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
434 reviews
3.7 mi away
Summerhill House Hotel
Summerhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Enniskerry
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenview Hotel

Property: Glenview Hotel
Address: Delgany, Glen Of The Downs, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Glen Of The Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glen Of The Downs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club is a 4 star Luxury Hotel in County Wicklow set on over 30 acres of woodland walks, beautiful gardens and located in the heart of The Garden of Ireland.The Glenview Hotel is located at Junction 9 Glen o' the Downs on the N11.Situated just off the M50 motorway, The Glenview Hotel is only 25 miles driving distance from Dublin City Centre and 30 miles from Dublin Airport.The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club Wicklow, nestled in the stunning and breathtaking surroundings of The Glen of The Downs and overlooking the Wicklow Mountains is the perfect destination for leisure breaks, activity breaks, meetings, events and weddings in Wicklow. The Glenview Hotel is situated in the scenic garden of Ireland and is the ideal location for your break within a 10 minute drive of Powerscourt House & Gardens in Enniskerry and some of Wicklow’s finest golf courses.The Glenview Hotel in Wicklow offers excellent service in elegant surroundings which makes it a comfortable setting whether it is for business or leisure.Where style and grace meet country hospitality.Glenview Hotel Wicklow features;• 70 deluxe bedrooms including the penthouse suite • Excellent conference, meeting and banqueting facilities• Woodlands Restaurant and Conservatory Bistro and Bar • Extensive Leisure Club with outdoor hot tub. • The Haven Beauty Treatment Suites • Scenic woodland walk & gardens • Complimentary Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel• The Glenview Hotel is a great location, just off the M50 on exit 9 off the N11, south of Bray in County Wicklow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glenview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenview Hotel County Wicklow/Glen Of The Downs, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing