We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Touring Ireland”
Review of Old Castle House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Castle House
Ranked #2 of 3 Glin B&B and Inns
Landstuhl, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Touring Ireland”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I have stayed at this particular B&B twice on two separate occasions and it has been fantastic both times. The owners are lovely people and very helpful! Would def recommend and stay there a thrid time myself!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nursewyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
41
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed at the old castle house when visiting glin earlier this year, which my husband had visited several times as a child. Ester and jack are thoughtful, friendly and very knowledgeable about the local area. The irish breakfasts are wonderful, nothing is too much trouble and we were honoured to stay in their beautiful home. we would recommend the old castle house to sole travellers, couples and families alike, whether as a touring centre or a restful stay on the west coast beside the river Shannon. Despite our booking via a third party not having been communicated to jack and ester, they welcomed us in and made us extremely comfortable, an absolutely impeccable hotel on all counts!

Room Tip: The rooms are all lovely with delightful garden views on all sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine850_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Typical traditional Irish home, like staying with your relations. Ester and Jack are warm, friendly and helpful. The breakfast is wonderful, as much as you could eat, then a bit more. Spotlessly clean room, flexible arrangements, Irish hospitality at its best.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We have recently returned from our first trip to Ireland to celebrate our 25th anninversary. Glin and the Old Castle Inn was our last stop after 10 days and what a treat it was! The inn was impeccable and we were surrounded by charming antiques. The property is so picturesque and we could hear the stream from our bedroom windows which was so calming. We could also see the sunset on Shannon Bay and it was lovely. Ester and Jack couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. Breakfast was amazing (eggs fresh from their own chickens) and they were so accomodating to help us make our stay memorable. I wouldn't have missed out on this gem of a B & B.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We visited Glin recently and stayed two nights at Old Castle House. On arrival we got a wonderful reception and were treated to tea and lovely home made cake. Our room was delightful and comfortable and we enjoyed a wholesome Irish breakfast which set us up for the day touring the beautiful Shannon Estuary. When we revisit Glin we plan to return to Old Castle House which provides top class accommodation and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maurice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a night on our way from southern Ireland to northern Ireland. The people who run it are wonderful and so warm and welcoming. They were very flexible with us, and the breakfast was amazing. The house and grounds are stellar, very beautiful. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This was my 3rd time, a total of 5 nights, in the last 5 years that I've stayed with Jack & Ester. If you really want to get the feel for the Irish people and Irish hospitality, you must stay in any one of the fine Irish B&B's and this one is on the Tops of my B&B Recommendations for the West of Ireland. Finally got to meet Ester in person and this time I happened to be staying on my birthday along with another couple who was also celebrating a birthday on the same day and The Dunne's made it memorable. I make it a point to stay here whenever I visit Ireland and Jack and Ester have become like my Irish Family. The Accommodations are cozy and comfortable. Fresh Eggs in the morning supplied by the Dunne's Chickens accent a wonderful Irish Breakfast and it's always a treat to finish off the evening with a couple pints and a dram around the corner at the Dunne's Bar est in 1820 then take a short walk back to the B&B to settle in for a cozy night's sleep.

Glin is a small town on the Shannon where you can just sit by the stream with some tea and relax or, if you're like me, that makes a good base for any number of day trips in the SouthWest and West of Ireland...for instance: to the Ring of Kerry & Dingle Area about 1 hour or so south, Foynes Flying Boat Museum (where the Pan Am Flying Boats used to dock and where Irish Coffee was invented) just 15 minutes down the road, Limerick City and King John's Castle about 30 to 45 minutes further East, Bunratty Castle & Folk Park (a must visit...give yourself 2 to 3 hours minimum) about 1 hour around the eastern end of the Shannon then head up to the Cliffs of Moher (about another hour or so further) and back down the west Coast of Co. Clare as the sun sets... taking a Ferry Ride across the Shannon from Kilmer to Tarbert.

Glin is quiet and the pubs don't serve food so, with only 2 take away places in town ask Jack & Ester for a recommendation to one of the nearby Restaurants...The Old Stand Bar & Restaurant in Shanagolden (about 20 minute ride) is very comfortable with a very good menu and a nice bar or Enright's in Tarbert is quaint with a nice menu that often includes fresh fish...but get there early.

Room Tip: If you like the sound of gurgling brooks ask for 1 of the 2 rooms that over look the stream running...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Westernhorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glin
0.0 mi away
O'Driscoll's Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Knights Haven
Knights Haven
#3 of 3 in Glin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Kirby's Lanterns Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tarbert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Castle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Castle House

Property: Old Castle House
Address: Glin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Glin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Glin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful village of Glin within the gardens of its Medieval Norman Castle, Old Castle House is ideally placed in the center of Ireland's picturesque West Coast. It is centrally located between many popular tourist destinations such as the Ring of Kerry, the Cliffs of Moher, and the ancient Viking cities of Cork and Limerick. Many of our visitors also enjoy deep sea fishing in the Atlantic ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Castle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing