We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A BEAUTIFUL LOCATION”
Review of Riversdale House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riversdale House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I believe that this is a "built for" B&B, It's location is stunning with views of the river and the forested hills across the valley. The room was large and furnished with a bed, a chair, two end tables, a small table with a coffee/tea set up and maybe a chest (we didn't bother unpacking). The bathroom was clean BUT the only soap provided was a dispenser an you had to carry it into the shower. Since no wash cloths were provided, I found this problematic.

The breakfast room is large with views of the river. The breakfast was comprehensive, cereals, fruit, juice, coffee/tea and a selection of hot items.

The driveway to the property is steep and rocky. We arrived after a rain and there were ruts and gullies where the water had eroded the surface.

Still, if your looking for a place to relax and a base from which to explore the area, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank onthegogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for Riversdale House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

Bright and airy, this B&B is literally a breath of fresh air. Out of town and close to a river this B&B is excellent for those of us looking for a little solitude close to nature. We were lucky enough to get there during a mild wind storm that shook the windows and and blew the trees. Fantastic! Rooms are excellent and well taken care of and the hosts are great people.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

My friend and I did a 2 week road trip together back in March 2010 and we stayed here for one night towards the end of our tour of Ireland (tripadvisor only lets you go back to october 2012). It was so beautiful. The room (twin) was nice and cosy with plenty of room. The B&B sits on the edge of a beautiful river and it even has it's own stepping stones to access a riverside walk. You're surrounded by forest, mountains and wildlife. It's perfect for couples wanting a bit of privacy in a lovely setting. From what I can remember the driveway was pretty steep so take it slow :)
When we went the weather was pretty mild but it's pretty sheltered as you're in the valley. Definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kassey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Convenient, clean and very welcoming. Great Irish breakfast available to set you up for the day, and excellent free shuttle service available to take you to the local restaurant. Rooms spacious, but Wi-Fi limited in some areas of the B&B. Hope to return one day. :-)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianaMB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

After unsuccessfully trying 3 other B&BS in this area, we were referred to Riversdale House, and had our very first B & B experience in a lovely location, with an upstairs room with views over the river. Not only was the room clean, bright and quite spacious, the shower was great! I have come to appreciate over the last few weeks how rare and wonderful a good shower really is! There was a kettle in the room to make tea or coffee, and the bed was comfortable. We enjoyed a walk along the river and would have been pleased to have spent a few days there.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

When booking this online, I didn't realize the spectacular location of this house. Stepping stones across the river took us to a footpath leading to the monastic village of Glendalough. It's so close we walked over twice. First day we saw the visitors center. Next day we toured the ruins and walked the paths. Lovely rooms with an airy and bright dining room. Owners are helpful . Breakfast was very good. Hand soap on sink in bathroom. No soap or shampoo in shower. All other places we stayed provided this. So, bring your own. Perfect location if you're interested in really experiencing Glendalough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csfMaineusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

While walking along the Wicklow Way in July, my wife and I had pre-booked this B&B. Little did we realize what a gorgeous location this beautiful house is in. On arrival to Glendalough, we were guided out on St Kevin's Way (north from the valley towards the Wicklow Gap) for a Km or so, across stepping stones on the river to find this very comfortable and well-run, high grade B&B.
The family made us welcome and our gorgeous, comfortable and spacious room viewed the beautiful, forested Camaderry mountain. Cable TV was available and tea and coffee facilities in the rooms. It was hot weather and the midges were swarming in the evenings - keep the windows closed!
Our hostess (Zell) recommended the White Heather for dinner in Laragh and the restaurant sends a free shuttle to pickup diners here (suitable if you are on a walking tour or fancy a glass of wine without driving).
Breakfast was hearty and ample, there is a computer terminal for guest use to catch up on emails etc.
A first class modern B&B in the most amazing hill-walking territory - we'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ernestBT48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendalough Village
0.7 mi away
Glendalough Hotel
Glendalough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glendalough Village
543 reviews
12.1 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,073 reviews
12.4 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
519 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glendalough International Youth Hostel
Glendalough International Youth ...
#1 of 1 in Glendalough Village
142 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#4 of 12 in Laragh
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riversdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riversdale House

Address: Wicklow Gap Road, Glendalough Village, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Vale of Glendalough > Glendalough Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Glendalough Village
Price Range: £70 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riversdale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riversdale House Vale Of Glendalough, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing