We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Oaks House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleconnell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2006

On arrival the place looks really nice and in general it could be fantastic.

The general place is a beautiful setting and the overall facilities are ok - however look a bit closer and its all a different story. We stayed in a 3 bed Mews property - each room had wires sticking out of walls, none of the curtains were properly attatched to the curtain poles, the bath shower was a trickle and fell off the wall if you touched it, the ensuite stank of damp, 2 bedrooms radiators didnt work - fortunately it was a warm October, the place was clean enough on the surface but again in the less obvious places it definately wasn't.

There was many items missing from the details on the website - these were provided but they obviously dont check before guests arrive.

The bar food was awful and the service very slow - the bistro was non-existant. Staff were quite rude and reception unless the manager was there was a joke. The other problem I found was that the cleaning staff walked back and forward all day right past the front windows - its obviously quicker than the 6 steps down to the pavement - but most annoying if you were trying to relax in the living area.

Again the couches were solid and small - generally dont go if theres a chance of rain as the seats in the house are most uncomfortable.

This place obviously makes all its money from weddings and has no time or inclination to ensure guests are happy or comfortable.

This could be a first class hotel - its not - and its not 4 star either!!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank amack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2006

We arrived in the hotel the 2nd week of August only for 1 night. We were over visiting family. The hotel had been recomended to us by a family friend.

From check in to departure what an absolute joke. All of the above comments on the deco, smells, staff, filth is all true, what astonished me, was that hotels can get away with this sort of service....

I'm really just going talk about the bar food. We invited a few family friends over to have lunch with us. All done before we had checked into the hotel. You had one poor man, very little english, untrained on his own trying to run the bar. What happened next really does not need to be said a comedy of errors. Couldn't take our order correctly no english, no cutlery,(really) dirthy glasses, this may sound okish but my God it was the worst thing i have ever seen within the hospitality industry. Which resulted in nearly all the food been sent back, veggie dishes with ham in........ dismal food of the highest degree.
On the way to pay for the food bill be noticed a manager walking through the bar, for maybe the 6th time and not once helping the bar staff!!!. I approached her told her our problem and requested the bill. She promptly turned to the hasseled bar man made him drop what he was doing, dissaplined him infront of us, smiled at us made the barman get our bill and walk out. I really have never witnessed anything like it.

I will never venture near them again, what a shame!!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sadhbh's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Federick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2006

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank doppios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2006

Stayed: July 2006
1  Thank Cuchallain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2006

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGrackle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2006

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrw06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleconnell
8.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
4.1 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
878 reviews
17.1 mi away
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre
6.2 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
12.9 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Oaks House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Oaks House Hotel

Address: Castleconnell, Castleconnell, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Castleconnell
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleconnell
Price Range: £74 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Oaks House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Oaks House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Oaks Castleconnell
Castle Oaks House Hotel Castleconnell, County Limerick, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing