We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Oaks House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$119
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$225
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Absolute Hotel(Limerick)
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$80
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Savoy Hotel(Limerick)
US$152
US$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$146
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$144
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pery's Hotel(Limerick)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (478)
Filter reviews
478 results
Traveller rating
251
109
43
34
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
109
43
34
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscastle oaksthe riverthe main hotelwedding venueleisure centrebanqueting managerbar foodbridal suitefunction roomfood was lovelysconeslimerick citygarden suiteold world charmwedding receptiontop classfrom start to finish
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
453 - 458 of 478 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2006

We stayed there two nights and were very disappointed. The hotel is shabby and run down and in need of a good scrub. The staff seemed overworked and not interested in customer service. They were far more interested in catering to the private party facilities than their hotel guests. The only thing positive to say was about the food – the restaurant is very good.

Stayed: November 2006
2  Thank victoriaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2006

On arrival the place looks really nice and in general it could be fantastic.

The general place is a beautiful setting and the overall facilities are ok - however look a bit closer and its all a different story. We stayed in a 3 bed Mews property - each room had wires sticking out of walls, none of the curtains were properly attatched to the curtain poles, the bath shower was a trickle and fell off the wall if you touched it, the ensuite stank of damp, 2 bedrooms radiators didnt work - fortunately it was a warm October, the place was clean enough on the surface but again in the less obvious places it definately wasn't.

There was many items missing from the details on the website - these were provided but they obviously dont check before guests arrive.

The bar food was awful and the service very slow - the bistro was non-existant. Staff were quite rude and reception unless the manager was there was a joke. The other problem I found was that the cleaning staff walked back and forward all day right past the front windows - its obviously quicker than the 6 steps down to the pavement - but most annoying if you were trying to relax in the living area.

Again the couches were solid and small - generally dont go if theres a chance of rain as the seats in the house are most uncomfortable.

This place obviously makes all its money from weddings and has no time or inclination to ensure guests are happy or comfortable.

This could be a first class hotel - its not - and its not 4 star either!!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank amack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2006

We arrived in the hotel the 2nd week of August only for 1 night. We were over visiting family. The hotel had been recomended to us by a family friend.

From check in to departure what an absolute joke. All of the above comments on the deco, smells, staff, filth is all true, what astonished me, was that hotels can get away with this sort of service....

I'm really just going talk about the bar food. We invited a few family friends over to have lunch with us. All done before we had checked into the hotel. You had one poor man, very little english, untrained on his own trying to run the bar. What happened next really does not need to be said a comedy of errors. Couldn't take our order correctly no english, no cutlery,(really) dirthy glasses, this may sound okish but my God it was the worst thing i have ever seen within the hospitality industry. Which resulted in nearly all the food been sent back, veggie dishes with ham in........ dismal food of the highest degree.
On the way to pay for the food bill be noticed a manager walking through the bar, for maybe the 6th time and not once helping the bar staff!!!. I approached her told her our problem and requested the bill. She promptly turned to the hasseled bar man made him drop what he was doing, dissaplined him infront of us, smiled at us made the barman get our bill and walk out. I really have never witnessed anything like it.

I will never venture near them again, what a shame!!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sadhbh's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2006

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews