We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Choir Practice with a Difference”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Choir Practice with a Difference”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

I booked in for a stay with a difference at BrookLodge last weekend. Along with 80 others from my choir we arrived early on the Saturday morning and spent the day rehearsing in the wonderful wedding room situated within the grounds of the hotel (far enough away from the main hotel so as not to annoy other residents). That night we all ate dinner in the White Room, a menu specially created for us choir members that was delicious and served with efficiency and friendliness by the wonderful BrookLodge staff. After dinner, back to the lounge beside our rehearsal room where a bar was opened and we sang and chatted till the small hours. Breakfast the next morning was delicious and set us up admirably for more music!

We were in no way made to feel as if we were part of a big group - the attention to detail by Suzanne and Wendy in preparing the weekend for paid dividends - fresh jugs of water miraculously appeared and morning coffee with homemade biscuits were delicious and welcome! My only complaint is that our conductor worked us hard and we had too little time to appreciate the luxurious accommodation and amazing surroundings.

I would recommend the Riverside wedding room and accommodation not just to couples as a wonderful wedding venue, but also to groups looking for a weekend away to rehearse, debate, practise yoga etc etc!

I have stayed many times in BrookLodge and used the spa facilities on many occasions and will so so again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sallyathome10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJDWicklow, Co-Owner at BrookLodge & Macreddin Village, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thanks a million for your really kind review, and we are delighted that you and the members of your choir had a great time with us. The team here found you all a real pleasure to look after, and hopefully we will see you again in the not too distant future. Best regards, Eoin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    239
    107
    56
    44
See reviews for
144
530
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

My husband is very happy. Having spent much time and money bringing me to 'luxurious' country houses and 'fabulous' spa hotels the length and breath of Ireland, finally he has cracked it. Brook Lodge in Wicklow - I loved every minute and I can't wait to go back. Open fires, a great Spa ( I had a super Hammam plus massage - after a hard week at work - life changing!) fabulous food (The Strawberry tree - fantastic), and a lovely bedroom, OK we're not talking the Hotel Bristol in Paris here, but the room was bright, fresh, full of light and space and perfectly comfortable. We stayed for 2 nights last weekend, in a suite and slept like kings in perfect silence. The view was splendid, a pretty stream gurgling past and the fringes of a forest beyond...rural, peaceful and just what we wanted. I would really recommend this hotel, and as someone who travels abroad working almost every month, usually staying in 5 star hotels, I have to admit to being a fussy guest, with very high standards. If you are tired of the aristocratic Irish country pile turned hotel, that just doesn't live up to it's grand facade, that tucks you in a boxy room in the '80's era extension, or an ever so tiny converted stableyard -then go to Brook Lodge - they know how to do it right. Well done to staff and management: wonderful homemade porridge, smiling proffessional staff and after a brisk walk in the mist filled woodlands of Avondale House a short drive away - really magical - back for a splendid meal with fine cheese and wine. Perfect really. It restored my faith in what a weekend in the country in Ireland can really be - the very best in the world. Thanks!

Room Tip: choose a suite, ask for a woodland view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LucyStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJDWicklow, Co-Owner at BrookLodge & Macreddin Village, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
We are very very grateful for your extremely generous comments, and delighted that you both enjoyed your stay with us so much. Since 1999 we have been honoured to get many fantastic compliments from many of our guests, but we still get a huge kick out of a great review. Thanks again, Eoin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

My wife and I visited for quiet night away before Christmas. It was lovely and relaxing. Checking in and checking out were without any drama and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We ate in the Italian restaurant (La Taverna Armento) and the food was excellent, full of taste and flavours. We've eaten in the Strawberry Tree previously and personally, we preferred La Taverna Armento. It was less formal and the food was simpler.
Breakfast was also very good.
Brooklodge is a lovely spot for a relaxing night away, we will return!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bear54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJDWicklow, Co-Owner at BrookLodge & Macreddin Village, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thank you for your really nice comments. We try and offer a place where our guests can switch-off, and I'm delighted that you found it so relaxing here. Thanks again, Eoin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We spent the weekend at Brook Lodge and loved every second of our stay. It's cosy, romantic and the warm welcome is provided by the resident dog who lies around reception! The lounge offers an extensive wine and cocktail list and there are plenty of dining options within Macreddin Village. The rooms are beautifully decorated with antique furniature and our room had a beautiful four poster bed with views over the green to the chapel. It's a dream come true. The breakfasts are well worth getting up for too - everything is organic down to the fresh juices and smoothies. All of this doesn't come cheap but is so worth it for a romantic treat.

Room Tip: Room number 6 in the main building has a big four poster bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chip-advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJDWicklow, Co-Owner at BrookLodge & Macreddin Village, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Many, many thanks for your very kind comments, and we're delighted that your romantic break lived up to expectations. Thanks again & best regards, Eoin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

From the moment you walk into the Lobby of Brooklodge Hotel you know you have entered a word of relaxation from the everyday and into an environment that cares both inside and outside.
From looking after your home comforts, open fires, friendly and efficient staff, good clean homely bedrooms to your wellbeing. A wonderful spa on site and best of all the only certified organic restaurant in Ireland. What a treat that is , dinner at the Strawberry Restuarant is an event not to be missed, wheather you are one of the lucky ones to be staying over night or just stopping off on a day trip, do your taste buds a big favour and have dinner !!! Go for the cheese and port after dinner as you get taken into the store room ( a working pantry ) full of organic jars of goodies and the most wonderful selection of cheeses to choose from, you even get to cut the cheese yourself !!!
There is a fantastic old Irish pub on site, lovely gardens and walks to explore and a store designed the old way with great bio products to buy if you wish. The second restuarant is Italian and I have yet to check it out.
In a climate where hotels are cutting staff levels Brooklodge has the right amount to make sure
everyone is well looked after, every member of staff I spoke to or passed on the grounds had a smile to give and a "Hi " or "Hello there" to say....it makes all the difference...a happy crew.

I think I have found a little gem in Wicklow and plan to spread the word and return again soon.
Thanks to all at Brooklodge !!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJDWicklow, Co-Owner at BrookLodge & Macreddin Village, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Wow. Sincerest thanks for your fantastic comments. It can be a tough world out there at the moment and it's really great when we get such positive feedback, and it's also great for morale. Thanks again, Eoin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

This hotel has all you need for a total relaxing break.Situated in a valley beside a small stream.Only 3kms from the lovely village of Aughrim.You can go walking in the valley or horse riding if you prefer.Our room was facing the stream/wedding chapel with views of the surrounding mountain absolute bliss.As mentioned by previous reviewers the food is awesome totally organic.Staff are very pleasant /efficient.The leisure facilities have all you would expect and lots more .My wife had two treatments in the spa which she remarked were very reasonable.The tap water comes from their spring and tastes amazing.Will return later this summer.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank curtainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJDWicklow, Co-Owner at BrookLodge & Macreddin Village, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Many thanks for your really kind review, and we look forward to your return visit. Best regards, Eoin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Stayed there recently for a wedding and have to say that the place really needs a freshen up.The curtains in our room were ripped and the furnishings as tired and worn as our last stay over 2 years ago (same room).I think the price was exceptionally high for a one night stay in january..obviously the price reflected there being demand for the wedding.The sugars in the tea service had obviously been wet from previous guests spills and were like square stones.A pillowcase was behind one curtain...was it used as a duster after it was removed from the bed of the previous inhabitants?This hotel really needs to get a freshen up...attention to detail is expected for the price.Breakfast service was poor..and we waited quite some time to be served a mediocre full irish and poached egg on a not very crisped or flavoursome pototo cake
....get your act back in form guys ...we used to love the place.
Last gripe...I didnt appreciate being charged 5E70 for a guinness at the wedding!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank derek s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJDWicklow, Co-Owner at BrookLodge & Macreddin Village, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Many thanks for your review and my apologies that your stay with us wasn't up to scratch. We are in the final period of a refurbishment programme which will see us at our very sprucest, but in your case it seems it's too little too late. In general it's not a great review and we're not happy when we don't hit all the high notes. It's against TA's rules to insert my contact details but if you want to contact the hotel and ask for me, I would like to have a quick chat and hopefully restore your faith in us, Best regards, Eoin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macreddin Village
18.0 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
20.0 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
5.2 mi away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
17.3 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
9.4 mi away
Arklow Bay Hotel
Arklow Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Arklow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BrookLodge & Macreddin Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BrookLodge & Macreddin Village

Property: BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
Address: Macreddin Village, Near Aughrim | County Wicklow, Macreddin Village, Ireland (Formerly BrookLodge & Wells Spa)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Macreddin Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Macreddin Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BrookLodge & Macreddin Village 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Reasons you must visit BrookLodge Hotel & Macreddin Village: 1. We are a unique hotel in a unique village that offers guests an all-in-one opportunity to experience an Ireland that blends the best of old and new. Best Leinster Restaurant 2014, Culinary Hotel of the Year 2013, Hotel of the Year '09 & '10, and Business Hotel of the Year 2012. BrookLodge & Macreddin Village features an assortment of superb accommodation from classic country house style bedrooms through to state-of-the-art mezzanine suites.2. An extraordinary Organic & Wild food ethos means that Macreddin Village boasts the only certified Wild & Organic restaurant in Ireland - The Strawberry Tree. Another restaurant, a village cafe, a dining lounge, a country pub and an Organic bakery and smokehouse complete a matchless collection 3. An exceptional set of leisure facilities includes a fabulous Resort Spa, Macreddin Golf Course - designed by European Ryder Cup Captain, Paul McGinley, an equestrian centre, mapped walks and complimentary bicycles.4. Macreddin Village has a history dating back to the 5th Century, and is situated in a "Designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty", a remote Wicklow Valley, yet just an hour's drive from South Dublin. Surrounded by stunning countryside, our near neighbours include the world renowned beauty spot - Glendalough Monastic Settlement and Lakes, and The Wicklow Way - Ireland's premier mountain walking trail.5. Now is the time to avail of the lowest hotel rates in Western Europe, and visit Ireland, And nowhere offers a more rewarding and distinctive Irish experience than BrookLodge and Macreddin Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BrookLodge & Macreddin Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooklodge And Wells Spa
Brooklodge & Wells Hotel Macreddin Village
Brooklodge Hotel
Brooklodge Wells Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village County Wicklow, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing