We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - food could improve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Achill Island Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Achill Sound B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We enjoyed the scenery around the island - very dramatic - but were glad we hadn't paid the normal rate either. Our room was at the back overlooking the kitchens and bins and the plumbing was frighteningly loud on our second night, so we thought something was going to explode. It wakened all of us in several rooms. The bar food was awful -all freezer food - and far too expensive for what it was. Breakfast was fine and staff friendly.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front for good views and better plumbing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doonsterz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

Pros
- Food very good. Plenty of local fish options!
- Service was excellent.
- Very helpful advice from reception on places for lunch, she basically designed our itinerary for the weekend.
- Accommodation nice and clean.
- Perfect location for seeing Achill.

Cons
- Not many other restaurants nearby!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DublinPiranha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stopped off at the bar for food midway through a cycle on the Greenway yesterday. My goodness, the steak sandwich was fabulous. It was the real deal, sirloin steak on garlic baguettes. Delicious. Friendly staff, and the food was a bit slow... but it was worth the wait in the end. Worth a visit for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jayom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I've stayed in "Alice's" numerous times over the years, eaten there, stayed on my own and with groups and I can honestly say it's my favourite hotel. Like Achill, it can't ever be for one specific reason. Food, prices, views, drink and above all staff and overall atmosphere make it an absolutely ideal getaway. Achill island has got to be the best kept secret in Irish tourism, either for the domestic or foreign market. Knowing the place as I do, those who you meet there are rarely on their first ever trip - they have kept coming. Now, doesn't that count for something! The new Greenway is a great attraction. If I can do it with my levels of fitness, anyone can! Five stars or more....

Room Tip: Ask for sea view, or view out the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We spent two nights at the hotel on a Groupon voucher.
Before going We rang the hotel to ensure we were booked in and had a room with a sea view....when we arrived we were put into room 125..the room with a sea view turned into a room with a roof view. We complained at reception alas all rooms were taken but we were assured that we would be moved the following night to a room with a sea view..this was done and we moved into room 111..this room was lovely. The heat was on so rooms were really comfortable.
Food.
Breakfast was very good with super service...we had bar food on one evening..this was extremely good served by a pleasant waitress.
The hotel would need to to fix lots of minor problems..for example..replace double glazed glass in room 125..dampness in corridor beside fire exit door..broken tile and melted plastic cover over mirror light in room111.
Generally well worth a visit especially for its sea views.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Writing this on behalf of my parents, who stayed here and enjoyed their stay so much, they wanted me to add a review to Trip Advisor. Rooms were comfortable, location was great and my dad raved about the breakfast. The staff were also very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LorriC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

For the reduced price we paid on Groupon, this was fine, but I would be pretty fed up if we had paid the going rate for this two-night stay. Achill itself was lovely, the room was warm, even on a cold windy day, the kettle worked and the breakfasts were good. The staff were nice, if a bit overstretched-looking. The hotel was called 'the new hotel' by a local man we met, but it certainly does not look new. It looks worn and needs money spent on some improvements and a good tidy-up. In a recession this may not be possible. Perhaps island life is so relaxed that making the dustbin yard (with its display of empty crates and its rusting container) a feature of the view from some hotel rooms does not seem a problem, but if you are on holiday it is not what you came for. There were oddities, like a single reading light on one side of a bed for two. A nice, smiling woman brought us another light instantly when we asked - but then we found that the socket would not fit UK/Ireland square pin plugs so the light could not be used. We had already had to ask for a room change, so gave up bothering them and just improvised. And the new room had the curse of the pretendy king size bed which is actually two singles pushed together, with a dip and ridge in the middle where they hardly really meet. God only knows why hotels do this; why not just put a single and a double bed in the room if they want to be adaptable?

Room Tip: Ask for one with a good view. The hotel is surrounded by beauty but some rooms weirdly miss out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank grainnemhaol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Achill Sound
0.0 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mulranny
1,003 reviews
0.0 mi away
Achill Sound Hotel (Ostan Gob a'Choire)
0.0 mi away
Achill Cliff House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Valley House Hostel & Bar
The Valley House Hostel & Bar
#2 of 7 in Achill Island
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Achill Lodge
Achill Lodge
#5 of 12 in Keel
123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pure Magic Achill
Pure Magic Achill
#1 of 3 in Dugort
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achill Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achill Island Hotel

Address: Curraun Peninsula, Achill Sound, Achill Island, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island > Achill Sound
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Achill Sound
Price Range: £70 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Achill Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Achill Island Hotel Achill Sound

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing