We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is worth going off the beaten track to find.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stella Maris Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballycastle
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Lovely location in northwestern Ireland. Food was excellent, service top notch. Sit in the comfortable sunroom and take in the view.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Walking16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for Stella Maris Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2011

This is a hidden gem remotely located on the north west coast of Mayo. Having travelled much of Ireland, we were pleasantly surprised to find a hotel of this quality far from the madding crowd!
Being a former coastguard building and convent, there are limitations as to what can be done - but the renovations have been tastefully and sympathetically completed. The food was delicious. Our room was tastefully understated - but it was no nun's cell! and our hosts were charmng.
If I am ever back in the area, I will not hesitate to book

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pi31415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Stella Maris is in all the guidebooks, and rightly so. Great location (if you want to explore the wilds of North West Mayo), amazing building and quite formal and very helpful hosts. The food is highly rated by many, but is not adventurous or ambitious - these are classics (we had excellent beef and lamb) well executed, but nothing above and beyond. The trouble is that this is a little less than you might expect for the price, even by the standards of an expensive West Coast. The room (a function of the building) was neither generous in size nor really luxurious (eg no dressing gowns, down duvets, that sort of thing) so you really have to go in for the country house style (the lovely bar, conservatory etc) for it to be worth while.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabine048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

I booked in for my husbands 40th birthday. While without a doubt the location is stunning we were overall dissapointed with our stay. I did book late so no ocean view rums were available but the room we had was a small double. The food was perhaps the most disappointing aspect of our stay. It was nicely cooked but ver ordinary and not all all the standard I had expected.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank galwayfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We spent a weekend in Stella Maria. The location is wonderful - an old coastguard building with a stunning view over the bay and out to Downpatrick Head. Our room on arrival had been upgraded to front room with a sea view. It was such a pleasure to lie in bed with the window open a little, listening to the waves lapping on the shore outside. And there's nothing for miles around - perfect peace and calm.

We were looking for somewhare quiet, no extras like swimming pools, spas, or wedding parties. We got just that. The perfect retreat, great hospitality and very good food.

We will definitely be back. North Mayo is great walking country. Apparently it's great golfing country too, but we are not golfers!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKDDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

I booked this for a one night break and was delighted with the friendly welcome, the free upgrade and the relaxed pace. We were able to relax in the conservatory before dinner and enjoy one of the best pints of Guinnes in a long time! Food was spot on and breakfast was delicious. Really recommend this for a chill out spot where you can enjoy doing nothing!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Stella Maris is a fantastic place. The enclosed patio / greenhouse room is stunning and offers a fantastic view of the bay -- it was great to sit out over cocktails. The hosts were also excellent chefs for dinner and breakfast the next day. The rooms were cute, a bit reminiscent of their history as part of a nunnery. The location and the views from the hotel are what you come for. We stayed at Stella Maris while driving through Mayo; its a wonderful place to land on a tour of rural / Western Ireland and we would definitely return if in that part of the country again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballycastle
15.6 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,328 reviews
19.2 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
1,048 reviews
24.3 mi away
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Belmullet
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
516 reviews
16.2 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
603 reviews
17.2 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Maris Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris Country House Hotel

Address: Ballycastle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballycastle
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballycastle
Price Range: £102 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stella Maris Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Stella Maris Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing