We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”
Review of Parkview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parkview Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Swinford, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

we stayed for 1 night.the service was good. the hotel was modern and the bedrooms were big. We had dinner there that evening which was good. the town itself is small and there is not a lot to doin the evening. i decided to have a bath in the morning and tried the controls for the bath- be careful if you do! water flew everywhere and i could not see which was the off switch.i would not reccomend the bath- stick to the shower.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollsiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    168
    50
    17
    10
See reviews for
94
251
14
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My self and my husband stayed here for a 70th birthday party for our uncle.its our second time to stay.love the hotel rooms are very spacious and beds are fantastic had a great sleep.rooms are quite sound proof, and lovely and clean .first time we stayed we over looked the car park which was not very nice but this time we had a room over looking the park it was so much nicer.our only negative was after the party the staff refused to let us in to the residents bar until they were sure all none residents were gone they said this was because of insurance reasons (which I can understand) but after ahour of being left in the lobby and still not allowed in I asked the reception why we could not go in he said it was up to the bar man to decide when we could go in .he never came out once . So we were left in the lobby looking at other guests in the residents bar having a drink through the glass door, i know when eveyone came out of the party they were loud but no louder than other partys the hotel .i thought the whole thing was degrading.we went to bed annoyed and angry and never got to go into the residents bar.it is not like we drink loads but we don't get away on our own very often with out kids and wanted to enjoy the whole night .we could not understand why the bar could not have ask people to show their room key.poor management.

Room Tip: Get room overlooking park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kavnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Just returned from a 5 night stay at this hotel on a coach tour of Wicklow. The hotel is excellent - the rooms are very spacious, the half board meals had a very good choice of menu and the staff were the friendliest people I have met in any hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for them - one of our party was a coeliac and they went out of their way to accommodate her dietary requirements. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes a quiet, peaceful setting in a small village.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburgh, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Our family of four just returned and had a wonderful stay at this hotel. It is easy to locate, just off the N11. We reserved a family room which was very spacious. The rate, which included breakfast, was very reasonable compared to other places we stayed during our trip. The staff was helpful in setting up a spare rollaway bed in our room. The hotel is modern with free wifi, which was essential for us as we were travelling from overseas and wifi was our only method to communicate back home.
Breakfast was well done and we ate dinner in the restaurant one evening and it was delicious. We would definitely consider staying there again.

Room Tip: If view is important, you might want to request a room with a view. Our room overlooked the parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the way back to the ferry,it was very good value,nice large rooms and good sized beds. Some reviews comment on dried and pre cooked breakfasts.Well,this hotel must look at reviews and do make changes,our breakfasts were well cooked and fresh,with a choice of anything you want. We had dinner in the bistro,which was good value,but choose wisely,roasts looked tired,but there are lots to choose from and a special board. Rooms not on the car park side have a better outlook,bu for one night it is not important,all bedrooms are light and spacious.Staff are well informed and very helpful.If you are touring it is well located the Wicklow mountains and Dublin, a Dart station is nearby.Also a visit to the Avoca shop is a must. We would stay here again as this hotel is really good value with great bedrooms.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We had just one night here while on our way back to Dublin for a departure, but would have been happy here for several nights. Just off the main, N11 heading north to Dublin. Quiet modern hotel and I was able to get a great rate including breakfast. Room was spacious and clean and staff was very friendly. This was cheaper for both of us than many of the B&B's were for just one person. Think of stopping here if passing this way. Free parking and free wi-fi in the room.

Room Tip: Try searching on-line for the best rates here. Some rooms have a nice viw overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunaloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Sunken bar in the lounge, beautiful lakeside location. Make sure to ask for a room over looking the lake rather than the carpark! Beautiful menu and lovely food to back it up. Nice breakfast for overnight stays. Lovely function room too!

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the river! Better view BUT if there's a wedding on, it can be a little l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolathesmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtown Mount Kennedy
1.4 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
1,986 reviews
3.5 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
993 reviews
18.7 mi away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Martello Hotel
6.6 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
434 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview Hotel

Property: Parkview Hotel
Address: Parkview Hotel Main Street, Newtown Mount Kennedy Wicklow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Newtown Mount Kennedy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newtown Mount Kennedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkview Hotel Newtownmountkennedy
Parkview Hotel Newtown Mount Kennedy, County Wicklow, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing