We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pictures don't do it justice”
Review of Old Castle House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Castle House
Ranked #2 of 4 Glin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Lovely older house set well back up a landscaped drive in its own gardens. Rooms are quiet, very subdued with good quality period furniture. Easy to find and a pleasure to stay at. Lots of on grounds close parking, stream a runs through property and there is actually part of the town's walls at the foot of the drive way. Very close to Limerick city and the Shannon Ferries terminal at Tarbert. Tea in the garden on arrival and a great breakfast. I would stasy there again with no problem

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishingdavep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2009

I have stayed twice at this b/b and both times I have enjoyed my stay Wonderful welcome from Ester and Jack.Rooms extremely clean and very comforable a lovely and well furnished house (Ester hope you still have the chickens in the garden as I do and the food works out to get the best eggs 'When I will stay with you again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maz000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

From the moment we arrived and were welcomed by Ester and Jack with a much welcome cup of tea we knew we were in for a wonderful stay. This is a lovely house, furnished with excellent taste and it is extremely clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were amazing (eggs from the hens in the garden!), and overall we cannot rate this place highly enough. Many thanks, we had a great time!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puckroly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

We stayed at the Old Castle House for one night in June. On arrival, we were offered tea/coffee and cookies. We sat outside with another couple also staying at the B & B. The yard is AMAZING! There's a stream and at the base of the property sits the ruins of an old castle.
Our room was beautifully decorated . . . very tasteful furniture and it was huge! Our bathroom was modern and spotless. The house itself is brand new, but it is decorated in an Irish way to capture old world charm. Breakfast was yummy.
Glin is a teeny tiny town. We ate dinner down the road at a hotel (5 km or so?). We did find a Catholic church in Glin to attend mass.
Would HIGHLY recommend staying at the Old Castle House!!

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smilnirish3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

Best place to enjoy a wonderfull country. Excellent relationship with owner and great and cheap dinner. Great guiness also.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ipechuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2009

Glin, Ireland was our third night in Ireland. We decided we wanted to stay in more out-of-the-way towns in-between the destinations for sightseeing that we had planned. Glin was a small, beautiful village, and we're glad that we stayed at the Old Castle House!

On one end of the yard, next to the street, is an old castle with ivy growing over most of it. The rest of the yard is well kept-up and nicely landscaped. Friendly cats and and the occasional chicken roamed outdoors. Lovely creek/river runs next to the house. If it had been a bit warmer outside, I would have left our bedroom window open to hear it! :)

Ester and Jack were fantastic! They also own the Dunne pub down the street (which opens on the weekends) -- and we were able to go there and meet the locals! They even let me play the piano and sing. We had a FANTASTIC time! :)

The house is beautiful. We didn't encounter ANY of the issues mention from a previous reviewer -- the bathroom was modern, and the rest of the furniture was gorgeous. Good internet service. Breakfast was delicious, too! Plenty of food!

Thanks, Ester and Jack (and everyone else!) -- our stay in Glin was one of our favorite memories of Ireland, and I hope very much to return soon! :)

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lennonartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2009

Exquisite !

First trip to Ireland. Loved Oldcastle house. Beautiful Gardens, clean comfortable..amazing setting beside castle. Opened the window in the morning to listen to the hypnotic cascading river right below my room. Excellent breakfast lots of traditional Irish! Eggs that were laid on a local farm that morning and home made bread..Nice! Probably the best place we stayed in during our time on the Irish west coast. Highly recommended.

Tomo

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tomo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glin hotels
0.0 mi away
Knights Haven
Knights Haven
#4 of 4 in Glin
90 reviews
0.0 mi away
O'Driscoll's Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Geoghegans Magpie Bar and Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Castle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Castle House

Address: Glin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Glin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Glin
Price Range: £68 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful village of Glin within the gardens of its Medieval Norman Castle, Old Castle House is ideally placed in the center of Ireland's picturesque West Coast. It is centrally located between many popular tourist destinations such as the Ring of Kerry, the Cliffs of Moher, and the ancient Viking cities of Cork and Limerick. Many of our visitors also enjoy deep sea fishing in the Atlantic ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Old Castle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing