We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best 5 Star for Children & Best Breakfast EVER!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Ratoath, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best 5 Star for Children & Best Breakfast EVER!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I booked this last minute as a weekend getaway for my husband for 'fathers day'. The staff were very welcoming and made a huge effort to speak to our three children and make them feel equally welcome.

A lovely touch is when you arrive they present you with hot face clothes to refresh your hands and face after your journey, it's a lovely touch.

We stayed on the 1st floor. The corridors were nicely decorated and clean. The rooms were spacious with two double size beds (which in a five star hotel was a little disappointing a King size or super king would have been perfect, but we still had a good nights sleep).
There was also a writing desk and side board in our room. The bathroom had a separate shower and bath. There was double doors which opened onto a 2ft wide half type of balcony, which really served for the purpose of being able to open the doors and have a lovely breeze come in without having to worry that the children would fall out the large door/windows.

When checking in we had asked about swimming and we noted that the staff had informed us that there was robes in the room for all the guests, but there was only two adult ones. We rang down and they arrived promptly with children's robes, which my children were delighted with.

This hotel is really about the staff - the staff is what makes the hotel in my experience and also what amenities are available. Ken the barman couldn't do enough for us giving plenty of information about the amenities of the hotel as well as things to do in the surrounding areas. Our children had gone to the playground, so we were sitting on the balcony just having a glass of wine settling in and he presented us with colouring packs for the children when they returned. Again, very very child friendly.

After one of our meals, our toddler had started to get tired and upset, so we had to leave our table abruptly - I had said to one of the staff members, we would be back to settle the bill in a few mins when we had the little one settled and again, 'no problem'. Sunni was so accommodating to our children who opted to choose from a different menu as was Danielle. The staff are all so friendly and can't do enough for you and nothing is a problem.

The resort has bikes available on site for the children and adults. Our children loved cycling around the estate and Oli was only too pleased to help them get saddled up and sort them with helmets, etc. Never loosing patience even though they would drop the bikes back only to re-hire them half an hour later when they changed there mind and wanted to go for another cycle. There is a selection of dvd's and board games for the children as well as an outdoor playground and indoor den which is very conveniently located a few yards away from the main lobby.

Another massive plus for this hotel is that they have a kitchenette on the 1st floor, which has a bottle washer, microwave and even a few jar's of baby food if you were caught short! I can't stress how much of a difference having this facility can make to a families overall comfort.

The pièce de résistance has to be breakfast!! Diet went out the window on this one. The continental breakfast had great choice but the quality of food was excellent. My favourites was the home-made granola and the porridge (which had a very naughty jug of cream, brown sugar or honey beside it - so lovely). The pastry selection was good and the hotel's own Guinness bread was just lovely, especially with a little smoked salmon and lemon.

There was the usual buffet style selection of sausages and rashers. The sausages were particularly good. I love hash browns and there was none, but it didn't matter as they had table service eggs benedict or eggs Florentine (which I had on the second morning - divine).

The children absolutely loved the pancake station, and availed of it both mornings choosing strawberries and chocolate sauce for their filling. Alongside the pancake station the chef is also busy making omelettes which my husband had on both mornings and said it was just so tasty. It is probably the best breakfast I have ever had in a hotel. After I finished breakfast on the first morning, the very lovely Eli asked if we wanted fresh tea or coffee - I said 'yes I would love a fresh coffee', thinking Americano as that's what they serve at breakfast and her reply was 'well, would you like a latte, espresso, cappuccino, mocha?...... I was in heaven!!

We are delighted to have found this hotel as it is less than an hour from where we live. They cater so well for children and anyone with children will tell you if they are happy it makes a massive difference to how the adults can enjoy the facilities too, whether it be reading the papers with a coffee or going for a walk around the estate. It is now going to be our 'go to' hotel for when we just want a weekend away or a couple of days switch off with the children!

Highly Recommend!

Room Tip: If travelling with children as for a room on the 2nd floor, where the kitchenette is!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Priscilla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Edward-Stephenson, Chief Executive at Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete such a detailed review of the hotel following your recent stay.

I am genuinely delighted to read that your stay exceeded your expectations and that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your time at Druids Glen .

Perhaps we will have the privilege of welcoming you back in the not too distant future and with that in mind, if we can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Once again, thank you very much for your wonderful review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Stephenson,
Chief Executive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,299
    428
    157
    62
    20
See reviews for
632
760
11
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We spent a night at the Druids Glen Resort for our 25th wedding anniversary. The room was fantastic (we were upgraded to a President's Suite) and the service was outstanding. We dined in the bar for lunch and in the restaurant for dinner, both of which we enjoyed enormously. The swimming pool is large and the steam and sauna rooms are excellent. The spa is fantastic and the deep tissue massage hit all the right spots! Great breakfast too.
Only reason that the review is not five stars is that we felt the whole package is very expensive. If money is not an object, then Druids Glen is a terrific place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 517Paul517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Edward-Stephenson, Chief Executive at Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your encouraging review following your recent stay at Druids Glen Resort and congratulations on your wedding anniversary.

I was delighted to read how much you and your husband enjoyed your anniversary celebrations here and I hope that we will have the privilege of welcoming you back to celebrate many more at Druids Glen.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Stephenson,
Chief Executive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We booked this hotel at the last minute from a referral, and found a great deal on a golf package that included the room, golf for two each day along with a full bountiful breakfast buffet. I can't say enough about our stay! The room was large, well furnished and very comfortable. The service from the front desk staff to the folks in the pro shop were very friendly and helpful. All of our meals were great and their bar and lounge areas were very comfortable. There are two 18-hole golf courses and both were great! The only downside if there is one is the remote location - if you don't have a car there is no place to walk to or any available public transportation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gumbygirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Edward-Stephenson, Chief Executive at Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review of Druids Glen Resort.

Thank you in particular for all of your kind comments not least in relation to both Druids Glen and Druids Heath Golf Course which present exceptionally well at this time of year. We are fortunate to be surrounded by beautiful countryside with many wonderful natural attractions nearby. Our resort features a walking trail which leads to the magnificient Druids Glen Clubhouse and we also offer a complimentary shuttle bus to the nearby town of Greystones should guests wish to explore the locality.

I hope we may have the privilege of welcoming you back to Druids Glen on your next visit to Ireland.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Stephenson,
Chief Executive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had a spacious room with a queen-size bed, good tv, a long sideboard, a desk, table and easy chairs. The public areas in this hotel are lofty but worked very well and are comfortable. Layout is such that some rooms are quite a distance from the public areas, not a bad thing at all. Breakfasts were excellent with a huge choice of fresh food including a small table with gluten-free food.

We did have a few niggles though: the shower cubicle was small and the water kept running hot and cool; wi-fi was problematic; in the evening there was not nearly enough light to sit and read by the standard lamp; the bathroom too was very badly lit indeed and the shaving mirror light didn't work. There was a glass shelf immediately above the kettle, dangerous and awkward, but we managed to move it up. Room servicing was a bit haphazard and it was a little annoying having to shake out the pillows every night as they were heavily squashed in at one end so they could be put on the bed end-on, why? Then there was the noise from other guests closing their room doors at all hours, we were unlucky enough to be woken up four times one night by huge 'bangs' - why can't people close doors quietly, it's not rocket science? The doors in this hotel though are particularly heavy.

Having said all that, the staff were excellent, especially the breakfast staff, reception staff too were extremely helpful and so was the concierge. A special mention and thanks has to go to the chef who prepared oat milk for our breakfast for the duration of our stay! We didn't use the pool or the large gym but I used the spa and had an excellent treatment, one of the best I've had. A pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caravellejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Edward-Stephenson, Chief Executive at Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

I genuinely appreciate your balanced feedback and suffice it to say that the matters highlighted by you in relation to your room and the quality of room service are being addressed and attended to accordingly. Our wish is to exceed our guests’ expectations in every aspect of their stay with us so I hope that if you have an opportunity to return again you will thoroughly enjoy all elements of your visit.

I have passed on your kind words to our dedicated team who are chuffed to receive your compliments. I look forward to, hopefully, welcoming you back to Druids Glen Resort in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Stephenson,
Chief Executive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Absolutely perfect . Starting with the setting . The food . The service . Well done to all who work at the establishment . Will be returning in the near future that's for sure. Continue with the great service.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Edward-Stephenson, Chief Executive at Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of Druids Glen Resort.
It goes without saying that we are genuinely delighted to read your pleasant comments relating to your dining experience and I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Stephenson,
Chief Executive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr Scotland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here in May for 5 nights on a classic car tour. Had an excellent suite with two rooms well laid out and even had a gas fire and fireplace. Two excellent large flat TV's very comfortable large king size bed. Very quiet situation and slept very well

The staff were very friendly. The food in the bar area the 1st night was not the best and it was very noisy. The other nights we ate in the restaurant and that was very good. The breakfasts buffet style were very good..

The Hotel is very modern with American style layout and the public areas are a bit characterless and barn like but non the less comfortable. The corridors are very long and you could have some distance to walk to your room.

We did not use the spa but it had a lovely pool and large gym faciliti .

The Hotel is a bit difficult to find surrounded by narrow winding roads which is a put off for dining elsewhere in the evenings.

It is an excellent hotel could be 5 star for the rooms but nearer 4 but very good

Room Tip: ANy room facing the gardens and not on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zanique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Edward-Stephenson, Chief Executive at Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Druids Glen Resort. I genuinely appreciate your positive feedback regarding so many aspects of your stay. We have recently completed a refurbishment of our bedrooms and we will continue with our bar and restaurant refurbishment later this year to ensure delivery of the highest standards to our guests.

I hope that we may have the privilege of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Stephenson,
Chief Executive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Lovely stay, bed linen fresh every day, new towels every day, cleaned everyday. Food was ok. Could of been a bit cooler. It was unbearably warm. Swimming pool was nice.mini fridge was perfect size. Not very comfy beds though

Room Tip: Less heating
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emily charlotte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Edward-Stephenson, Chief Executive at Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your most kind review of Druids Glen Resort. Your compliments are gratefully received however I regret that you were not entirely satisfied with the temperature of the hotel and quality of your bed. Suffice it to say that your comments have been noted and will be acted on accordingly. I hope this does not deter you from returning and I would ask that any future bookings are made directly through me and I will ensure that all hospitalities are extended to you.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Stephenson,
Chief Executive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.0 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
1.4 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
18.0 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Martello Hotel
6.6 mi away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
19.1 mi away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: Newcastle Road, Newtown Mount Kennedy, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Newtown Mount Kennedy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newtown Mount Kennedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our five-star hideaway and submerge yourself in the tranquility of Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort. Here nature and luxury meet to create a memorable escape. Nestled in 400 acres between the Wicklow Mountains and the Irish Sea, yet only thirty minutes from Dublin, Druids Glen provides a sanctuary from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Experience our authentic Irish hospitality, allow us to take care of you while you soak up our wonderful surroundings, settle into our pace of life and enjoy the warm, attentive service from our expert team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Druids Glen Hotel Newtownmountkennedy
Druids Glen Marriott Hotel Country
Newtownmountkennedy Marriott
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort Newtown Mount Kennedy, County Wicklow, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing