We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“treat like family members”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Orchard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Orchard
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“treat like family members”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Eileen's cakes were the most welcoming introduction to our stay.
An all round relaxing atmosphere with typical farm house ambience and some excellent food - that breakfast lasted us all day - thank you

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireDangerousd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
263Eileen, Owner at The Orchard, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Yorkshire Dangerous,
Thank you for your lovely comments.
Glad you enjoyed the Guinness Cake.
One thing I really like is for someone to eat a big breakfast.
I hate waste!
Thank you.
Eileen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    16
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
30
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Malone, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Orchard. Eileen was a great hostess and even shared her home made breads and jellies. She is a great cook. The B&B was clean and comfortable. I would definately recommend this B&B to anyone traveling in the area. It was like staying with family...but better.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
263Eileen, Owner at The Orchard, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Debbie,

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is great to get such a warm recommendation from you.
Thank you so very much.
Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manheim, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

What a gracious and genuine hostess Eileen Murphy is. Called last minute to enquire about room, was given an immediate no problem, come on in and there will be tea ready and Homemade Guineas Cake! Rooms were spotless, great shower, terrific breakfast! Would stay just to chat with Eileen! She had great advice about areas to see and things to do. Thank you for everything! Great fun:)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gibbs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
263Eileen, Owner at The Orchard, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear Gibbs B,

It was great having you stay and because you understood the hospitality industry so well, I feel so proud of your comments.
Your photos are lovely.
You must have been in the photography business at some stage in your life.
You are now back at work and I am sure your customers will be just as happy with you as you were with me.
Thank you for your comments.
Regards,
Eileen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kingston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

Eileen Murphy is an excellent and gracious host, making my party of 4 feel welcome and at home. The accomodations were excellent! On our arrival, although late in the evening, she offered us tea and a delicious Guinness Bread. Our morning meal was excellent in every respect and she was very helpful in giving us directions and local dining suggestions - I wil stay at Eileen's again. HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constance K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
263Eileen, Owner at The Orchard, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Connie,
I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I must say I had great fun talking to you over the cup of tea.
I hope you enjoy making the Guinness Cake. I will have to make one now as I have two people coming from the North of Ireland tomorrow and they are looking forward to it. I hope you ladies had a great time for the rest of your holiday.
Thanks again for the kind works.
Eileen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Eileen, Pat, and Emer were so welcoming to our family and they really made us feel at home. Eileen met us when we arrived with tea and homemade cake. She also found a big bag of toys for our little girl. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. We had a nice evening in and Pat told us about their farm. Breakfast was fresh eggs (a choice of chicken or duck!), a fry, and delicious homemade bread. The Orchard is located close to the Southern Trail walking route and Eileen was very knowledgable about the different sections and helped us plan our walks. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
263Eileen, Owner at The Orchard, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear Kate,

Thank you so very much for your kind words.
Your little daughter was so delightful and so quite you wouldn't know a child was in the house.
When you will be back in this area again, you will be very welcome here at The Orchard Bed and Breakfast.
Eileen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

My MCC buddies and I stay over recently, received a very warm welcome. Rooms were spacious, well furnished, shower, tv etc. Beds were comfy and rooms were well heated. We were well fed in the morning and were made feel at home by the proprieter (Eileen). Price was very reasonable and will be putting the phone number in the diary for our visit again next year.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joebarrett180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
263Eileen, Owner at The Orchard, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Dear Lads,
It was great having you stay. I am glad you liked the duck eggs and home made black pudding for breakfast. I will be looking forward to having you stay again next year. I will still have the facility of driving you into your night's entertainment. Thank You.
Eileen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sneem, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Orchard for three nights during the Taste of West Fest 15th 16th September.We were exhibitors at the taste of West Fest.

The B&B is located jut outside Newcastle West on the Adare Limerick road

We arrived and were welcomed by the owner Eileen Murphy who showed a choice of rooms and after having allowed us to settle in offered a much welcome cup of tea along with some of her griddle bread, home-made jams and porter cake.
Each morning we had a lovely breakfast of local bacon and sausages with fresh eggs from their own hens, accompanied by delicious griddle bread and some more of the selection of jams.

The room was comfortable, en-suite and quiet
This B&B is one of the nicest I have stayed in and a real gem Eileen is a exceptional hostess ensuring we were comfortable and welcome at all times.
She even generously shared her griddle bread recipe with us when we showed an interest.
We will be returning next year for West Fest 2013!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
263Eileen, Owner at The Orchard, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Dear E,
Thank you so very much for the lovely comments.
As regards the griddle bread recipe, did you develop an easy version for your own business?
As Griddle Bread is so traditional and so tasty, I think your customers would love it. I am looking forward to tasting more of your delicious cakes next year and maybe your adaptation of my recipe.
Thank you.
Eileen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle West
0.5 mi away
Devon Inn Hotel
Devon Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
13.1 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
13.7 mi away
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Rathkeale House Hotel
Rathkeale House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rathkeale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
19.8 mi away
Great National South Court Hotel
23.0 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard

Property: The Orchard
Address: The Orchard Limerick Road | Co. Limerick, Newcastle West, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Newcastle West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Orchard 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our home is 100 years old and when you stay at The Orchard Bed and Breakfast, you will be stayaing with The Murphy Family. We have only 5 guest bedrooms. All of them are ensuite and towels are supplied. There is a cot available on request. I am a short distance from the centre of Newcastle West. (distance: 1.5 Km.) Parking is free. On arrival, there is complimentary tea/coffee and some of my homemade Guinness Cake. Try it and I am sure you will like it. My speciality is home baking. There is always some cake in the cake tin for the guest's use. For breakfast, I serve cereals, juice, fruit and yogurt. Then, would you like bacon, sausage and eggs? Or bacon and scrambled eggs? Maybe scrambled egg and smoked salmon? Or my French customers like my pancakes! I always have homemade Soda Bread and sometimes griddle Bread. If you stay a few nights and use Newcastle West as a centre to visit Kerry, Cork, Tipperary, Limerick City and Clare, I will have time to show you how to make my Guinness Cake or scones. Did I say that my husband is a farmer so would you like hen eggs or DUCK eggs? Just asking! You don't have to make your mind up now!As Newcastle West is not a tourist "hot spot" you will find the people very welcoming.In the local area there are many historical sites to see. Check out the Desmond Castle in the town centre, or the monastic ruins at Askeaton. Why not visit the Donkey Sanctuary in Liscaroll or Adare Heritage centre. Our local Pet Farm at Stonehall now has Zoo Status. The third in Ireland and the only one in Limerick.The Orchard Bed and Breakfast in only 1 hour from Killarney/Tralee and 2 hours from Dingle. Going north, I am just an hour and a half from the famous Cliffs of Moher and the Burren and an hour from Bunratty Castle. A trip to Blarney Castle and then onto the Rock of Cashel and home by the Glen of Aherlow is a must.To get to me is is very easy. I am on the N21. Coming from Limerick, I am on the right hand side of the road, just 200m after the 60 km/hr sign post. If you reach the roundabout you will have passed me by so just turn around and come back to me and I will have that tea or coffee and Guinness Cake ready for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Orchard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orchard Newcastle West, Ireland - County Limerick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing