We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world but clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Achill Sound Hotel (Ostan Gob a'Choire)
Ranked #4 of 4 Achill Sound B&B and Inns
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Old world but clean”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This hotel was clean, rooms old fashioned and very small, (long time since I ve come accross a double bed up against a wall) bathroom tiny and could do with a make over. General clean up and tidy around the grounds is really necessary, the view from the window was onto something that resembled a makeshift building site, wouldnt cost a lot but would be a bit improvement. Dinner was served in the bar, overall it was tasty but the amount of vegetables were almost non existant on the plate, dessert was needed to suplement main course. Breakfast next morning was basic. Staff were very friendly, in particular the owner Peter had a friendly word for all his customers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    14
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
19
15
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We walked into the bar and were greeted by a lovely young boy named Colin we asked if we could check in and he replied one minute until he gets Peter, we asked him where they greenway was located and he gave us directions and told us of popular tourist attractions on the island, (i highly recommend everyone whos staying near achill cycle the green way) the owner who was very friendly checked us in, my opinion changed of him the day we were leaving though when I saw the way he spoke to Colin he turned around to us and said he had to put smacht on the youth or something along the lines of that the room was lovely, bathroom was a bit grubby but overall experience excellent stayed there August 2012

Room Tip: Try to get a room at front of hotel view much nicer in my opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I stayed for a week in Achill Sound. The town itself is quiet and small, but there is plenty to do around the town. Lots of hiking trails, and great sights on the Atlantic Drive and Minaun Heights. If you take the Atlantice Drive, make sure to stop at the Old Kildownet Cemetery and Kildavnet Tower. Beautiful walk (but long) for those who enjoy hiking. Minaun Heights has some of the best views of the island. Challenging hike, but there is a paved road to the top if you have a car. When walking through town, make sure to stop in at Kieran Sweeney's gift shop and woolen goods. Kieran and his wife are friendly, and will share some of the best sights. Lots of great accomodations. I recommend Scanlon' Rose Cottage just outside of town. Very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I stayed at Achill Sound Hotel for five days in May 2012 and have only good things to say about the experience. The food was excellent, the ambience warm and inviting, the location terrific, the rooms basic but clean and more than adequate, and the rates quite reasonable. And the owners are lovely people. I'd definitely return and indeed plan to.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hill_gerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

going on the previous comments about the friendly owner, I can only assume I got him on a bad day. It really left a bad taste. A group of 5 of us went in there to have a drink/bite to eat and there was no sign of anyone to serve us. I went to the bathroom while the others waited for service. Bathroom was smelly and according to the cleaning sheet, it hadn't been cleaned that day yet (it was about lunchtime). When I emerged, my friends had gone! Turns out they got fed up waiting and the place was a bit grubby anyway so they weren't sure about eating/drinking there. What happened next was shocking. As I was leaving, the owner guy appeared and was really sarcastic - sneering "thanks for your custom" etc. It really bothered me so I went back in and said "that's not nice". The childish sarcasm continued (I think he mimiced me or something). He even followed me out the door and continued bad-mouthing. I have to admit I then used bad language back to him which I now regret because that's not very good of me (so I apologise if you're reading this). Look, I understand it's frustrating when someone comes in and then leaves your premises. Maybe he thought we just came in to use the bathroom (although the 5 of us wouldn't come in for just 1 to use the bathroom - so if that's what he thought then he was wrong and ill-advised to react that way anyway). We intended to give our custom but the joint wasn't up to standard, nor was the service - so we left. That was our experience - others may have a different (and better) experience and good luck to them. That's life. However, because of the chip-on-the-shoulder, world-owes-me-a-living, disrespectful and arrogant attitude (that thankfully is disappearing in Irish tourism), I will never return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
armagh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

stayed one night in this hotel in july 2012. The owner checked us in to this family run hotel and we were made to feel very welcome. The room was small but clean, the food in the bar was excellent value and quality and served by a smiling waitress. Breakfast was the best i've had in ages. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and owners- all in all a very pleasant stay at great value.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alf09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We popped into the Achill Sound Hotel for Lunch whilst driving round the coast line. We were welcomed by the Proprietor and served drinks at the bar. After chatting we ordered a light lunch which was tasty when it arrived. i had the Seafood Chowder and really enjoyed it! The host was polite and we were well looked after during our lunch. It was not particularly busy whilst we were there and we managed to have a nice relaxed chat with the owner. A lovely place to visit with great food and a friendly welcome! Thank-you!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1foxyladyderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Achill Sound
6.1 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mulranny
946 reviews
0.0 mi away
Achill Island Hotel
Achill Island Hotel
#1 of 4 in Achill Sound
178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hy Breasal B&B
Hy Breasal B&B
#3 of 4 in Achill Sound
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Ferndale Luxury Bed and Breakfast
6.8 mi away
Achill Cliff House Hotel
4.0 mi away
Achill Lodge
Achill Lodge
#5 of 12 in Keel
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achill Sound Hotel (Ostan Gob a'Choire)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achill Sound Hotel (Ostan Gob a'Choire)

Property: Achill Sound Hotel (Ostan Gob a'Choire)
Address: | Achill Island, Co. Mayo, Achill Sound, Achill Island, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island > Achill Sound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Achill Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Achill Sound Hotel (Ostan Gob a'Choire) 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Achill Sound Hotel, or in the Irish language, Ostan Gob A'Choire. Peter and Loretta Connaughton, and all of the Connaughton family, assure you a famous warm welcome to the friendly and relaxed Achill Sound Hotel. The hotel is located just over the bridge from the mainland, and in the heart of Achill Sound, the main Achill village. Close to the village shops and amenities, the Achill Sound Hotel is one of the most popular hotels on Achill Island. For nearly a century we've been offering affordable accommodation, great home-cooked food from our bar/restaurant and the ideal location for exploring Achill and the surrounding areas. We are a family hotel and add a personal touch to brighten your stay from all the family and staff. Enjoy a pint in the bar, share a song or a story and feel part of the family and the village. We have a range of double, single, twin and family rooms to choose from. All rooms have TVs, and are en-suite. From here in Achill Sound you can also explore the rest of the beautiful island with its stunning Atlantic vistas, towering mountains, cliffs, unique plants and animals, intriguing and sad history, cosy pubs, safe and scenic bicycle greenway all the way from Westport, and perfect blue-flag beaches. At once windswept, barren, wild, lush, rich and beautiful. An adventure seekers dream, or a quiet Irish paradise to escape the busy world. Come visit Achill. The hotel has plenty of safe and free parking as well as storage for bicycles and packed lunches for exploring the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Achill Sound Hotel (Ostan Gob a'Choire) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Achill Sound Hotel (Ostan Gob A'Choire) Achill Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing