We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glendalough Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glendalough Hotel
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Our stay at the Glendalough Hotel was unplanned, however after an accident en route to the area left us stranded, we were welcomed and comforted beyond expectation. Sinead gave us comfortable and charming 1920's rooms. The price for room, delicious dinner and breakfast was reasonable. The property is beautiful. The outstanding feature of this hotel were the staff!
They understood our anxiety after totalling our rental car one hour into a 2 week Ireland vacation and really "took care of us." They even made it possible for us to get Euros since the airport ATM's were not in service and we were car and cashless. I hope you do not arrive as we did ( Garda taxi ), but I do hope you will experience this lovely little hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travlinmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendaloughotel, Marketing & Business Development Manager at Glendalough Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and the welcome was just how it should be, and we are so happy that you enjoyed your bed, breakfast and dinner package.
We hope that once you got over the trauma of your accident that you enjoyed the rest of your trip here in Ireland.
Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back here in Ireland again in the future, and that you will remember to come back and pay us a visit.

Kind regards,

Sinead Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    123
    92
    46
    42
See reviews for
104
171
29
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
IRELAND
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

A few friends and I recently shared a trip to Wicklow for a girly weekend and during our "road trip" on the Saturday afternoon we enjoyed a trip to Glendalough and had lovely walks around the lake and round tower. We decided to stop by the Glendalough Hotel for a bit of lunch - our first impressions was how busy it was, which I always see as a good sign of any establishment. We were greeted upon entering by a really friendly gentleman who showed us to a table with a warm welcoming smile - he (Mario) enquired about our day and was genuinely interested in what we had to say! We were then offered something to drink...and brought menus which were well explained and the gentleman actually "knew" the menu unlike other places we have dined on occasion! I had the most amazing blue cheese salad I have ever had and my friends had various other items but we were all totally happy with the quality of the food, the presentation and the value for money also! Above anything else.....it is the warmth and friendliness of the staff here that really made our experience such a fantastic one!
We could not decide if we wanted a desert or not.....or if we were in fact "able" for desert however having been told that all their deserts are home made by their own Chef we were very tempted! Mario knowing we were struggling a little with whether or not we could "fit" it very kindly suggested he would arrange a mixed platter of deserts for us all to share and enjoy - fabulous idea and gave each of us the opportunity to try almost all of their very lovely deserts!
We fully intend returning to the Glendalough Hotel however this time we are going to stay overnight there - they have some super offers on their website also!
When we went to pay our bill, we were chatting to a lovely young lady - I simply cant recall her name right now - sorry! We wanted to give a special mention to the lovely gentleman Mario who had looked after us and it transpired that "Mario" was in fact the General Manager!!! Thank you Mario and all the Glendalough team - you made our day trip that day and you probably don't even know it!
We will be back!!! We highly recommend a visit!!

Room Tip: Try the blue cheese salad....yum!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BALLYWILLIAM2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendaloughotel, Marketing & Business Development Manager at Glendalough Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments regarding your recent visit. We are delighted to know that you fully enjoyed the experience. This is indeed the guest experience that we are striving to achieve and the staff are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the full, from the welcome, to the warm atmosphere, the food, and the service. I suspect that the Salad of Cashel Blue Cheese, Apple, Toasted Pecan Nuts, Balsamic Vinaigrette is going to be in very high demand from now on!

Thank you again for taking the time to post the review, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back here at the hotel for a future stay.

Kind regards,

Sinéad Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

we visited Glendalough last Sunday for a family trip with our toddler and newborn and were hoping for some nice home-cooked family dinner - we ordered stuffed chicken breast and the hot roast beef. Both were so tasteless - only the mashed potatoes was semi-edible. To be honest, both dishes tasted like bought-in prepared meals. I conveyed my opinion to staff as she asked us about our meal and appeared concerned when there was a large amount left on both plates. She said sorry about that and then gave us our bill for 35 euro for two main courses and three soft drinks. There were no offer of alternatives or a refund on our bill. Seriously after waiting a half hour on our food this was a disappointing visit that we won't repeat. Surely Sunday lunch is not that hard to get right.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gfish6668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendaloughotel, Marketing & Business Development Manager at Glendalough Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

We thank you for posting the review of your visit to the hotel on Sunday last for lunch, and apologise most sincerely for the experience you had while with us.
We are constantly trying to improve the guest experience, and are at present carrying out staff training, in the sence that the act accordingly when the guest experience is not as it should be. I would be delighted if you could contact me directly so I can discuss this with you in further detail on 0404-45135.

Kind Regards,

Sinéad Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glendalough Village hotels

Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We had a great time at the glendalough hotel the staff were lovely the manager Mario is one great manager he knows how to treat visitors at reception siobhean and a lovely guy named Tom was really helpful Caroline in the resturant was a great girl we will be back again best wishes to all the lovely people in the glendalough hotel people try it and you will go back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bernie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendaloughotel, Owner at Glendalough Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Bernie and Jimmy,

Thank you so much for your very kind comments, and we are delighted that you paid us a visit, and to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit, and very much look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Pat Casey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

We had no reservation, but were accommodated cheerfully. Everything was clean and every need was met. They arranged our taxi and made it possible to get cash (no ATM) . Everyone was genuinely hellpful. Also the restaurant was excellent and had a great wine list.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catfishmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendaloughotel, Owner at Glendalough Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Glendalough Hotel. We are delighted that we could accommodate you without a reservation, and that the whole experience was a positive one, the staff, the service, the food and indeed the wine !
Thank you again, and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards,
Pat Casey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

you go here not for the hotel but the location hotel is ok staff friendly food not bad only problem worse bed i ever sleep in and i have travelled alot reason for review my backs still sore from the bed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1748dl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendaloughotel, Owner at Glendalough Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us, particularly regarding the staff and our food. All mattresses are special orthopedic by design, however we will be looking at all our beds to see how they can be improved.
Thank you again for taking the time to post this review.

Kind regards,
Pat Casey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltinglass, Wicklow, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Hi.
We had birthday diner in Glendalough Hotel and over all it was amazing evening!!!
Food was gorgeous and excellent huge thanks to kitchen staff and head chef.
Thanks a million to waiting staff-(head waitress probably) about excellent service and manager Alan who let us feeling so special in that evening he was only one who shake hand and wished happy birthday.

Thank you very much all :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edgars K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendaloughotel, Owner at Glendalough Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you so very much for your kind words regarding the Birthday celebration dinner that you hosted with us this past weekend in the Glendasan River Bistro. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal, the service and indeed the warm welcome received.
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, and we hope to welcome you back to celebrate more occasions with us in the future!
Kind regards,
Pat Casey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendalough Village
0.0 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.0 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
0.0 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
0.0 mi away
The Martello Hotel
0.0 mi away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendalough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendalough Hotel

Property: Glendalough Hotel
Address: Glendalough | Co. Wicklow, Glendalough Village, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Vale of Glendalough > Glendalough Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glendalough Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Glendalough Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK and Priceline so you can book your Glendalough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendalough Village Hotel
Glendalough Hotel Vale Of Glendalough, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing