We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful experience & Gorgeous food...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
Certificate of Excellence
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful experience & Gorgeous food...”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Beautiful hotel situated in amazing location. Facilities are excellent & food even better... Rooms ideal... One of the best romantic weekends I ever had... One problem though is if you're not into golf, the golf club is a bit intrusive in an otherwise beautiful exclusive retreat genre hotel...

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimaraLawless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoin D, Co-owner at BrookLodge & Macreddin Village, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Many thanks for your very kind review, and we are delighted that you enjoyed yourself. It's true we have a great golf course on site (designed by European Ryder Cup Captain Paul McGinley no less), but I'm a bit surprised you found it intrusive as too all intents and purposes it can't be seen from the hotel. In fact the vast majority of guests who stay with us who don't play golf, are usually blissfully unaware that we have a course! Anyway, apologies if it intruded on your stay and we hope that it doesn’t deter you from visiting us again soon. Best regards, Eoin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    245
    107
    57
    44
See reviews for
149
546
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Myself and my fiancé stayed here for 1 night we booked a suite on arrival to the hotel we weren't to impressed we usually go for modern hotels so it seemed a bit dated but once you settle in you realise that it all goes hand in hand the atmosphere is so relaxing it really is just a place you would go to relax and unwind there are chickens running around the grounds which adds to it all and an outside fire u can sit around in the evening the spa and pool area is lovely staff were very pleasant and food was good to we ate in the Italian restaurant on site food was delicious so overall it was a very enjoyable stay only negative we would have is the technology in the suite my bf loves his gadgets and couldn't connect to it on his iphone for ages then when he did your restricted as to what music it will let you play but even at the if your looking to relax and unwind I'd defo recommend here

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terri s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoin D, Co-owner at BrookLodge & Macreddin Village, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
HI Terri. Thanks a million for your very kind review, and delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Not sure what the problem was with the IT end, but try and solve any problems that occur without delay and of course we do offer free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Eoin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I just had what can only be describe as the most perfect weekend in Brooklodge with 16 of my closest female friends and family. It was my official and incredible civilized send off before I walk down the aisle and the staff and Brooklodge could not have been more helpful and accommodating of our large group.

Brid's warm welcome at reception started things off perfectly. Our room was stunning and lunch in the sun outside Actons was superb! I had a surprise treat booked in in Wells Spa of a deep tissue massage... a first for me! I urge any future guests to book in the exact same treatment and ask for Ludo.... he is a miracle worker and a lovely man. My back, shoulders and neck have never felt so good!

A private dinner at Actons, headed up by the incredible Trevor was our next port of call. Seriously, the food was incredible! Ask for the 'Big Momma's Table' menu where you'll get to try a whole host of delicious dishes including wood fired pizzas! As the weather was so beautiful, we sat outside after dinner and Trevor and his team made us all feel so welcome and comfortable, even ensuring my darling Mum had 'vats' of tea brought over to her on a regular basis! He is a gentleman, seek him out when you go.

Due to the wonderfully balmy weather, we proceeded to make our way to the outside section of the residents bar where we whiled away the hours on comfortable outdoor couches and armchairs and even shared a 'tasteful' sing song with fellow residents. After a peaceful night sleep we all re-grouped in The White Room for what can only be described as one of THE most impressive breakfasts any hotel in Ireland, nay Europe, has to offer. The poached eggs and potato cake were a highlight for me as were the hicks sausages.

Some of us then headed to the Spa for a dip in the pool, a steam in the sauna or even a chillout in the outdoor hot tub while others sat out looking over the lawn and admiring the friendly hens and ducks that roam freely at Brooklodge, chatting about the night before and the incredible food we had all consumed! Horse riding, which is available at Brooklodge, was mooted but we were just too chilled to think of anything other than lounging for a while longer.

Having been a fan of Brooklodge for many years, it was a wonderful treat to be there with so many good friends. I look forward to going again soon and will DEFINITELY be booking in a massage with Ludo (the miracle worker!)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoin D, Co-owner at BrookLodge & Macreddin Village, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Ahh, what a review. Many, many thanks for your very kind words which really mean a lot to our very hard working crew. It's great that you had such a super time and we're very grateful that you took the time to write about us. We hope to see you again very soon. Best regards, Eoin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

everything about this hotel is beautiful, location staff & food
drinks quite expensive
the only clause is we had our dog and didn't know the chickens are around the hotel all day...which meant we were very restricted for the whole say as couldn't let dog off lead. Maybe this should be highlighted when bringing a pet.
but other than that fantastic...thanks again

Room Tip: dont bring you pet , as cant let off lead, in a way really restricted us around hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martina1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky, United States
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We found the Brooklodge a warm, inviting country lodge, full of charm! The staff could not have been more welcoming. The room had everything we needed and overlooked a beautiful back lawn! We had dinner in the tea lounge and breakfast the next morning. Both were excellent!

It is a bit out of the way, tucked away in the country. This was not a problem for us.

Room Tip: Be sure to get out and walk the beautiful grounds! The landscape is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My sister got married last October bank holiday weekend in the Brooklodge and I wanted to give a review as a guest of her wedding.

We arrived the day before the wedding. Our room was fabulous, separate sitting room, four poster bed and the biggest bat tub. I love spacious hotel rooms! I am guessing that was an executive suite as we were part of the bridal party but it really was so romantic. We enjoyed coffee and scones in the bar overlooking the gardens. You really feel you are escaping from real life down here, it is so peaceful.

That night my sister and her husband had kindly organised an Italian feast in one of the restaurants. It was a great way to start the wedding as we all sat around chatting over endless amounts of delicious Italian food and wine. After a drink in the bar we headed off to bed (well the girls did anyway!).

Next day we all got ready in my sisters bridal suite. It was an amazing suite with a mezzanine level for the bed. There was so much space in the sitting room area which was perfect for all of us to get ready and the hair dresser and make up artist could easily set up. We ordered breakfast to the room which was so tasty.

While the weather was not kind and it did rain alot, the staff had umbrellas for us and after the church cermony there were so many lovely areas for photos. The rain actually enhanced the back drop of the greens and golds of the leaves against the veranda. My sister chose a teal colour for the bridemaids and orange calla lillies so the overall effects was perfect autumn colours.

While we were getting photos taken the rest of the guest enjoyed their sparkling wine and canopys along with tea and coffee in the lounge area. After that we were all lead into the reception area which was decorated beautifully. We all sat at a rectangular table but in the middle of the floor rather than at the top so you didnt feel you were being watched by other guests. The food was amazing. I normally dont like black pudding but I so enjoyed the black pudding starter, it was so tasty. The rest of the meal was delicious and I remember eating everything! There was a great atmosphere as the reception area is in a separate section than the rest of the hotel so you didnt feel you lost the crowd. The bar was also set up in the same room.

The staff could not have done enough for us and I know that my sister, her husband and both sets of parents were so delighted with the way the day went. Next day after a delicious breakfast we were sad to have to check out after a magical and special weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ailers22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed with family and our dog at the start of the summer. BrookLodge is a special place. The place is beautifully old world. The staff were fantastic across the board - in the bar, restaurant, reception, breakfast. The fact that they are dog friendly is a huge huge plus. I love eating out and the meal I had in the Strawberry tree is the best I have EVER had. Lovely pool area. Just brilliant, will return.

If I had to point out anything that could be improved it would just be a bit of sprucing up to the bedrooms and breakfast area, they aren't as warm or breathtaking as the rest of the hotel, but its just a very minor thing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Big J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macreddin Village
18.0 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,019 reviews
20.0 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,016 reviews
5.2 mi away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
17.3 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
503 reviews
9.4 mi away
Arklow Bay Hotel
Arklow Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Arklow
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BrookLodge & Macreddin Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BrookLodge & Macreddin Village

Property: BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
Address: Macreddin Village, Near Aughrim | County Wicklow, Macreddin Village, Ireland (Formerly BrookLodge & Wells Spa)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Macreddin Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Macreddin Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BrookLodge & Macreddin Village 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Reasons you must visit BrookLodge Hotel & Macreddin Village: 1. We are a unique hotel in a unique village that offers guests an all-in-one opportunity to experience an Ireland that blends the best of old and new. Best Leinster Restaurant 2014, Culinary Hotel of the Year 2013, Hotel of the Year '09 & '10, and Business Hotel of the Year 2012. BrookLodge & Macreddin Village features an assortment of superb accommodation from classic country house style bedrooms through to state-of-the-art mezzanine suites.2. An extraordinary Organic & Wild food ethos means that Macreddin Village boasts the only certified Wild & Organic restaurant in Ireland - The Strawberry Tree. Another restaurant, a village cafe, a dining lounge, a country pub and an Organic bakery and smokehouse complete a matchless collection 3. An exceptional set of leisure facilities includes a fabulous Resort Spa, Macreddin Golf Course - designed by European Ryder Cup Captain, Paul McGinley, an equestrian centre, mapped walks and complimentary bicycles.4. Macreddin Village has a history dating back to the 5th Century, and is situated in a "Designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty", a remote Wicklow Valley, yet just an hour's drive from South Dublin. Surrounded by stunning countryside, our near neighbours include the world renowned beauty spot - Glendalough Monastic Settlement and Lakes, and The Wicklow Way - Ireland's premier mountain walking trail.5. Now is the time to avail of the lowest hotel rates in Western Europe, and visit Ireland, And nowhere offers a more rewarding and distinctive Irish experience than BrookLodge and Macreddin Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BrookLodge & Macreddin Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooklodge And Wells Spa
Brooklodge & Wells Hotel Macreddin Village
Brooklodge Hotel
Brooklodge Wells Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village County Wicklow, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing