We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Glenview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glenview Hotel
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Absolutely loved this hotel. Lovely old world charm combined with modern amenities. Staff were lovely and very helpful. The room was extremely charming (although a spring came through the mattress on me - the staff sorted this straight away for me when informed) and well appointed. Fantastic location just off the N11 and there are great walks round the hotel grounds and landscaped gardens.
The food was amazing (although if you are on a package deal like we are there are HEFTY supplements for just about everything on the menu bar one or two dishes - supplements of up to sixteen euro!). There is also a ten euro per head supplement if you want to be upgraded to eating in the restaurant instead of an area just off the bar. However with the views that this restaurant offers I would recommend paying this.

All in all we would go back in a heartbeat to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dermot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review following your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel.

I would like to sincerely apologise once again for the problem with your mattress. I am glad to hear a replacement mattress was provided straight away.

I am sorry to read you were disappointed with the supplement charges on your chosen dishes. We offer a very extensive menu with a variety of choices. Supplements are only applied to our signature dishes.

We were delighted to hear you had a very enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Glenview Hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    307
    167
    49
    39
See reviews for
334
389
17
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stranraer
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights here. After reading other reviews, I was unsure what to expect. When we arrived, I instantly relaxed. The reception reminded us so much of the hotel where we had our recent wedding reception, very olde worldly but in a very classy way. The staff were so helpful, on a couple of occasions even going out of their way to accommodate us, and the facilities are first class. We ate in both the conservatory bistro and the Woodlands restaurant, both meals were lovely but Woodlands was sensational - and amazing value for the early bird, we didn't find anywhere else to eat we could have two courses of that quality for less than 20 euros. Breakfast fab too! Rooms are spacious and comfortable, lovely leisure facilities and beautiful grounds. All set in a lovely area, with lots to do nearby.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaylie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your excellent review. It is a pleasure to read your compliments regarding so many aspects of your stay with us and in particular our friendly helpful staff and your sensational meal experience in the Woodlands Restaurant.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Glenview Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel is very conveniently located near to Dublin, without the Dublin prices All staff friendly and professional. Room clean and comfortable. Menu in restaurant good as was the food and service. Garden and grounds delightful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review regarding your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel. I am delighted to read you had a very enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenview Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Deputy Manager was very polite and apologetic and offered us a meal in the restaurant but the fact is that this should not have happened. It is not acceptable that we made a booking well in advance of our holiday only to find that, after a long drive up the coast when we were both tired and just wanting to relax, we didn't have the room we'd booked.

We were relocated to another hotel ten minutes' drive away which was okay but not as nice. The Deputy Manager told us that the rooms in the hotel he'd booked for us were cheaper than those in this hotel - that's not really what we wanted to hear! We wanted to hear that they were way more expensive and that he'd pay the difference to compensate us for our inconvenience.

I suspect that this hotel routinely over-books its rooms on the hope that some people will cancel and they can still fill the hotel. As this was the last night of what had been a lovely holiday, this policy, if it really is the way this hotel operates, put a bit of a dampener on things for us.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to offer our sincerest apologies once again for the upset caused. I would like to assure you it is not our policy to routinely over book our rooms. I have investigated the matter and have been advised the overbooking was due to an administrative error.

I do hope you can accept our apology and give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves. If you intend visiting us in the future I would be delighted if you would contact me directly when it will be my pleasure to make arrangements personally for you.

I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Glenview hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Tel: 01 2873399
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A January 2014 overnight in the Glenview was a pleasant experience. The reception staff were welcoming and our room was well equipped with a splendid outlook onto the Glen of the Downs. We ate in a small function room with a group and the food was as good as the company. If you are using the swimming pool it is a long chilly walk, but the facility itself is good.

Room Tip: Overlooking the Glen is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dermott q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your visit to the Glenview Hotel. I am delighted to read you had a very pleasant experience with us. Your kind comments regarding the team are also very much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenview Hotel in the future

Kind regards

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed one night after a wedding in Druids Glen....The staff are very pleasant and helpful..The views from the Breakfast Room are amazing and the gardens are well manicured...lots of quirky paths and full of unusual flowers and plants...
Lovely location just outside of Dublin...

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of hotel are possibly quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Churlaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Glenview Hotel for your short break. We are indeed blessed with our location providing fabulous views of the Glen. I am delighted to hear you had a very enjoyable stroll through our gardens. Your compliments regarding the team are also very much appreciated.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Glenview Hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co clare
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights and it was a beautiful place to stay. Lovely walks and scenery. The staff was very friendly. And couldn't do enough for you. My only problem waswith the bar menu. Not a great selection....I cant fault the food itself. Very nice and presentation was lovely. Would definitely be back again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank shirley o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback following your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and I am delighted to hear you hope to visit us again in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenview Hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Of The Downs
4.0 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,016 reviews
3.5 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
500 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Martello Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,007 reviews
3.3 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
444 reviews
3.7 mi away
Summerhill House Hotel
Summerhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Enniskerry
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenview Hotel

Property: Glenview Hotel
Address: Delgany, Glen Of The Downs, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Glen Of The Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glen Of The Downs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club is a 4 star Luxury Hotel in County Wicklow set on over 30 acres of woodland walks, beautiful gardens and located in the heart of The Garden of Ireland.The Glenview Hotel is located at Junction 9 Glen o' the Downs on the N11.Situated just off the M50 motorway, The Glenview Hotel is only 25 miles driving distance from Dublin City Centre and 30 miles from Dublin Airport.The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club Wicklow, nestled in the stunning and breathtaking surroundings of The Glen of The Downs and overlooking the Wicklow Mountains is the perfect destination for leisure breaks, activity breaks, meetings, events and weddings in Wicklow. The Glenview Hotel is situated in the scenic garden of Ireland and is the ideal location for your break within a 10 minute drive of Powerscourt House & Gardens in Enniskerry and some of Wicklow’s finest golf courses.The Glenview Hotel in Wicklow offers excellent service in elegant surroundings which makes it a comfortable setting whether it is for business or leisure.Where style and grace meet country hospitality.Glenview Hotel Wicklow features;• 70 deluxe bedrooms including the penthouse suite • Excellent conference, meeting and banqueting facilities• Woodlands Restaurant and Conservatory Bistro and Bar • Extensive Leisure Club with outdoor hot tub. • The Haven Beauty Treatment Suites • Scenic woodland walk & gardens • Complimentary Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel• The Glenview Hotel is a great location, just off the M50 on exit 9 off the N11, south of Bray in County Wicklow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glenview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenview Hotel County Wicklow/Glen Of The Downs, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing