We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birthday party dinner .”
Review of Glendalough Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glendalough Hotel
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Hi.
We had birthday diner in Glendalough Hotel and over all it was amazing evening!!!
Food was gorgeous and excellent huge thanks to kitchen staff and head chef.
Thanks a million to waiting staff-(head waitress probably) about excellent service and manager Alan who let us feeling so special in that evening he was only one who shake hand and wished happy birthday.

Thank you very much all :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edgars K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendaloughotel, Owner at Glendalough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you so very much for your kind words regarding the Birthday celebration dinner that you hosted with us this past weekend in the Glendasan River Bistro. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal, the service and indeed the warm welcome received.
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, and we hope to welcome you back to celebrate more occasions with us in the future!
Kind regards,
Pat Casey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

Unrivalled location & friendly staff. Also have a musician in the lounge on Saturday night which is nice. Unfortunately the lounge, dining rooms seem dated & could probably do with a makeover. The breakfast is average for the price of the room. The lounge is is like a ferry lounge & the bar was rough (shouting/ drunkenness from mid-afternoon), which is surprising for a tourist-catering hotel. You are definitely paying for the location here, which is amazing, but in my opinion, it's not worth the pricetag.

Room Tip: Room 129 faces right out the back onto mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sober_Colm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendaloughotel, Owner at Glendalough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Thank you for the kind comments about the staff, and you are correct, we are in a really beautiful location, hence the through traffic during the day around the hotel.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back here at the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Pat Casey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We were happy with the hotel and stayed there two nights. The deal was great with breakfast and supper included in the price. All the staff were friendly and i loved the "old world' feel of the place. It was especially pleasant when the bus loads of tourists left around 17:00. The three of us had comfortable and functional rooms on the top floor. The only problem was the top end room we were in had easy access for the bad-guys (if there are any) via a near-by roof and gutter to the balcony, we were mindful of this and kept the balcony door locked just in case while we were out. We didn't have any problems and loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob_Shooemaneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendaloughotel, Owner at Glendalough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to give such positive feedback following your stay with us. You commented on each aspect of your stay, from the food - which we are delighted you enjoyed, to the staff, service and your bedroom. You certainly had the best of views of the beautiful valley from you bedroom ! Thank you again for writing the review, and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Pat Casey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We were booked into this hotel for one night...what a night. Firstly the hotel is a bit old and run down, but our biggest problem was the room 114. DO NOT EVER ACCEPT THIS ROOM, it is above the entrance to the hotel on the first floor right next to the stairs to the second floor and just above the reception area. The night of our stay there was a wedding and the front door was opened and closed until 5 AM with guests coming and going, but not just opening and closing but banging. Then guests from the wedding were all knocking on doors looking for friends all night going up and down the stairs.
We only had 3 hours sleep and had a long drive the next day so was not impressed. Hotel management knowing they had a wedding should have put other guests well away from the wedding party. How they can charge for this room is beyond me, it should be closed and used for an office or something. The only good things about the hotel was its proximity to the ruins., NOTHING else.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maySunshineCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendaloughotel, Owner at Glendalough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review on your recent visit here at the Glendalough Hotel, which was not as pleasant experience.
As a rule, wedding guests are allocated bedrooms over the banqueting suite, and our individual guests are allocated rooms in another wing of the hotel, which you were indeed given. Generally the entrance below the bedroom you occupied is not used by guests attending functions, thus it is unusual to have such a high volume of traffic using this entrance late into the evening.
We value your custom, and would welcome the opportunity to rectify your unpleasant experience. Can you please contact us on 0404-45135 at your convenience.

Kind Regards,

Pat Casey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Checked into this hotel Saturday 7th September with two other couples (one with a new born baby) and first impressions weren't good. Firstly, the hotel was very old and run down...the carpet throughout the hotel was threadbare and the furnishing was tired and worn. We were placed on the second floor and the room resembled a broom closet...it was small, dark and stank of garlic. The radiators didn't work and after alerting the reception we waited another 2 hours for heat...it never came on! We asked to be moved and, thankfully, were given another room on the first floor. Like the previous room, it was old fashioned and the decor left a lot to be desired however at this stage we knew that this was the best it got!

Had dinner in the bar and it was ok...although like everything else in the hotel it was overpriced. Afterwards we decided to have an early night considering two members of our party had a lengthily swim to do the next morning (glenda lough open water swim).

At two in the morning myself, husband and my brother along with his wife and new baby were awakened by loud music and a large gathering of young people partying in their room (4 doors down from us and directly underneath my brother and his family) needless to say their baby was wide awake for the best part of the night. My brother went down to reception where there was no one working...the only person he could speak to at this time was the Barman who basically told him 'tough luck'. I phoned the reception around 4 to complain and again could only get talking to the Barman who apologised. The party didn't end until around 4:30. It goes without saying that no one in our party got much sleep Saturday night. My brother was so tired he even had second thoughts about participating in the open water swim...which was the sole purpose of our visit!!

Like everything else in the hotel, the breakfast was mediocre...lacking in taste and quantity. The restaurant was full of flies too, which was very off putting when trying to eat breakfast.

We couldn't wait to check out and get as far away from the hotel as possible. Upon checking out we didn't even get as much as an apology from the receptionist....it was most disappointing!

Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ddmay23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendaloughotel, Owner at Glendalough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of your stay with us here at the Glendalough Hotel this past weekend, unfortunately we are most disappointed to note that you did not enjoy your experience with us.
Yes, we are a very busy hotel, but we make every effort to offer a warm welcome to every guest that comes into the hotel, and we do everything in our power to ensure that everyone enjoys their visit.
Regretfully, on occasions we must accept that we have not reached guests expections, as we have not reached yours and take note of comments made about all departments in the hotel.
Thank you again for taking the time.
Kind regards,

Pat Casey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We were a group of ten and the entire restaurant was full. The manager created a space for us and made sure we were served quickly because time was also of the essence. The staff was efficient and friendly. They even threw in small sample dessert for each of us. I cannot express how appreciative we were. The food was also excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendaloughotel, Owner at Glendalough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to review your recent visit at our Restaurant here at The Glendalough Hotel. We are very happy that you had a very positive experience, and that the team went to such effort at such a very busy time to accommodate you, and that you enjoyed the food so much.
Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back here at the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Pat Casey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stay here was lovely.
Hotel was clean and we had everything we needed. Staff were extremely helpful & pleasent.
Highly recommend a stay here, a real retreat. If you are looking for a nice few days away, good food & drink this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phoebe_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendaloughotel, Owner at Glendalough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Our sincere thanks to you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, and the staff in particular will be very happy to receive the feedback, as indeed will the Kitchen team. You are correct, it is a lovely retreat, and more so now over the coming months.
Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back here at the Glendalough Hotel in the near future, and thank you again.
Kind regards,
Pat Casey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendalough Village
12.2 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,076 reviews
11.6 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,145 reviews
9.1 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
16.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
10.5 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendalough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendalough Hotel

Address: Glendalough | Co. Wicklow, Glendalough Village, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Vale of Glendalough > Glendalough Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glendalough Village
Price Range: £93 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glendalough Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Glendalough Hotel in County Wicklow, we like to let the scenery do the talking, our team are here to offer a warm welcome and simple home comforts. The sites in Glendalough are at the heart of Irelands Ancient East with the 6th Century gateway to the Monastic site steps away from the hotel. The Colours and sounds of the valley of Glendalough change with every season and the Glendalough hotel is well placed for you to enjoy all that this Valley has to offer. The magical sounds and breath-taking scenes will transport you back to a quieter time of meditation and a closeness to nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK and Agoda so you can book your Glendalough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendalough Village Hotel
Glendalough Hotel Vale Of Glendalough, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing