We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
42
54
35
24
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
54
35
24
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself catering kitchenbunk bedsbooked a private roompush buttonupper lakemixed dormtook forevernew mattressesnecessary amenitiesmonastic siteplace to stayhour hikerooms are cleancommon areasbus serviceday hikingtea coffee
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2013

On the plus side, the kitchen is clean and the staff are friendly. However the 5 star rating given to this hostel by An Oige is not deserved. The bedroom had a musty smell, muck on the carpets which were not hoovered and it looked like only some of the bedding was being washed after each person. The shower button had to be pressed about 20 times before hot water came out.
The surroundings are beautiful and If you just want a bed for the night, it's fine, but if you're looking for a nice play to stay for a couple of days you might need to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne-Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We stayed at this hostel during a week of hiking the Wicklow Way. We were greeted by friendly staff. The grounds were beautiful and I was really glad to have a kitchen to use for making my own dinner, breakfast and packed lunch for the next day as we were travelling on a budget! The kitchen and dining room were clean and spacious. However, the bedrooms were very run down, the bunk beds were quite uncomfortable and furnishings were generally shabby. The bathroom was cramped, unclean and had no mirror. But we did spend a pleasant evening hanging out in the big comfy sofas near reception and were pleased with the array of games and books available to all guests.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollieW88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Very good hostel. Warm rooms, with hot water all the time.
I'm subtracting the 1 star for the showers, although clean, are seriously lacking in power - but they do the job.
Staff were ok.
Location is perfect for basing an exploration of Glendalough, Glenmalure etc. and is very good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

I stayed here back in March 2012 and had a great time. Rooms were clean, staff were friendly and helpful and even let me use their own kitchen when I had not even checked in yet. Kind and polite is how I would describe the staff. You are also right on the doorstep of the national park and some awesome hiking trails.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ukandobetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Stayed here for one night. The beds were comforable but the room was small and very basic and not very clean. The lobby was nice and relaxing and the self-catering kicten was good. The location was excellent. But some of the staff were unfriendly, rude and it felt like they didnt want us there. I would go back to Glendalough as it was a very nice place but I would stay in the hotel there, I would not go back to the hostel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niamh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews