We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the range!”
Review of Bramble Rock

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laragh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bramble Rock
Ranked #1 of 12 Laragh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top of the range!”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Every year we stay in this area in different B&Bs and at long last have found one we'd love to go back to.

The welcome was warm after a long journey.

The rooms were large, clean, bright and really well maintained. We had 2 rooms for our family of 6 and couldn't recommend Bramble Rock highly enough.

The "full Irish" breakfast was done to perfection and presented very well.

Thanks Anne & Ger!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacTrip2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
114
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The place looked amazing and somehow managed to combine a very homely and cozy feel with the modern safety features you would expect such as fire doors with illuminated signs and extinguishers. We received a very friendly welcome. The owner literally couldn't do enough for us and offered to give us a lift the 600m down the road to the local restaurant. The breakfasts were amazing and very filling. Only slight point was that the bath rooms require opening the top window to ventilate as there is no fan, which then lets cold air in. All in all a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County, New York
Level 6 Contributor
742 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 558 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

On Breakfast at Bramble Rock in particular and Ireland I general :

The traditional Irish waking feast, as many know, is also ritually available in the U.K. and Benelux region as well. For the uninitiated, full details of a Trad Irish morning's breakfast, may be seen as well in a variety of online sites huge in detail.). In this case, Ann's meal was to prove perfect as the eggs were fresh as possible from her and Jer's own chickens. The bacon and pudding (both black and white) were locally butchered and freshly prepared rather than commercially sourced as were the bacon and ham, and the cooked tomato from their garden. In addition, there were warm-up cereals, complimenting sturdy breads brown and white, for those with severe stomach ringworms: yoghurts, juices and fresh fruits as seems the norm everywhere in better b&bs.

A word on one particular Irish/Euro cold cereal. Normally there are multiple choices as well as oatmeal, but i'd like to focus for a moment on another classic option here in Ireland. This is closer to marble sized chunky granola, rather than a flakier Alps muesli which some might have experienced as comes packaged in some better American markets or other gourmet shops. Essentially one finds a much a higher quality of standard and availability in this option throughout the land than is the norm in America. It doesn't turn flaky powder in a box, has big bites of mixed dry fruits of varying textures as well as generous marbles of crunchy cereal complimented by large bits of filberts, brazil nuts. sunflower seeds and walnuts. I had this delight every other day as a starter for breakfasts wherever we found ourselves and miss it already. If I don't find it in time, I'll have to one day hunt a recipe and assemble it all myself.

And in turning to morning beverages beyond juices: coffee, which I prefer, is light years better than years ago, usually of the highest quality and almost never close to disappointing. A few places still serve small half filled delicately pretty cups rather than mugs, but don't seem to mind constant rituals of repouring. I recall a time when a good sized mug of dark was a total surprise anywhere in Ireland and now the opposite is true virtually everywhere in Ireland.

My wife, who, for a lifetime, religiously drinks nothing but Lipton tea and brought scores of bags with her, never touched the stuff and truly enjoyed the Irish teas, though she did go back to Lipton whenever (as the Irish might say) we got home. One has never seen the wrath of an Irish woman scorned by the absence of milk for her tea in the morning. Better with loaded and cocked shotgun in hand, she found her husband intensely dallying with yet another paramour, than the blood eyed wrath in the absence of a proper cup of tea because he forgot to get milk.


One other quick Irish quirk since I'm in that mode. If you ask for bread and are met with an inquiry of toasted or not, upon make either choice, the response is most often "Perfect" or "Brilliant" as if you'd just first submitted advanced strategy plans for the successful Allied landing on D-DAY, painted Van Gogh's Starry Night or flawlessly interpreted Tchaikosvsky's Violin Concerto in D as never before achieved in Lincoln Center by a brilliant guest soloist and the New York Philharmonic. It's not every day in the American male's experience that any woman finds and publicly declares -in any context- a man's instinctive decisions "perfect" or his habitual choices "brilliant".

These notes are particular to our trip's first great morning meal at Bramble Rock as well as more generally touching upon overall start the day encounters elsewhere on our trip. It seems to me that Bramble Rocks excellent standards, delightful hosts and wonderful location relative to the Wickow Mountains, Glendalough, the Wicklow and Sally Gap passes, Meeting of the Waters, Avoca, etc. make it clear why it retains a first place review on TA for local B&Bs. We highly recommend it as a delightful choice to all considering the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank preglad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Occidental, California
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Delightful rooms, great breakfast and excellent recommendations about where to go for dinner and where to find music at a pub near or far. This was practically the only place in Ireland where there was really hot water with lots of pressure. Perfect after a day of hiking. Ann will go to great lengths to make sure you have a pleasant stay. Her chickens lay eggs for your breakfast, and she even grew the mushrooms for the omelets.

Room Tip: We liked the Ash of Bramble. Check out their web site for photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calypso1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I had planned to stay at Bramble Rock after hiking from Roundwood to Glendelough on the Wicklow Way (Laragh is about three km away). I ended up aggravating an old injury on the hike and was in a lot of pain by the time we got to Glendelough. We were considering skipping the B&B and just taking the bus back to Dublin, a sad option. When we explained this over the phone to Ann, the owner, she immediately offered to come get us, and we're so glad we stayed! Apparently right after she hung up the phone, Ann also moved us to the first floor so I wouldn't have to take stairs -- very thoughtful. When we got to the B&B, she recommended a great restaurant, booked us a table and when the time came, drove us there! (Restaurant, the Wicklow Heather, was just what the doctor ordered.)
This incredible service was all in addition to a very pretty, clean and comfy room and an excellent breakfast served at a reasonable hour. Ann clearly takes her responsibilities as a hostess seriously, making sure to introduce guests to each other, which led to pleasant conversation and an all 'round comfortable atmosphere. I am actively hoping we get a chance to go back to Bramble Rock!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HazyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights in August and there was absolutely nothing to complain about. Ann is a gracious hostess and clearly enjoys making her guests comfortable and happy. Breakfasts were lovely with food made to perfection. The room was large, modern, and comfortable. This B&B is perfectly managed and rates the five stars that I'm awarding to it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharpshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here in early September 2013. We had a great time!! The room is clean, spacious, and comfortable. The location is great: the excellent hiking paths and mountain vistas of Glendalough are only 2 km away. The breakfast was great and Ann was a great hostess!. Outstanding across the board.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laragh
10.5 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,018 reviews
11.4 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,013 reviews
9.1 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
500 reviews
12.5 mi away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
15.6 mi away
The Martello Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bramble Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bramble Rock

Property: Bramble Rock
Address: Laragh East, Laragh, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Vale of Glendalough > Laragh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Laragh
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bramble Rock is a family run B&B situated 350 metres from the centre of Laragh village up a quiet road past St John's Church. While staying at our home we hope that you relax and enjoy our hospitality and make the most of all that Laragh and Glendalough have to offer within walking distance. We have views over Trooperstown from two of the rooms and Derrybawn from another room. You can relax in our living room area and read any of the books we have available or just listen to the birds singing. All our rooms are en-suite and spacious. Two of them can accommodate a family. A good night's sleep is guaranteed in our comfortable beds. Each morning we invite you to choose from our tasty breakfast menu and enjoy home-cooked bread and local produce. We can also cater for special dietary requirements too. The Duffy family look forward to welcoming you to our home for what we hope will be the first of many visits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bramble Rock Laragh, Ireland - Vale Of Glendalough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing