We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just back from a one night weekend stay in BrookLodge after managing to get a good deal on their website. The standard room is lovely and comfortable. We did have a problem with the shower but staff were quick to offer help.

The thermal spa is relaxing, of course. It's small enough but has all you need for a proper chill-out. I had a fabulous Decleor facial. I would definitely recommend hitting the spa if you visit - it's a terrible waste if you don't!

There was a wedding on when we visited and they did take over the lobby area for a time, which was a tad intimidating on arrival and make it a little uncomfortable to check in. Staff apologised though and the wedding party continued in another section of the hotel so that's the last we noticed them.

Three courses in the simple yet wonderful La Taverna finished off a wonderful night. Service in the restaurant was perfect and the food was genuine Italian, delicious and fresh.

Amazing breakfast before leaving. Will definitely be back and will recommend to friends and family.

Thanks all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nominomes44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

Just back from 3 days of paradise. Are stay included the 2 half days in cooking,storing and foraging wild foods. The whole experience of the course,use of spa and food was just fantastic. From the enquiry regarding are stay all the staff from reception, waiters and management were exceptionally friendly and professional. We ate one night in The Strawberry tree restaurant and had the 8 course tasting menu. Every course was explained and the tastes were incredible. The 2nd night we ate in the Italian this was more casual but food again of very good standard. The only fault I could find was when we were there in mid season on Wednesday evening there is only the Strawberry Tree restaurant opened and as we had booked there for the Thurs evening we ended up going to a restaurant in a nearby village. While the bar does serve mega sandwiches they stop serving at 6 30pm. I would highly recommend this wonderful hotel set in the Wicklow mountains for a chilling,relaxing stay. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Email in advance the type of room you like. We had one with a beautiful view of the waterfall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judith p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had a lovely relaxing break at Brooklodge. It was our 4th visit but haven't been in the last couple of years. Our room was lovely and quiet and very spacious. As it rained all weekend we just enjoyed the chill. The spa was nice although I have been to many spas around Ireland and this isn't the best. My treatment was only ok and the therapist talked the whole way through which was annoying. The lounge bar is lovely at night time and the staff are excellent. Breakfast is served at weekends until 12pm which was a lovely treat, so you could lie in and still not have to rush. The weddings are now in a separate area of the hotel which is great as it doesn't disturb other guests and you don't have to worry about being woken up at 3am by drunk loud guests (always happens at other hotels!!)
My only gripe about the hotel is the food options. They are very expensive and the only option in both restaurants is a set menu. I love food but I don't really want to be forced into 3/4 courses on both nights of a weekend and I thought it was terrible that there wasn't an al a carte option. Bar food and café only serve until 6.
All in all I would go back as the scenery and location is lovely.

Room Tip: Book in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank princesssun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoin D, Co-owner at BrookLodge & Macreddin Village, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Many thanks for your kind review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Best regards, Eoin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had our wedding at Brooklodge a couple of weeks ago. W stayed for 3 nights over the wedding and everything was perfect. The staff made us and all our guests feel so welcome and special. The food at the wedding was outstanding as was the service.

Can't wait to return for another visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank claire09Kildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoin D, Co-owner at BrookLodge & Macreddin Village, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Great review. Thanks a million for your kind words. Best regards, Eoin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Just back from a fabulous stay at brookelodge ! My girlfriend and I treated ourselves to a mezzanine sweet which was beautiful ! I've been to a good few 4 + 5 star hotels and around the world and this was up there with one of the nicest rooms ! The food was excellent but pricey ! The wells spa was amazing beautiful pool with a selerium and steam room ! But the outdoor jacuzzi is what done it for me very relaxing being in a jacuzzi outdoors ! The grounds of the hotel were beautiful and ideal for a leisurely stroll ! The town if aughrim is only a couple of minutes away as well ! I think we will have to make this a yearly tradition !

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 1ru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoin D, Co-owner at BrookLodge & Macreddin Village, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Many thanks for your great review and we hope you do make it a yearly tradition. Thanks again and best regards, Eoin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I'd stayed at BrookLodge twice before - both times for weddings so I'd didn't really get a the true experience of this little piece of escapism. So close to Dublin, yet a world away. There was a wedding on but that doesn't interfere with other guests as the wedding rooms are in a separate part of the building. From our room, as we sipped our bubble in bed we could see the bride and groom leaving the picturesque chapel, located on the grounds while a few hens and ducks roamed freely on the grass. The room was comfy - the only minus was soft lighting, which made it difficult to put on make-up. Though some people might consider that a bonus!
We used the hot tub in the rain, and pretty much had the thermal suite to ourselves. We booked a mud chamber two the two of us, which at 60 euro for two was a great experience as we got to use all the spa facilities. The chill room was amazing. It was one night away, yet we both feel the benefits as if it was a 5 day chill out. Driving back to Dublin we passed stunning mountains, new born lambs, pretty villages in full-bloom with yellow daffodils and purple crocuses, and I knew I was already planning when I'd be back again.

Room Tip: Room 30 had a relaxing view of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiobhanDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoin D, Co-owner at BrookLodge & Macreddin Village, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Hi Siobhan. Really nice review and really well written. You're right in pointing out that the weddings take part in another section of the hotel, so the wedding guests don't intrude on the food and spa guests and vice versa. It's great that you went back to Dublin so chilled and hopefully we will see you again soon. Best regards, Eoin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This is our second time staying here as a family. We last visited six years ago. The hotel is very different and is set out as a little village. The restaurants and pub being a short walk from the main body of the hotel. We ate in both the restaurants and would thoroughly recommend them. The food and ambiance were superb.
The hotel and spa area were beautiful. All are maintained to a very high standard. We stayed in two standard rooms side by side as there were no interconnecting rooms. I thought the rooms a little shabby and cramped. They were pretty basic, and the double bed was small and not very comfortable. If staying again I would try and upgrade to one of the suites.
We hired bicycles during our stay. There wasn't enough helmets to go around our family, which I was annoyed at. I had rang and checked if we needed to bring our own with us a few days before arriving and was assured they would be provided. The brakes on one of the bikes did not work, which was pretty dangerous around the very steep hills in Wicklow. I think if you are providing this service to guests, their safety should be paramount!
The reception staff could have been a little more welcoming. We found them very brisk and short! The waiting staff and bar staff however were the opposite - really attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonifermanagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoin D, Co-owner at BrookLodge & Macreddin Village, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Many thanks for your very positive review, and we're delighted that you enjoyed yourselves. We are constantly upgrading our rooms, but we apologise if you felt yours were below par. We have all new bikes due in for Easter weekend and hopefully the start of a beautiful summer! Best regards, Eoin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macreddin Village
18.0 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,114 reviews
20.0 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,064 reviews
5.2 mi away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
14.9 mi away
Seafield Hotel & Spa Resort
24.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BrookLodge & Macreddin Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BrookLodge & Macreddin Village

Address: Macreddin Village, Near Aughrim | County Wicklow, Macreddin Village, Ireland (Formerly BrookLodge & Wells Spa)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Macreddin Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Macreddin Village
Price Range: £110 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BrookLodge & Macreddin Village 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Reasons you must visit BrookLodge Hotel & Macreddin Village: 1. We are a unique hotel in a unique village that offers guests an all-in-one opportunity to experience an Ireland that blends the best of old and new. Best Leinster Restaurant 2014, Culinary Hotel of the Year 2013, Hotel of the Year '09 & '10, and Business Hotel of the Year 2012. BrookLodge & Macreddin Village features an assortment of superb accommodation from classic country house style bedrooms through to state-of-the-art mezzanine suites.2. An extraordinary Organic & Wild food ethos means that Macreddin Village boasts the only certified Wild & Organic restaurant in Ireland - The Strawberry Tree. Another restaurant, a village cafe, a dining lounge, a country pub and an Organic bakery and smokehouse complete a matchless collection 3. An exceptional set of leisure facilities includes a fabulous Resort Spa, Macreddin Golf Course - designed by European Ryder Cup Captain, Paul McGinley, an equestrian centre, mapped walks and complimentary bicycles.4. Macreddin Village has a history dating back to the 5th Century, and is situated in a "Designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty", a remote Wicklow Valley, yet just an hour's drive from South Dublin. Surrounded by stunning countryside, our near neighbours include the world renowned beauty spot - Glendalough Monastic Settlement and Lakes, and The Wicklow Way - Ireland's premier mountain walking trail.5. Now is the time to avail of the lowest hotel rates in Western Europe, and visit Ireland, And nowhere offers a more rewarding and distinctive Irish experience than BrookLodge and Macreddin Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your BrookLodge & Macreddin Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooklodge & Wells Hotel Macreddin Village
Brooklodge And Wells Spa
Brooklodge Hotel
Brooklodge Wells Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village County Wicklow, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing