We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always top notch”
Review of The Hungry Monk

The Hungry Monk
Ranked #3 of 37 Restaurants in Greystones
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$47
Cuisines: European, Irish, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Family run restaurant and bistro established in 1988. Great food and ambience with an emphasis on fresh, seasonal and local produce. Multi award winning establishment with a HUGE wine list, over 700 listings!!!!!!
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I live nearby so eat here in the wine bar regularly. It's always consistently excellent in every way. Great service, value and amazing food with an extensive wine and beer menu. The lambs kidneys starter is to die for !! Like any great restaurant, it's always busy so be sure to book ahead or risk disappoinment. Love this place !!!

Thank Julian_Swann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hungrymonk054, General Manager at The Hungry Monk, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Hi Julian,
Many thanks for yor very kind review of the hungry monk recently. It is very much appreciated when customers take the time to give us their feedback from visits to us. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
From all the team at the H.M. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 296 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Good food exceptional service and great atmosphere made it a fun evening however my visit to the loo was fantastic as monks chanting was being piped through to the Ladies such a fun experience

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hungrymonk054, General Manager at The Hungry Monk, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Angela T,
Just a quick word of sincere appreciation for your recent review of the Hungry Monk. We are delighted that you not only enjoyed your meal but had some "fun" also, which is vitally important to us. Hope to see you again soon for a bit more "chanting"!!!
From all the team at the monk :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

This has to be one of the best restaurants around. My wife and I visit occasionally and have never been disappointed. The food is excellence, prepared and presented perfectly.

1  Thank 117kon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hungrymonk054, General Manager at The Hungry Monk, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hi 117kon,
Many thanks for your very kind review recently. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your views and we look forward to serving you in the near future,
From all the team at the "Monk".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Went in a group last Thursday, food was outstanding, lovely restaurant will be back next time we visit Ireland!!

1  Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hungrymonk054, General Manager at The Hungry Monk, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Kelly A
Just a short note of thanks for your recent review of the Hungry Monk. Your kind words about your visit to us are very much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in Greystones.
From all the team at the H.M. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We visit this restaurant a few times a year for the delicious food and excellant service. All the staff are fab but Julian is just the best craic. Amazing wine list and always tasty desserts on the specials board!

Thank dxb501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hungry Monk also viewed

 
Greystones, County Wicklow
Greystones, County Wicklow
 
Greystones, County Wicklow
Greystones, County Wicklow
 

Been to The Hungry Monk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing