We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a Shame” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of O'Driscoll's Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
O'Driscoll's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Glin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Such a Shame”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Estelle was a very welcoming hostess, offering us coffee and cake on arrival. Lovely garden to sit in. However it was such a shame to see unnecessary signs dotted about in the room, including one in the bathroom regarding showering limits. There were extension cables running along the floor and a leaning shelf to hold the kettle, which were a cause for concern. We believe the guest lounge should be available at all times, however there was a sign saying it would be locked at 10pm. Such a shame as Estelle was lovely and the breakfast was beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BaetenFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estelleo, Owner at O'Driscoll's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay & liked the breakfast & garden .
But I think you were a little unfair about the signs in the room , there is a non-smoking sign , a WiFi password sign & a Red Cross Defibillator no. :- for an emergency . A check-out time.
The Extention Cable is running along the skerting board & the shelf is not a danger.
I have had 2 inspections in the last 3 years from the Irish Tourist Board since I got my 4 stars & they did not find issue with the cable or the shelf or the signs.
The Guest lounge that you refer to is the Sun room at the back of the house overlooking the garden & as this is also a back door I like to make sure that it is secure every night.
If you said to me that you wanted to spend some time there in the late evening ,it would not have been a problem to me .
I hope you enjoyed your trip to Ireland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
61
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

This was my third stay at O'Driscoll's B&B, this time with my mum and my daughter and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. Estelle really is a wonderful host and honestly cannot be faulted. The house is lovely, the rooms are all wonderful and breakfast is perfect. Glin is a lovely, peaceful town but with plenty to offer; a choice of pubs, shops and places to eat. Thank you Estelle and Charlie.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Typically my wife and I look for a B&B on the outskirts of a town preferring the country atmosphere. On this occasion we happened upon O'Driscoll's B&B in the town of Glin and were especially happy to spend a wonderful time with Estelle and her dog Charlie in their 200 year old home. Estelle made us so welcome and offered us many suggestions for what to see and do for the trip ahead. We very much appreciated her assistance in securing for us a next evening's B&B location as our travels continued over a busy,long holiday week-end. She presents a warm, hospitable location to rest from travelling as well as great food and a beautiful back garden.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melvyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

My husband & I stayed here in June 2013 during our recent trip to Ireland. We'd had a long drive & it was a cold, wet day. From the moment we walked in to the B&B, Estelle treated us wonderfully. We must have looked cold because she made us a cup of tea & gave us each a piece of her magnificent home made apple pie. The house is lovely, the room we stayed in was wonderful, the bed was so comfortable & breakfast was perfect. The total experience was fabulous. It was just like being home. I loved it so much, I didn't want to leave. We still talk about this place now that we are back home. Thank you Estelle.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We (family of 5) stayed with Estelle for 2 nights while exploring the nearby areas. She was a most gracious host, despite our late check-in the first night. Beds were comfortable, room was very clean, spacious enough for the 5 of us, and well-appointed. Breakfast was delicious, and Estelle even marked the Fourth of July holiday for us by having an American flag on our table! I would highly recommend this B&B in this lovely little town (with a friendly pub right next door!). We hope to return very soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We enjoyed our stay, and truly appreciated the little touches that made it exceptional. Having washcloths, tissues, the best hair dryer ever, a power strip on the nightstand, a printed breakfast menu with pictures, and great advice on local meals and walks all added up to a wonderful stay. Clean, beautiful, delicious and generous breakfast! A nice stop between the Dingle Peninsula and the Cliffs of Mohr.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebiandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

My family recently stayed at this B&B in Glin while waiting for the local ferry. The owner was great as well as the accommodations. The "waffles" we had for breakfast were the best I have ever had. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ogh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glin
21.8 mi away
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
12.2 mi away
Listowel Arms Hotel
Listowel Arms Hotel
#1 of 8 in Listowel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
22.7 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
The Bayview
The Bayview
#1 of 5 in Kilkee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.0 mi away
Knights Haven
Knights Haven
#3 of 3 in Glin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
16.8 mi away
The 19th Lodge
The 19th Lodge
#1 of 21 in Ballybunion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Driscoll's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Driscoll's Bed & Breakfast

Property: O'Driscoll's Bed & Breakfast
Address: Main Street, Glin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Glin
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Glin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Driscoll's Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O'Driscoll's B&B is located in the picturesque village of Glin, Co. Limerick on the N69 en route from Shannon Airport & Limerick City to Tralee/Killarney & the Ring of Kerry. Our B&B is an ideal touring base for the Mid-West & South-West of Ireland. We are approved by the Irish Tourist Board & offer top quality accommodation. Twin, double triple & family rooms en-suite available. Ballybunion Golf Course is only a 25-minute drive. Tarbert/Killimer Shannon Car Ferry only 10 minutes away. Private garden for guest use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your O'Driscoll's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing