We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A restful retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Castle House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Castle House
Ranked #2 of 3 Glin B&B and Inns
West Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A restful retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I have stayed here on many occassions. I was hooked after the first stay and didn't want to look elsewhere on my visits to the area (work takes me to Foynes for one week every month). Each time I have been welcomed with a sincere warmth which has made me feel immediatley at rest and peace. The house if fabulous with the feeling and furniture of an old house although it is in fact a much younger house, which for me gives the ideal house.
Esther and Jack provide one of my favourite places to stay of all.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WingtipCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
41
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

This was a quaint castle house we found on our way around the Ring of Kerry. It has charm and character but our bed was too hot and the pillows not good, but apart from that our room was spacious. We had a delicious breakfast. The grounds are lovely and a little brook runs through the garden, not bad for 70 pounds. We ate dinner at the Kirby Family Hotel which was rather full for a Sunday night, the food wasn't bad and it was only a 5 minute drive.
The location was good, amenities good and charming host.
Barbara & Neville Australia

Room Tip: We had upstairs room overlooking little brook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barnev169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Spent one night during our honeymoon trip through Ireland. Owners were very friendly, and made a nice full Irish in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jparon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bardstown, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

During our two week trip through Ireland for our 25th, we had the privilage of staying at the Old Castle House in Glin. First, it is simply beautiful there. Next to a brook that leads a very short distance to the River Shannon. The room was quite warm and comfortable and our hostess was very friendly. We found this the perfect place to stay while exploring Northeast to Limerick and then Southeast to Dingle. I highly recommend Old Castle House.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotonda West, Florida
Level Contributor
244 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

We made a last minute change in our itinerary and stopping near the ferry was a good plan. It turned out Glin really isn't a great place to stay. Old Castle House was good. The room was a queen (really a double) and a twin. Breakfast was good. The problem was there was no place to eat, even though it was a Friday night. The one restaurant in town was closed and the pubs served no food. We ended up with take away food, cole slaw dumped on chips, dumped on chicken. Not appetizing. A pretty area to see but not an area that caters to tourists.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kglen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

En-route to another location I spent a night at Old Castle House. I got a great welcome, a big cup of tea and biscuits and an comfy room overlooking the river at the back of the house. What really made Old Castle House for me was that when I got a call from work to do an item at short notice the owners could not have been more helpful in facilitating me. I could sit on after breakfast at the table with my laptop, use the wi-fi and I was able to work very comfortably in my room. As I moved around the house the morning before I left I could not help but noticing how helpful and welcoming the owners were to guests as they arrived, in particular I remember to an American party who had just come in from an overnight flight into Shannon. I got fresh eggs for breakfast, met the hens that laid the eggs in the garden afterwards, got a great night's sleep and got all the assignment that snuck up on me completed. Old Castle House is a really lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry_Callaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

This was my second stay at Oldcastle House. I was greeted by Jack and we shared a pot of coffee in the sunshine.
The room was cosy and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was tasty and very well presented.
I would strongly recommend Oldcastle as a comfortable and welcoming place to stay.
There is an outdoor hot tub. I didn't use it myself but other guests took time to enjoy it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NollaigMacAnStocaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glin hotels
0.0 mi away
Knights Haven
Knights Haven
#3 of 3 in Glin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
O'Driscoll's Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Castle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Castle House

Property: Old Castle House
Address: Glin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Glin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Glin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful village of Glin within the gardens of its Medieval Norman Castle, Old Castle House is ideally placed in the center of Ireland's picturesque West Coast. It is centrally located between many popular tourist destinations such as the Ring of Kerry, the Cliffs of Moher, and the ancient Viking cities of Cork and Limerick. Many of our visitors also enjoy deep sea fishing in the Atlantic ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Old Castle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing