We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great pool”
Review of Glenview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glenview Hotel
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night in this hotel with my son. Looked for 1 hour earlier check in and 1 hour late check out in order to better suit my timetable. We were told it 'shouldn't be a problem' but it was albeit we were given a late check out of 30 mins instead of the hour.

The hotel is situated in a magnificent area. The scenery is some of the best in Ireland and the gardens of the hotel are amazing. It's really well located away (but close enough!!) from Dublin and within short drives of some of the best places in Ireland to visit I.e Glendalough and Powerscourt.

The bar in the hotel is very good with amazing bar staff, they couldn't be more accommodating or polite along with being good craic! The food is good and very tasty however pricey for what's served up. Kids are accomodated excellently both by the menu and the staff.

The rooms are ok. In my opinion the rooms are not as good as the hotel, bar or food would lead you to believe. They are a bit dated but are comfortable.

The jewel in the crown of this hotel is it's pool. It's 18m approx and the warmest pool I've ever used!!!

Overall this hotel is very nice, and I'd recommend it for a short stay. Best advice I can give is ask for a room at the front of the hotel as there isn't a view out the back at all

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Cashel14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your very valuable feedback.

I am so glad to read that overall you and your son had a very enjoyable short break and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,057)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

We attended a wedding at the Glenview over the weekend, which was wonderful.
The service and the smooth running of the reception was very very good.
How ever upon arrival and check-in at 4pm we was told our room was not ready which i find unacceptable, we wan given no reason as to why.
This also happened to several others of the wedding party.

When we was given our key we went up to our room to drop off our bags, the room was very tired looking with cracked paint on the windowsill and dirty windows.

The hotel overall and the service we had at the wedding was fantastic and a 4 star service, but the rooms i would give only a 3 star.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank flurrywitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review regarding your recent stay at the Glenview hotel.

I am sorry to hear your room was not ready when you arrived. The delay was due to the large number of guests from the wedding party checking in at the same time. I apologise for any inconvenience caused.

In relation to your comment regarding your accommodation we are in the process of refurbishing our guest rooms. Your feedback is valuable with this process.

I am delighted to read that you had a very enjoyable time at the wedding and your compliments regarding the team and the fantastic service received are also very much appreciated.

I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Glenview hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed at the hotel for a family wedding in July. Within 24hrs of checking out and paying for the room a further £108.00 was charged to our payment card which was unauthorised. Upon following this up with phone calls and a complaint email we gave not had a straight explanation for the charge, no apology, no response to complaint and the money has not yet been refunded. Very disappointing after a lovely family event. Furthermore our room was not ready for check in by 3:00pm so had to wait until after the wedding to access the room (which wasn't ideal after a long drive).

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Guest,

I have carried out a full investigation into the matter but cannot find any details relating to this issue on our system. I would be most grateful if you could contact me on my details below to discuss further.
I look forward to hearing from you soon.
Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Tel: 01 2873399

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed one night in August after a wedding. A little disappointed that our room 309 , had no view , but it was very comfortable and very very quiet.
Reception staff were most helpful and room was ready , even though the hotel was very busy with wedding guests arriving , thick and fast.
Lovely view across the Hills at Breakfast , although the main restaurant room is rather shabby and needs a 'lick of paint'. Ordered the Kippers , which was a mistake as they weren't fresh , but straight from the freezer. Stick with the full irish breakfast.

Room Tip: We should have requested a 'Glen ' view room - the clue is in the Hotel name !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mowbrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your very valuable feedback. All comments whether good or bad help us to improve our service to our customers.

I am pleased to read that overall you were happy with your accommodation and the service you received from the team. I am sorry you were not happy with the view from your room. Please call me in advance of your next visit and depending on availability I will do my best to accommodate you in one our front facing rooms with amazing views of the glen.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Glenview Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Absolutely loved this hotel. Lovely old world charm combined with modern amenities. Staff were lovely and very helpful. The room was extremely charming (although a spring came through the mattress on me - the staff sorted this straight away for me when informed) and well appointed. Fantastic location just off the N11 and there are great walks round the hotel grounds and landscaped gardens.
The food was amazing (although if you are on a package deal like we are there are HEFTY supplements for just about everything on the menu bar one or two dishes - supplements of up to sixteen euro!). There is also a ten euro per head supplement if you want to be upgraded to eating in the restaurant instead of an area just off the bar. However with the views that this restaurant offers I would recommend paying this.

All in all we would go back in a heartbeat to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dermot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review following your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel.

I would like to sincerely apologise once again for the problem with your mattress. I am glad to hear a replacement mattress was provided straight away.

I am sorry to read you were disappointed with the supplement charges on your chosen dishes. We offer a very extensive menu with a variety of choices. Supplements are only applied to our signature dishes.

We were delighted to hear you had a very enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Glenview Hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights here. After reading other reviews, I was unsure what to expect. When we arrived, I instantly relaxed. The reception reminded us so much of the hotel where we had our recent wedding reception, very olde worldly but in a very classy way. The staff were so helpful, on a couple of occasions even going out of their way to accommodate us, and the facilities are first class. We ate in both the conservatory bistro and the Woodlands restaurant, both meals were lovely but Woodlands was sensational - and amazing value for the early bird, we didn't find anywhere else to eat we could have two courses of that quality for less than 20 euros. Breakfast fab too! Rooms are spacious and comfortable, lovely leisure facilities and beautiful grounds. All set in a lovely area, with lots to do nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaylie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your excellent review. It is a pleasure to read your compliments regarding so many aspects of your stay with us and in particular our friendly helpful staff and your sensational meal experience in the Woodlands Restaurant.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Glenview Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel is very conveniently located near to Dublin, without the Dublin prices All staff friendly and professional. Room clean and comfortable. Menu in restaurant good as was the food and service. Garden and grounds delightful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review regarding your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel. I am delighted to read you had a very enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenview Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Of The Downs
4.0 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,090 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
3.5 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
4.3 mi away
The Martello Hotel
3.3 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenview Hotel

Address: Delgany, Glen Of The Downs, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Glen Of The Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glen Of The Downs
Price Range: £73 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club is a 4 star Luxury Hotel in County Wicklow set on over 30 acres of woodland walks, beautiful gardens and located in the heart of The Garden of Ireland.The Glenview Hotel is located at Junction 9 Glen o' the Downs on the N11.Situated just off the M50 motorway, The Glenview Hotel is only 25 miles driving distance from Dublin City Centre and 30 miles from Dublin Airport.The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club Wicklow, nestled in the stunning and breathtaking surroundings of The Glen of The Downs and overlooking the Wicklow Mountains is the perfect destination for leisure breaks, activity breaks, meetings, events and weddings in Wicklow. The Glenview Hotel is situated in the scenic garden of Ireland and is the ideal location for your break within a 10 minute drive of Powerscourt House & Gardens in Enniskerry and some of Wicklow’s finest golf courses.The Glenview Hotel in Wicklow offers excellent service in elegant surroundings which makes it a comfortable setting whether it is for business or leisure.Where style and grace meet country hospitality.Glenview Hotel Wicklow features;• 70 deluxe bedrooms including the penthouse suite • Excellent conference, meeting and banqueting facilities• Woodlands Restaurant and Conservatory Bistro and Bar • Extensive Leisure Club with outdoor hot tub. • The Haven Beauty Treatment Suites • Scenic woodland walk & gardens • Complimentary Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel• The Glenview Hotel is a great location, just off the M50 on exit 9 off the N11, south of Bray in County Wicklow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Glenview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenview Hotel County Wicklow/Glen Of The Downs, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing