We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location for a family event”
other travellers have booked this property
Outside Gardens of Achill Cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside Gardens of Achill Cottages
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
91 reviews
Outside Gardens of Achill Cottages
Upstairs Twin Bedroom
Sitting Room with roaring open turf fire
Chill Out
Kitchen
Kitchen
Upstairs Bathroom with Shower
Downstairs Showeroom
Keel Beach From Minaun Heights
Surfing Keel Beach
Achill Head
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Achill Sound, Achill Island, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 91 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
KevinH36H
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location for a family event ”
Reviewed 12 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We spent the May holiday weekend at the cottages. We were celebrating the 60th Birthday of my brother in law, affectionately known as PP (perfect Paul). We took all four cottages and we we were nearly 30 strong. We could not have picked a better location for our weekend long party. The participants ranged in age from 5 to 83 and everyone had a blast, including the three dogs (thanks for bending the rules on that one, Stephen). The cottages were perfectly located, very well equipped and comfortable but much more important our host Stephen, could lot have been more relaxed and accommodating. Could not recommend this location highly enough as a base for exploring Achill and the West of Ireland

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stu-in-oz
Victoria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“OK accommodation, with a few short comings.”
Reviewed 9 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

The cottages are situated on a quiet road, close to Achill Sound. They were in neat & tidy order when we checked in. The decor & furniture is clean, if a little dated.
The kitchen is functional, but a little small.
We had a few issues with the rental, as listed below.
1. Check in time is 4.00 pm, which seems quite late.
2. Electricity is charged on top of the rental price, it’s the first time I have experienced this.
3. A small amount of peat & fire lights was supplied with the cottage (sufficient for 1 night), guests are expected to purchase their own after this.
4. Guests are expected to extensively clean the property before departure, otherwise a cleaning fee is charged.
This includes;
a. Striping all bed linen & depositing it in the bath/shower.
b. Leaving out the trash & re-cycling.
c. Cleaning out the fire & deposing of the ashes, (no gloves are provided to assist with this task).
Give the cost & marketing of the property I was disappointed to have to clean a house which I had paid to stay in on my holiday. The addition of an electricity charge seems inappropriate for this standard of accommodation. Having to supply our own fuel for the open fire was disappointing.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciara R
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cute and cosy - perfect for a friend getaway!”
Reviewed 20 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Stayed recently with a group of friends and found the cottage to be very clean and had a cute layout. The owner Steve is friendly and accommodating, sorting us out with turf for a cosy fire, and even posting me my watch, which I left behind (Cheers Steve!). We rented bikes and spent about 5 hours on them and the scenery was fantastic. Achill should be on everyone's bucket list and I'll definitely come back and stay at Achill Cottage Holiday Homes. Really happy with the stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rkirky
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well equipped cottage in a handy location”
Reviewed 6 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We (four adults & a teenager) stayed for four nights. The cottage is a really good size, so we had more than enough space. The cottage came with everything we would need, and the friendly, welcoming owner was on hand to help with any queries we had, as well as providing lots of information about the area. Location is good, in a quiet street, yet still able to walk into the village of Achill Sound albeit initially on a stretch of road without pavements (hi-vis vests supplied though, they really have thought of everything)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colmno3
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location, nice stay”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Good location close to Achill Sound. Friendly owners. Pleasant house. Found clean and comfortable. No complaints.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa K
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Very comfortable, spacious, clean home"”
Reviewed 25 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Stephen and Rosaleen (hosts) were very friendly, gave us lots of information on the island and leaflets. They live onsite and were always there when we needed anything. House was very clean, comfortable, spacious and a home from home. House located near to shops, petrol station, a take away and information office. Also, right beside a greenway and on route to the Atlantic Drive.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the_gregg...
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage stay”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Cottage was very clean, warm and comfortable. Excellently kitted out with everything you'd need for cooking and cleaning. Had an open fire too perfect for sitting round after a day exploring. Would really recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing