We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kiltegan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barraderry Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Kiltegan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We recently stayed with Olive and John for a weekend while exploring the Wicklow mountains. Beautiful location and house with the perfect hosts - better than many 5* hotels we've stayed at!
Large bright room with wonderful view over the countryside and delicious breakfasts with fresh squeezed orange juice and home made bread and jams. We got great advice on where to go and what to see.

We will be back - even if it's just for Olive's soda bread and blackcurrent jam!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulPat53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Olive and John were the most welcoming couple, John even came to meet us when we got turned around. The rooms were the perfect size (we were only there for one night and didn't ask about wifi). We were treated to tea and cookies upon arrival and a lovely early morning breakfast before our trip to the airport. I highly recommend this house if you are in the area.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Although our stay at Barraderry was brief, it couldn't have been more charming. John met us in the parking lot and made us feel at home with tea which was very much needed after driving all day. The house is absolutely beautiful and so are the grounds. Olive's breakfast was yummy especially her homemade bread. It was lovely sitting around the big dining room table havng breakfast with the other guests. After breakfast, Olive gave us directions to Sally Gap - a spectacular drive. I would love to go back to the Wicklow mountains & visit with John & Olive again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare41827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Had an amazing stay at the beautiful Barraderry House. Our room was everything we had hoped for and more. John and Olive were the perfect hosts and we enjoyed chatting with them. We look forward to staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Barraderry. The location in the country was so beautiful. And the home is pretty much my Irish dream home! It was our first stay in Ireland, we arrived, 8 adults, jetlagged and hungry and were invited to have tea with two home made desserts sitting by the fire in the front parlor. It was the perfect way to end the day and relax. We had a beautiful breakfast in their formal dining room. Olive and John were so friendly, happy to converse but also gave us privacy to relax as well. We couldn't have asked for a better stay. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank writetojennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Barraderry House has everything, peace and quiet, gorgeous surroundings and luxuriously appointed rooms. The hosts Olive and John are totally marvelous and the breakfasts with fresh baked bread etc to die for.
Well worth a detour just to see the beautiful countryside and nearby Humewood Estate, Sebastian Barry country.

Room Tip: they are all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Griffideenlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This is absolutely the best B and B in Ireland. We stayed here 4 years ago and made it a point to come back. John and Olive are wonderful hosts. They welcome us with coffee, tea and homemade cookies. Excellent homemade breakfasts. The house and grounds are stunning. There was a new foal when we were there. It was lovely. I will absolutely return to Barraderry.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audiodude1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Barraderry Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barraderry Country House

Address: R747, Kiltegan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Kiltegan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kiltegan
Price Range: £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Barraderry Country House Kiltegan, Ireland - County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing