We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Location & Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riversdale House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riversdale House
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Missouri
1 review
“Beautiful Location & Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Riversdale was a very pleasant experience. The room was clean, comfortable and had a beautiful view overlooking the stream and mountainside. Liam and his wife were so hospitable and even gave us a lift from town when we arrived tired in the evening. Breakfast was tasty and filling. The walk to town is a relatively short one with great countryside all around. Definitely stay here if given the chance.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbsznf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    32
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
99
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is a first rate B&B. I can't fault the owners who were incredibly helpful to us when we arrived. The rooms are big, beds are comfy and everything is well appointed. Breakfast was delicious. The location is hard to beat - the river is just at the bottom of the garden and there are the hills on either side. A great base for exploring the area. Hopefully I will get to stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarethshair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I believe that this is a "built for" B&B, It's location is stunning with views of the river and the forested hills across the valley. The room was large and furnished with a bed, a chair, two end tables, a small table with a coffee/tea set up and maybe a chest (we didn't bother unpacking). The bathroom was clean BUT the only soap provided was a dispenser an you had to carry it into the shower. Since no wash cloths were provided, I found this problematic.

The breakfast room is large with views of the river. The breakfast was comprehensive, cereals, fruit, juice, coffee/tea and a selection of hot items.

The driveway to the property is steep and rocky. We arrived after a rain and there were ruts and gullies where the water had eroded the surface.

Still, if your looking for a place to relax and a base from which to explore the area, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onthegogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Bright and airy, this B&B is literally a breath of fresh air. Out of town and close to a river this B&B is excellent for those of us looking for a little solitude close to nature. We were lucky enough to get there during a mild wind storm that shook the windows and and blew the trees. Fantastic! Rooms are excellent and well taken care of and the hosts are great people.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

My friend and I did a 2 week road trip together back in March 2010 and we stayed here for one night towards the end of our tour of Ireland (tripadvisor only lets you go back to october 2012). It was so beautiful. The room (twin) was nice and cosy with plenty of room. The B&B sits on the edge of a beautiful river and it even has it's own stepping stones to access a riverside walk. You're surrounded by forest, mountains and wildlife. It's perfect for couples wanting a bit of privacy in a lovely setting. From what I can remember the driveway was pretty steep so take it slow :)
When we went the weather was pretty mild but it's pretty sheltered as you're in the valley. Definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kassey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Convenient, clean and very welcoming. Great Irish breakfast available to set you up for the day, and excellent free shuttle service available to take you to the local restaurant. Rooms spacious, but Wi-Fi limited in some areas of the B&B. Hope to return one day. :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaMB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

After unsuccessfully trying 3 other B&BS in this area, we were referred to Riversdale House, and had our very first B & B experience in a lovely location, with an upstairs room with views over the river. Not only was the room clean, bright and quite spacious, the shower was great! I have come to appreciate over the last few weeks how rare and wonderful a good shower really is! There was a kettle in the room to make tea or coffee, and the bed was comfortable. We enjoyed a walk along the river and would have been pleased to have spent a few days there.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendalough Village
0.7 mi away
Glendalough Hotel
Glendalough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glendalough Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
12.0 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
12.4 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pinewood Lodge
Pinewood Lodge
#3 of 12 in Laragh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glendalough International Youth Hostel
Glendalough International Youth ...
#1 of 1 in Glendalough Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riversdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riversdale House

Property: Riversdale House
Address: Wicklow Gap Road, Glendalough Village, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Vale of Glendalough > Glendalough Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Glendalough Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riversdale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riversdale House Vale Of Glendalough, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing