We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm”
Review of Keadyville B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballycastle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Keadyville B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Ballycastle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Had a lovely stay here in summer 2013. Rooms very comfortable with smashing view. Barbara's a great woman, very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was spot on and won't leave you hungry. Would recommend this B&B to anyone. Ballycastle is a traditional old style coastal village, no Celtic Tiger bullsh1t.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamesLo1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Keadyville House. Barbara and Micheal made us feel right at home! They were kind enough to share their kitchen and wood burning stove on a chilly night. Breakfast was amazing and the bed sheets smelled like the beautiful country air. Barbara gave us an awesome route to walk to the beach and shared a lot of area history. She also sent us to Down Patrick Head - an amazing Sea Stack, which is a most see. Barbara is a great hostess! We highly recommend their home!
Thanks Barbara, Michael and Colin!
Steve and Angie Smith
Baltimore, Maryland

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed at Keadyville B&B in September. We wanted a location that was closed to Ceide Fields and also near the ocean. The view from our room was out over the Atlantic and Downpatrick Head. I watched a storm pass through and then a wonderful pink sunset. Barbara was a very welcoming host -- she fixed us tea and coffee and fresh muffins when we arrived. She also recommended at nice restaurant in Killala. Her breakfast the next morning was a wonderful assortment of fruit, breads, cereals and cooked Irish breakfast. We met a lovely couple from Donegal and enjoyed our conversation over breakfast. The room had a great view and good bed, but the bathroom was a bit small (but who spends a lot of time in the bathroom anyhow?!) Ceide Fields is only 15 minutes down the road and Ballycastle is a lovely, traditional village that seems untouched from the ravishes of the Celtic Tiger. Definitely would stay again if we find ourselves along the north Mayo coast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Irelandfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

This is special. Afterward we tried to work out why. Barbara gave us a warm and friendly greeting and we were instantly at ease. She is a local and knows the rea so well, including where to eat and what to see. Her advice was spot on. And she poroduced the only cooked breakfast to beat me all holiday. Terrific quality but just too much. And the view from our bedroom over Downpatrick Head was breathtaking (yes, as good as that!). At night I just stood in their lovely garden and watched the sun go down. Peace, perfect peace.
It is Barbara and the view that separate this from the pack.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
11  Thank Trogblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We had the loveliest time here with Barbara, Michael, Colin and Hannah. We have two small children aged 4 and 2 and we were made to feel so welcome and now have friends for life here in Ballycastle. Thank you to all of Barbara's family for such a nice time.. :) Look forward to seeing you again and we haven't even left yet :)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Barbara was a wonderful host. Her room was very comfortable & clean. She took advantage of the ocean view by placing a comfortable chair in front of the window.
Would definately recommend her home.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank northvancouver_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Took some digging to find a B&B in Ballycastle -- it's that quiet a town -- but Keadyville is a gem. A beautiful garden, lovingly tended, surrounds the house, which features charmingly decorated seaview bedrooms with window seats and hardwood floors, and a sunny glass-walled/roofed conservatory where breakfast is served. And what a breakfast! Barbara Kelly picked up quickly on our menu preferences (we are not meat eaters) and presented a colorful, generous array including fresh strawberries, cheeses, and homebaked breads & scones to go with our (excellent) coffee and eggs. Her table setting could have been a magazine cover. A hill-walker herself, she has tips for local hikes and marked trails, and her dinner recommendation was a winner as well. You are in the country -- the family's horse and cattle are in the adjacent field -- but you are reasonable walking distance from the town of Ballycastle with its classic through-the-shop pub and a serious artists' foundation and gallery. Keadyville is also just a few miles from the local beach, and from the spectacular Downpatrick Head and fascinating Ceide Fields.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Saoirse48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballycastle
13.0 mi away
Stella Maris Country House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
522 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,341 reviews
3.2 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
605 reviews
4.8 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keadyville B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keadyville B&B

Address: Carrowcubbie, Ballycastle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballycastle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ballycastle
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing