We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room, fabulous food & service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castle Oaks House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleconnell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Just back from a great weekend at the Castle Oaks. First time staying and I can honestly say it way surpassed my expectations. It started with a very warm welcome, lovely spacious bedroom and a delicious supper. Service was exceptional in all areas and particularly the bar and restaurant. The food is excellent and superior to most hotels standards. Breakfast is great and the hotel is really child friendly. We will definitely be back! Special mention to the staff, they really made our stay.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Regina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LimerickMiddleton, Owner at Castle Oaks House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Regina M,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Castle Oaks House Hotel. We are delighted to hear such positive comments and will pass them on to our staff. We are glad you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel especially our food .

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards,
Gobnait O’Connell
Managing Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

We went to a wedding - a lovely affair, and that part was done very well by the Hotel.

But this review is about the accommodation.

We were allocated a room in the Garden Suite - more like a holiday cottage, but without facilities such as a fridge, cooker etc

The whole area felt run down and as if needed a good spruce up, it was very tired.

The main issue though was the lack of internet wifi, (and 3G connection was not available).

Really nowadays this is essential, and especially so at the prices the hotel charges.

Even in the main building the internet was at best flakey.

The gardens as well seemed tired and there are no walks to be done easily from the hotel.

Other than that I must say the staff were helpful, reactive and always had a pleasant smile.

The breakfasts and food were good, though nothing special.

I would not go there for a holiday, but as a wedding venue it works well other than the Internet WiFi. You need to sort this out.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KentFamilyOnHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LimerickMiddleton, Owner at Castle Oaks House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear KentFamilyOnHoliday ,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed our location and wedding you attend at the hotel..We appreciate all guest feedback we receive and from this we are continually able to improve our product and services. We will of course look into the WIFI and improve on that.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Castle Oaks in the future.


Kind Regards,
Gobanit O'Connell M.D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Lovely hotel beautiful grounds but when it comes to the food unbelievable anything you order is fresh and if it has a sauce you'll just go straight to heaven and very reasonable priced,the hotel its self is lovely and the staff very friendly and helpful,anyone going there to eat or stay the night will have a lovely time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RangeRover15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LimerickMiddleton, Owner at Castle Oaks House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear RangeRover15,

Thank you for your excellent review!

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our food.

I have passed your wonderful comments on to the kitchen regarding you lunch and dinner.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Gobnait O’Connell
Managing Director..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I just want to write to thank all at the Castle Oaks for a brilliant Christmas Party Night Saturday 14/12/2013. We had a great time. It was really well organised, the food, Music, Casino and the Christmas Atmosphere was fabulous. It was such a treat to stay over and excellent value for money. Well done and I'd say we'll be back again.
Thanks for all the help Orla gave us,
Deirdre (Limerick)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deirdre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LimerickMiddleton, Owner at Castle Oaks House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Deirdre,

Thank you for your excellent review and for posting your experience of our Christmas Party Nights which were a great success at the Castle Oaks.

We work hard at ensuring our guests experience the highest level of quality ,service and comfort. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your great comments about our facilities and our staff.


We look forward to welcoming you back to our Christmas Party Night this year also.

Kind Regards,
Gobnait O’Connell
Managing Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Had a family wedding on New Year's Eve and I know that words will fail me to do justice to this hotel and its staff. I'll use three W's to sum the experience up - warm, welcoming and wonderful. I have to give the highest accolade possible to Jamie. I know he is an events' Manager but he seemed to be smilingly bobbing around everywhere. He did everything for this bride and groom in order that they would have a memorable time and from the beginning he was so forthcoming with ideas on how to enhance the event from every sphere. During his busy schedule he gave himself time to listen to the speeches and was so congratulatory with the bridal party and guests. Jamie, you are the hotel's gem and well done to the very competent manageress, Gobnait for recognizing your worth. Obviously the chef and his helpers are top quality as the gourmet five course dinner was piping hot, each course served at the right time and every morsel mouth-watering. Second Helpings of everything were available to everybody The quality of the beef was top notch and the sauce served with sea bass was delicious. The starter was sought after the next day by many of the guests. Need i say more?
Similar compliments I have to attribute to the bar and breakfast staff, and to those who kept bedrooms in tip top order where a good night's rest was guaranteed. I noticed that guests who arrived late late for breakfast weren't dismissed and told "tough luck". They were ever so politely told that they would be given it at the bar. I haven't seen this gesture anywhere and really wouldn't expect to. There were late comers to the barbecue on the following night but again the chef accommodated them. The staff at reception were warm, personalable and nothing was too much or too demanding for them in ensuring everything would run smoothly for everybody.
The hotel itself is a place of beauty situated by the banks of the river and had wonderful locations in its surroundings for those" rosemantic" photographs to be treasured. We enjoyed complimentary mulled wine, fresh scones and chocolates in its foyer when we entered which banished all the chills and crispness of a winter's day.
To sum up and I speak for all the family, through trip advisor may we thank you all from the bottom of our hearts for your warmth, generosity, personal interest in providing a wedding day at The Oaks which will always revoke wonderful, wonderful memories.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spencerLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Very enjoyable night, wasn't too sure what to expect as regards casino night but it turned out to be good fun! Well done folks!
Food: Well lets just say i would go back in a heartbeat to have a roastbeef dinner. Second to none,so tender and tasty!! Some of gang had the fish and said it was gorgeous and it did look fab!
Service: Was courteous,helpful and quick to attend! It really was a pleasure!
Room: We had one of the chalets and they were great! Very clean,spacious and comfortable. The on suite was clean and well stocked and the shower was clean and spacious! The chalets are a little different to the self contained houses on the grounds with no kitchen facilities at'll. But nice and clean and not worn out kinda feel......
Location: Was getting worried about finding the hotel but did so first time but thought it could be sign posted a little bit better and also the entrance could do with a little more information on direction to go.

Will go back again,look forward to it! Congratulations on a fun filled night!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aid69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed here over the weekend for a wedding - great place for a reception - the bar stayed open all night for us! It's in a gorgeous location on the banks of the river. We stayed in one of the outbuildings - like having our own house!

The staff are lovely. Even though the kitchen had closed by the time we arrived (around 11pm), they made us a sandwich. Breakfast was delicious too, and handy that it was available up till 11.00!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonMitcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleconnell
8.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
7.5 mi away
Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre
3.4 mi away
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Castletroy
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
2,034 reviews
4.1 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
910 reviews
6.2 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Oaks House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Oaks House Hotel

Address: Castleconnell, Castleconnell, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Castleconnell
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleconnell
Price Range: £74 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Oaks House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Oaks House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Oaks Castleconnell
Castle Oaks House Hotel Castleconnell, County Limerick, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing