We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss out”
Review of The Hungry Monk

The Hungry Monk
Ranked #3 of 36 Restaurants in Greystones
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$47
Cuisines: European, Irish, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Family run restaurant and bistro established in 1988. Great food and ambience with an emphasis on fresh, seasonal and local produce. Multi award winning establishment with a HUGE wine list, over 700 listings!!!!!!
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We ate here last week and it was absolutely top class. The liver pate was delicious as a starter don't overlook it! The service was excellent and the relaxed atmosphere was most enjoyable. Definitely one of the best restaurants I've eaten in.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Niamh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 287 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Visited this restaurant as we were staying in the area and had heard from friends how good it was and it didn't disappoint! The food was excellent! Both the steak and the scampi were a big hit! The service was first class, nothing too much bother and such a welcome and we couldn't fault it at all! Just wish we lived close by and could go back but if we are in the area again we will definitely be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MatildaBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hungrymonk054, General Manager at The Hungry Monk, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear MatildaBelfast,
Just a short note of sincere thanks for the lovely review you gave us recently. We are very happy that you enjoyed your visit to us and we would be delighted to serve you again if and when you are in Greystones.
From all the team at the Hungry Monk. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I live nearby so eat here in the wine bar regularly. It's always consistently excellent in every way. Great service, value and amazing food with an extensive wine and beer menu. The lambs kidneys starter is to die for !! Like any great restaurant, it's always busy so be sure to book ahead or risk disappoinment. Love this place !!!

Thank Julian_Swann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hungrymonk054, General Manager at The Hungry Monk, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Hi Julian,
Many thanks for yor very kind review of the hungry monk recently. It is very much appreciated when customers take the time to give us their feedback from visits to us. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
From all the team at the H.M. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Good food exceptional service and great atmosphere made it a fun evening however my visit to the loo was fantastic as monks chanting was being piped through to the Ladies such a fun experience

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hungrymonk054, General Manager at The Hungry Monk, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Angela T,
Just a quick word of sincere appreciation for your recent review of the Hungry Monk. We are delighted that you not only enjoyed your meal but had some "fun" also, which is vitally important to us. Hope to see you again soon for a bit more "chanting"!!!
From all the team at the monk :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

This has to be one of the best restaurants around. My wife and I visit occasionally and have never been disappointed. The food is excellence, prepared and presented perfectly.

1  Thank 117kon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hungrymonk054, General Manager at The Hungry Monk, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hi 117kon,
Many thanks for your very kind review recently. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your views and we look forward to serving you in the near future,
From all the team at the "Monk".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hungry Monk also viewed

 
Greystones, County Wicklow
Greystones, County Wicklow
 
Greystones, County Wicklow
Greystones, County Wicklow
 

Been to The Hungry Monk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing