We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Misled” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Oaks House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Oaks House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleconnell
scarborough
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Misled”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2007

Brochure looks good. Lovely grounds if only they knew what a brush was for with so much rubbish at the entrance. Rooms very dirty,mininal and of poor standard. Food was very good but the reception staff had a bad attitude problem and bar staff miserable. The booking was wrong with NO explanation.They must have no staff training. Would NOT recommend it so be warned.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dirty
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnyScarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    89
    38
    31
    37
See reviews for
169
112
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, Cheshire
Level Contributor
175 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2007

The hotel is in a lovely location set in lots of contry side on the banks of the river shannon however it is definately about due a refurb. The staff were very helpful and the old house absolutely beautiful, it definatley had been a smashing hotel at some point in its liife but needed a bit of TLC. Very clean and the bed was very comfortable.

The food was distinctly average to be honest and the menu not very adventurous.

  • Liked — Setting
  • Disliked — Shabby
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DINKEtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2007

Extremely sloppy customer service from beginning to end. Advertised as having free wi/fi and broadband access which was a deciding factor in booking. However, this proved to be extremely misleading as wi/fi was only available in the very small reception area. There was no way to use my laptop in either the bar (less than ten steps away from reception!) or the room.

Upon checking in, there were two receptionists on duty and they chatted to themselves whilst processing my details (I now know all about the first holy communion details of one of their kids!). I was advised that bar food was available until 9pm (I checked in at 5pm) and the restauraunt opened at 7pm. So after working in reception (which was not conducive to making any calls as the reception area is so small and cluttered, not to mention the inane chatter from the receptionists), I proceeded to the bar to order some food. 'Ah, our chef has just popped out and there's no food'. Incredibly, I asked when he would return and no-one had a clue! No apology, no explanation other than 'But there's soup and sandwiches!' Upon asking if the chef would return in time for the restaurant opening at 7pm, I was told that they had no idea when he would be back but 'There's soup and sandwiches!'

So I had no choice but to retire to the room, await a call from reception to inform me of his return. No room service available either (other than soup and sandwiches from the bar!).

When the chef eventually returned, I was offered no apology or explanation, just notification that I could now order food.

Overall, the hotel is average but it is the small details that really let them down.
- No handsoap in the bathroom. Upon asking for it, had to wait 30 mins for it to be delivered.
- Smoked salmon served without a wedge or slice of lemon.
- Dirty hallways and windows.
- Extremely dirty dining room windows
- Lights (chandeliers and lamps) burning all day every day
- No information on the leisure centre in the rooms. It was only on checking out the following morning and talking a morning walk around the grounds of the hotel that I noticed that a) there was a pool (which I would have availed of had I known about it!) and b) there were several beauty therapies offered in a seperate centre. As both are seperate from the hotel and a little walk away from the grounds, some advertising or promotion of same would be very useful to have in the rooms - for those travellers who have not booked on line or previously reviewed the hotel.

Finally, my biggest gripe was customer service. One of the same receptionists was on duty the following day and, wearing the same casual clothes as the previous day, with unwashed hair and no make-up, really did not present the most professional image. This was even more marked as her manner was curt and abrupt. Not once did she enquire if everything had been okay throughout my stay or if I had enjoyed it etc.

I would not recommend this to the individual or business traveller.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank EdDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2006

We stayed there two nights and were very disappointed. The hotel is shabby and run down and in need of a good scrub. The staff seemed overworked and not interested in customer service. They were far more interested in catering to the private party facilities than their hotel guests. The only thing positive to say was about the food – the restaurant is very good.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank victoriaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2006

On arrival the place looks really nice and in general it could be fantastic.

The general place is a beautiful setting and the overall facilities are ok - however look a bit closer and its all a different story. We stayed in a 3 bed Mews property - each room had wires sticking out of walls, none of the curtains were properly attatched to the curtain poles, the bath shower was a trickle and fell off the wall if you touched it, the ensuite stank of damp, 2 bedrooms radiators didnt work - fortunately it was a warm October, the place was clean enough on the surface but again in the less obvious places it definately wasn't.

There was many items missing from the details on the website - these were provided but they obviously dont check before guests arrive.

The bar food was awful and the service very slow - the bistro was non-existant. Staff were quite rude and reception unless the manager was there was a joke. The other problem I found was that the cleaning staff walked back and forward all day right past the front windows - its obviously quicker than the 6 steps down to the pavement - but most annoying if you were trying to relax in the living area.

Again the couches were solid and small - generally dont go if theres a chance of rain as the seats in the house are most uncomfortable.

This place obviously makes all its money from weddings and has no time or inclination to ensure guests are happy or comfortable.

This could be a first class hotel - its not - and its not 4 star either!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Tips/Secrets — Go somewhere else
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank amack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2006

We arrived in the hotel the 2nd week of August only for 1 night. We were over visiting family. The hotel had been recomended to us by a family friend.

From check in to departure what an absolute joke. All of the above comments on the deco, smells, staff, filth is all true, what astonished me, was that hotels can get away with this sort of service....

I'm really just going talk about the bar food. We invited a few family friends over to have lunch with us. All done before we had checked into the hotel. You had one poor man, very little english, untrained on his own trying to run the bar. What happened next really does not need to be said a comedy of errors. Couldn't take our order correctly no english, no cutlery,(really) dirthy glasses, this may sound okish but my God it was the worst thing i have ever seen within the hospitality industry. Which resulted in nearly all the food been sent back, veggie dishes with ham in........ dismal food of the highest degree.
On the way to pay for the food bill be noticed a manager walking through the bar, for maybe the 6th time and not once helping the bar staff!!!. I approached her told her our problem and requested the bill. She promptly turned to the hasseled bar man made him drop what he was doing, dissaplined him infront of us, smiled at us made the barman get our bill and walk out. I really have never witnessed anything like it.

I will never venture near them again, what a shame!!

  • Liked — Its Location
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay Clear
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadhbh's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleconnell
3.4 mi away
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Castletroy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
4.1 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Killaloe Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,317 reviews
5.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,848 reviews
8.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Oaks House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Oaks House Hotel

Property: Castle Oaks House Hotel
Address: Castleconnell, Castleconnell, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Castleconnell
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleconnell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Oaks House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Castle Oaks House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Oaks Castleconnell
Castle Oaks House Hotel Castleconnell, County Limerick, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing