We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was lovely,rooms average.”
Review of Glendalough Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glendalough Hotel
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed here for NYE, beautiful location as its right next to Saint Kevin's Monastery.
Room wasnt great could do with a revamp,bit of a stale odour coming from bathroom.
Food was really good though and staff were very friendly would visit again in maybe a different room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendaloughotel, Marketing & Business Development Manager at Glendalough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review of your stay with us here at the Glendalough Hotel over New Year's Eve last year. We are very happy that you enjoyed your evening, your dinner and the atmosphere.

In relation to your comments on the accommodation, we are very conscious that we need to carry out refurbishment in our bedrooms, and hope to be able to complete phased works in the near future. Thank you again for posting your comments, and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Sinead Doyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

Myself and my boyfriend decided to take the bus from Dublin to Glendalough one the days. We were told that we would have 4 hours before having to get the bus back to Dublin. When we arrived, the scenery was spectacular and the hotel was equally lovely. We had not packed a lunch so we thought we would grab a bite to eat at the main restaurant (selling basic food like soups, paninis and carverys). Little did we know that we would be waiting and wasting over a full hour waiting for food. For the first 20 minutes of being there, myself and my boyfriend were not even acknowledged by a waiter or waitress even though it was in one of the waitress's table areas. I have worked in restaurants before so I am very familiar with how to wait tables. This lady was not at all busy and continued to pass our table multiple times. We also noticed a few Americans shaking their heads in annoyance.

At last a waiter came over. He was very friendly and took our order swiftly and apologised for the wait-this is the only reason I have not chosen 'terrible' for the rating. However the next 40 minutes or more were just painful. We were convinced that the waiter didn't put our order through. When we eventually got our food, we were terribly disappointed. We had ordered the turkey with vegetables and the meat looked as though it had been under the heat lamp for the 40 minutes. Flavourless, over steamed vegetables. It was just a regular carvery except we had to wait over an hour to get it.

They were however, very quick to take the money off the table! It was a complete waste of an hour and we then only had less than 3 hours to walk around one of the wonderful places in Ireland.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Eva R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendaloughotel, Marketing & Business Development Manager at Glendalough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience here at the Glendalough Hotel. We are most disappointed to receive this feedback, however this is so valuable to us as this is what assists us in improving things. You certainly didn't have the experience that we like our guests to have. We do believe that since your visit, which from the date on the review says September, we have taken measures here at the hotel and commenced staff training in an effort to improve the overall dining experience here at The Glendalough Hotel.

We very much hope that you will visit us again in the future, as you correctly said, one of the most beautiful places in the country.

Kind Regards,

Sinéad Doyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

just had our wedding at glendalough on the 29th oct. cannot fault anything, managers where helpful, staff were absolutely efficient and friendly, food was delicious, venue was beautiful, all guests said the food and staff were fantastic and one of their best experiences, alan tom sineaad and Mario were willing to help in anyway, Mario on the 2nd night at dinner was brilliant, I have to say if you want a faultless wedding with staff willing to see to your every need, this is the place

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevin o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendaloughotel, Marketing & Business Development Manager at Glendalough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Kevin & Aine,
Thank you both so much for taking the time to review your wedding with us here last Tuesday. It really was a beautiful occasion, and thank you for choosing the Glendalough Hotel, and for letting us be part of your very special day.
We are all so delighted that you enjoyed every minute, and most of all that you were happy with the food and the service, both elements which were so important to you.
We look forward to welcoming both of you back very soon, and very often we hope !
Best regards,

Sinéad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We toured Glendalough and then went to eat at the outdoor grill of the hotel. The service was very very very slow. Cannot even remember if the food tasted good because of the very long wait for food and the excuse given that he was making the easy things first just didn't cut it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank cKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendaloughotel, Marketing & Business Development Manager at Glendalough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to review your visit to the Glendalough Hotel in August. This was the first summer that we tried to carry out the bbq outside throughout the season, as the weather was so lovely it was great to be in the position of offering a different dining experience to guests who didn't want to eat inside, but we are most disappointed, but happy to receive this feedback, as this will help us to improve in the future, and we sincerely apologise for that poor experience while with us.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future to recitify this, and thank you again for taking the time to post the review.

Kind regards,

Sinead Doyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Our stay at the Glendalough Hotel was unplanned, however after an accident en route to the area left us stranded, we were welcomed and comforted beyond expectation. Sinead gave us comfortable and charming 1920's rooms. The price for room, delicious dinner and breakfast was reasonable. The property is beautiful. The outstanding feature of this hotel were the staff!
They understood our anxiety after totalling our rental car one hour into a 2 week Ireland vacation and really "took care of us." They even made it possible for us to get Euros since the airport ATM's were not in service and we were car and cashless. I hope you do not arrive as we did ( Garda taxi ), but I do hope you will experience this lovely little hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travlinmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendaloughotel, Marketing & Business Development Manager at Glendalough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and the welcome was just how it should be, and we are so happy that you enjoyed your bed, breakfast and dinner package.
We hope that once you got over the trauma of your accident that you enjoyed the rest of your trip here in Ireland.
Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back here in Ireland again in the future, and that you will remember to come back and pay us a visit.

Kind regards,

Sinead Doyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

A few friends and I recently shared a trip to Wicklow for a girly weekend and during our "road trip" on the Saturday afternoon we enjoyed a trip to Glendalough and had lovely walks around the lake and round tower. We decided to stop by the Glendalough Hotel for a bit of lunch - our first impressions was how busy it was, which I always see as a good sign of any establishment. We were greeted upon entering by a really friendly gentleman who showed us to a table with a warm welcoming smile - he (Mario) enquired about our day and was genuinely interested in what we had to say! We were then offered something to drink...and brought menus which were well explained and the gentleman actually "knew" the menu unlike other places we have dined on occasion! I had the most amazing blue cheese salad I have ever had and my friends had various other items but we were all totally happy with the quality of the food, the presentation and the value for money also! Above anything else.....it is the warmth and friendliness of the staff here that really made our experience such a fantastic one!
We could not decide if we wanted a desert or not.....or if we were in fact "able" for desert however having been told that all their deserts are home made by their own Chef we were very tempted! Mario knowing we were struggling a little with whether or not we could "fit" it very kindly suggested he would arrange a mixed platter of deserts for us all to share and enjoy - fabulous idea and gave each of us the opportunity to try almost all of their very lovely deserts!
We fully intend returning to the Glendalough Hotel however this time we are going to stay overnight there - they have some super offers on their website also!
When we went to pay our bill, we were chatting to a lovely young lady - I simply cant recall her name right now - sorry! We wanted to give a special mention to the lovely gentleman Mario who had looked after us and it transpired that "Mario" was in fact the General Manager!!! Thank you Mario and all the Glendalough team - you made our day trip that day and you probably don't even know it!
We will be back!!! We highly recommend a visit!!

Room Tip: Try the blue cheese salad....yum!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BALLYWILLIAM2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendaloughotel, Marketing & Business Development Manager at Glendalough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments regarding your recent visit. We are delighted to know that you fully enjoyed the experience. This is indeed the guest experience that we are striving to achieve and the staff are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the full, from the welcome, to the warm atmosphere, the food, and the service. I suspect that the Salad of Cashel Blue Cheese, Apple, Toasted Pecan Nuts, Balsamic Vinaigrette is going to be in very high demand from now on!

Thank you again for taking the time to post the review, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back here at the hotel for a future stay.

Kind regards,

Sinéad Doyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

we visited Glendalough last Sunday for a family trip with our toddler and newborn and were hoping for some nice home-cooked family dinner - we ordered stuffed chicken breast and the hot roast beef. Both were so tasteless - only the mashed potatoes was semi-edible. To be honest, both dishes tasted like bought-in prepared meals. I conveyed my opinion to staff as she asked us about our meal and appeared concerned when there was a large amount left on both plates. She said sorry about that and then gave us our bill for 35 euro for two main courses and three soft drinks. There were no offer of alternatives or a refund on our bill. Seriously after waiting a half hour on our food this was a disappointing visit that we won't repeat. Surely Sunday lunch is not that hard to get right.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank gfish6668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendaloughotel, Marketing & Business Development Manager at Glendalough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

We thank you for posting the review of your visit to the hotel on Sunday last for lunch, and apologise most sincerely for the experience you had while with us.
We are constantly trying to improve the guest experience, and are at present carrying out staff training, in the sence that the act accordingly when the guest experience is not as it should be. I would be delighted if you could contact me directly so I can discuss this with you in further detail on 0404-45135.

Kind Regards,

Sinéad Doyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendalough Village
11.7 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,090 reviews
12.2 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,056 reviews
16.1 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
523 reviews
9.1 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,038 reviews
13.0 mi away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendalough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendalough Hotel

Address: Glendalough | Co. Wicklow, Glendalough Village, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Vale of Glendalough > Glendalough Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glendalough Village
Price Range: £106 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glendalough Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Glendalough Hotel in County Wicklow, we like to let the scenery do the talking, our team are here to offer a warm welcome and simple home comforts. The sites in Glendalough are at the heart of Irelands Ancient East with the 6th Century gateway to the Monastic site steps away from the hotel. The Colours and sounds of the valley of Glendalough change with every season and the Glendalough hotel is well placed for you to enjoy all that this Valley has to offer. The magical sounds and breath-taking scenes will transport you back to a quieter time of meditation and a closeness to nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Glendalough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendalough Village Hotel
Glendalough Hotel Vale Of Glendalough, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing