We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax and Enjoy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Castle House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Castle House
Ranked #2 of 3 Glin B&B and Inns
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Relax and Enjoy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

This is in a peaceful location and the stream which runs through the grounds is very relaxing. Our room was very well furnished and clean and the breakfasts were superb.
Ester made us feel very welcome and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. A quiet walk along the Shannon when we got back after an evening meal at Kirby's Lantern hotel and all was well with the world! Thank you Ester.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrygold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
41
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

Within walking distance of a quaint city park and of course a castle. A quiet B and B that allowed one to unwind after a day of travel. Judy R.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjacres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

old castle guest house was probably one of the nicest if not the nicest guest houses we have stayed in, very comfortable,very clean and so warm and friendly.
Ester and jack make you feel right at home . 5/5

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank emzie222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAU
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

Better is not possible !
Stay truly very pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank archibalPau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

This was the second time I stayed at the Old Castle House in Glin with the Dunne's and this stay was just as enjoyable and memorable as the first. It was like coming back to stay with old friends. Though I missed Ester again this trip, Jack was yet again a tremendously accommodating host and I was able to get the same room I stayed in 3 years ago. The property is beautiful, cozy and quaint with a gurgling river running alongside the house and an old Norman castle ruin at its entrance. Delicious full Irish Breakfasts with fresh eggs from the cheeky chickens that roam the grounds. Take some time and have tea with Jack to learn some of the history of the Castle Ruin as well as some great suggestions of things to do and see that aren't necessarily in the tourist brochures. Sightseeing the Ring of Kerry (A Must See in Any Season), Foynes Flying Museum for Flying Boat history and the origin of Irish Coffee, Bunratty Castle and Folk Park (another MUST see), and taking the Ferry across the Shannon inlet and up the coast to the Cliffs of Moher, then coming back for dinner at Kirby's Lantern just up the road from Glin, followed with an evening at Dunne's Pub with Jack and the local crowd before walking the 400 or so feet back to the B&B for a peaceful night sleep. I've stayed in many B&B's in Ireland, Scotland, Wales and England and the Old Castle House is tops on my list. I highly recommend a peaceful stay here and I hope to visit my adopted friends in Glin again soon.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Westernhorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

My husband and I went to Ireland for two weeks for our honeymoon. Five nights we stayed at different B&B's, Old Castle house was the most relaxing stay that we had. The weather was a little dreary, but that didn't matter cause we walked into town to get a pint at the Dunn bar (owned by Jack and Ester). We especially loved spending time at the pub because it was exactly the experience we wanted to get at an Irish pub, time to talk with the locals, enjoy a pint and take it all in. The B&B itself was beautiful with great views from our window and antique furniture in the rooms. Breakfast was delicious and the warm welcome that you get when you first check in is second to none!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessHolbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

Ester and Jack Dunne are wonderful hosts. The home itself is absolutely beautiful and comfortable, Ester's breakfasts delicious and Glin itself charming and relaxing. Dunne's Pub is the place to enjoy the pub life. We will be back and cannot believe there is a better, more charming and relaxing B&B in Ireland or elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Razorhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glin
0.0 mi away
Knights Haven
Knights Haven
#3 of 3 in Glin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
O'Driscoll's Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Kirby's Lanterns Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Castle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Castle House

Property: Old Castle House
Address: Glin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Glin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Glin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful village of Glin within the gardens of its Medieval Norman Castle, Old Castle House is ideally placed in the center of Ireland's picturesque West Coast. It is centrally located between many popular tourist destinations such as the Ring of Kerry, the Cliffs of Moher, and the ancient Viking cities of Cork and Limerick. Many of our visitors also enjoy deep sea fishing in the Atlantic ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Old Castle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing