We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and beautiful, with a warm welcome”
Review of Old Castle House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Castle House
Ranked #2 of 4 Glin B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet and beautiful, with a warm welcome”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had a great experience with Ester and Jack! Ester made sure a restaurant could welcome us despite our late check-in, and was very accommodating with us choosing the bedrooms. The rooms are large and comfortable, and the breakfast delicious. The property is beautiful : an medieval castle tower, a charming brook running through the property and under an old bridge, and the sound of the river and the birds when opening the bedroom windows in the morning: A treat. If you add a jogging along the Shannon in the morning, you are set up for a wonderful day. Thank you again. Emmanuel, Leo, Frances, Kelly and Lorne from Canada.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmanuel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
41
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at Old Castle House in January 2014 for 2 nights and loved it! We got in around 7:20 the first night and when we told Ester we were going out to get dinner, she called the restaurant in town to tell him we were coming and he stayed open for us (closing time was 7:30). The next morning she wrote out directions for us to Killarny, where we were going to tour the Ring of Kerry (the GPS was a nightmare to use sometimes). She also makes a wonderful Irish breakfast! The grounds are amazing (we were shocked to see the castle and river in the front yard when we pulled up!).Would stay here again any time! Our only regret is that we didn't plan on hanging out here more, as we were on the go the whole time visiting other sites.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burgess E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I've stayed with Jack & Ester Dunne at the Old Castle House 4 times since 2007 and I can never stay long enough. This lovely B&B in the quaint, quiet town of Glin is just a stone's throw from the Shannon and has a ruin of a Norman Castle at the entrance to the property.
The B&B is nestled on a stately property nestled alongside a small river that empties into the Shannon just a little off in the distance only a few hundred feet from the Main Street in Glin where the Dunne's Bar and Conway's Pub are located. You must stop in for a pint or several with Jack, His son and the friendly townsfolk of Glin.
The rooms are always clean and comfortable with both ensuite and shared bath options available. The Full Irish Breakfast has always been very tasty with either Ester or Jack cooking fresh eggs supplied by their cheeky chickens and even the occasional fresh garnish right from the garden when in season. If the chickens are out and about when you leave, be careful that one doesn't hop into the car for a ride with you :o)
I cannot say enough about the hospitality of these wonderful folks and Glin makes a good base for exploring the Southwest and West of Ireland with many interesting places to visit right nearby including the Foynes Flying Boat Museum...where Irish Coffee was invented in the days of the transatlantic flying boats...Limerick City & John's Castle...Bunratty Folk Park...Take the Tarbert Ferry to travel up the west coast to the Cliffs of Moher...or travel south to Tralee, the Dingle Peninsula and the Town of Dingle or Killarney & the Ring of Kerry

Room Tip: All the Rooms are comfortable...if you prefer ensuite room there is 1 room at the front of the 2nd f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westernhorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We loved staying on the grounds of an ancient ruined castle - and the B&B was very charming decorated in lovely antiques. The owners were very accommodating and breakfast was delicious. Beautiful spot.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller1947291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullingar, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed for 1 night saturday October 5th 2013 and had a very plesant stay.Would highly recomend this B&B A warm welcome and the offer of tea or coffee on arrival after a long drive was most welcome .It is spotlessy clean and beautifull rooms.Great breakfast also and no problems gettin extra toast, tea ,ect Very relaxing atmosphere with fabulous grounds

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wileyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Old Castle House (right by an old castle). Peaceful stream runs along side property.Beautiful home and gardens. All wood floors, comfortable beds, so comfortable in fact, we were to be at breakfast 8AM and had to change that to 9AM. Breakfast was great. Small town of Glin is very friendly and walking distance from Old Castle House.. Lovely Ester Dunne was a superb hostess and very helpful in directing us around town. This is a "must stay" whenever we are back in the area of Glin.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HapsMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I loved Old Castle House. Loved it. I wished we had planned to stay in the area longer, though Glin is a very small town and there didn't appear to be much going on. It's a beautiful house with ample gardens with a swing on the large tree and a small stream running along the side of the property. It's a very calming, beautiful place to stay. The room (a double) was a good size and the bathroom was one of the better ones we had during our trip. The owners of the B&B are very sweet and helpful. Ester gave us a great recommendation for dinner the night we came in. Again, I really wish we had planned to stay longer, as it was one of the more restful parts of our holiday. I will be making a point to stay next time I'm in Ireland.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glin
0.0 mi away
O'Driscoll's Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Knights Haven
Knights Haven
#3 of 4 in Glin
85 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Kirby's Lanterns Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tarbert
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Castle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Castle House

Property: Old Castle House
Address: Glin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Glin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Glin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful village of Glin within the gardens of its Medieval Norman Castle, Old Castle House is ideally placed in the center of Ireland's picturesque West Coast. It is centrally located between many popular tourist destinations such as the Ring of Kerry, the Cliffs of Moher, and the ancient Viking cities of Cork and Limerick. Many of our visitors also enjoy deep sea fishing in the Atlantic ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Castle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing