We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glenview Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkview Hotel(Newtown Mount Kennedy)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort(Newtown Mount Kennedy)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,106)
Filter reviews
1,107 results
Traveller rating
486
336
185
58
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
486
336
185
58
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure centreconservatory barexecutive roomwoodland walklovely hotelthe outdoor hot tubkids clubbit datedmain restaurantrelaxing stayfamily roomshort breaksaturday nightbeautiful locationwaiting stafflast weekendfood was lovely
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
620 - 625 of 1,107 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2014

After viewing several venues in and around Dublin for our wedding we opted for the Glenview Hotel and we were not disappointed in anyway, perfection is the only way I can describe our day. The staff were incredible right from the start, very friendly and attentive throughout our stay and especially on our wedding day, nothing was ever too much trouble, the hoop on my wedding dress came apart and Sabina who co-ordinated our day even fixed that for me! The food is stunning and delicious as we traveled over from the UK we had several guests staying at the hotel for a few days meaning we sampled many meals from Breakfast, Sandwiches, our wedding breakfast and a BBQ we could not fault any of it, it was always piping hot well presented and very yummy. I would agree some of the bedrooms are a little dated but this is not the case for all of them and the presidential suite is exceptional, the hotel has a lot of character and is in a stunning location. The function room is also beautiful. Overall we had a 5* experience and we would like to say a huge thank you to every single member of staff who helped make our day very special and one to remember. We would not hesitate to stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Lucy,

Congratulations to both of you on the occasion of your recent wedding.

We are so pleased to read that everything went so well for you. We take great pleasure in making our bride and grooms' day very special.

We would like to wish you both a long and happy future together and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenview Hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We chose to stay here to celebrate our last two nights in Ireland at what they bill as a luxury hotel that pampers you and has a spa with upscale dining - DO NOT MAKE THIS MISTAKE. The entire property is old, not kept up and in need of renovation (weak/worn mattress, paint chipping & cracks on all room walls, carpet badly worn, elevator questionable, suggest use stairs). Made reservations for their upscale Woodlands Restaurant to celebrate last night in Ireland after ordering, family was placed next to us with one young child and a baby - parents and wait staff did nothing to contain children in seats or noise. Two other Irish couples came in to restaurant and were seated away from noise/children. Then another couple with a screaming baby were seated to the other side of us (again away from the Irish couples). We feel we were singled out as Americans. We had to cut dinner short to get away from screaming kids and went to lobby to speak to manager who did nothing even as you could hear the screaming kids in the upscale restaurant one floor above. Manager did nothing saying they were proud to be a family hotel which is not how they advertise on their website. If you come here expecting to have a quiet getaway, you will be disappointed. If you have children that you let run wild, this is your place to come. This hotel was booked through a tour company and we will be letting them know to caution all future guests.

Room Tip: Don't even stay here if you want a good room
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Both the management and staff were very disappointed to learn of your experience on trip advisor.

I was glad to be given the opportunity to meet with you before you went home and I am pleased that you are satisfied that the issues raised have been appropriately addressed. I would like to sincerely apologise again for your disappointing experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenview hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. The view is great down the Glen (when not raining) and the staff are very attentive and helpful and the food is pretty good too. It seems to be very popular with the locals and that is always a good sign. The rooms are getting a little tired and dated and could do with some money spending on them. The beds are comfortable, but this must be the only hotel I have stayed in during the last 12 months that still has a CRT TV and only 6 channels. This means you can only see 2/3rd of the screen. In this day and age, that really needs to be addressed! Also the wifi (which is very good and free) doesn't work in all the bedrooms, which is a little frustrating at times.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I agree we are blessed with our location. The views of the glen are indeed stunning. I was delighted to read you felt the staff were very attentive and helpful and the food was very good.

I am sorry you were not entirely happy with your accommodation. We are currently updating the facilities in our rooms. Your feedback is very helpful with this process.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Glenview Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Was here with my wife, son and parents in law.
Beautiful surroundings and ideal for a base to explore the many local attractions.
overall a very enjoyable and relaxing experience with very easy access to motorway network yet cut off from the hustle and bustle.
Top class leisure club facilities, including a hot tub, which are both child friendly and suitable for couples looking a romantic break.
Breakfast was very good and carvery meal was fulfilling. my only grip was €4 for a small bowl of mash for my son (rip off after paying for 4 meals)

Room Tip: ask for forward facing room as views are a joy to waken up to
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank gally7p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your review on your recent short break with us. We are happy to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Glenview Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very comfortable hotel in lovely surroundings. Easy to find as it is just off the N11, but sheltered from road noise by dense trees. Lovely views of the glen from restaurant. Staff very attentive and rooms spacious and clean. Had a very pleasant midweek break there in May. Leisure facilities very relaxing, especially enjoyed hot tub in grounds. Dublin is about half an hour away as well as seaside at Bray. Menu for bistro is a bit limited, mainly steaks and burgers, but restaurant menu is interesting, but pricey.

Room Tip: Only rooms at the front have views of the glen.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your sharing your review. Your compliments regarding the team are very much appreciated.

We are so glad to read you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay including your accommodation, the restaurant views and our leisure facilities.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Glenview Hotel in the future

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews