We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most restful vacation ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stella Maris Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballycastle
Reviewed 24 February 2008

We had an extended family get-together here, and the experience was great for all of us. We had teenagers through oldsters, golfers, avid readers, an artist, a photographer, and an archaeologist. There was something for everyone. It is close to Ceide Fields, the oldest neolithic site in Europe, with a wonderful interpretive center. There are several well-known golf courses which were enthusiastically played by the golfers. I am the artist, and painted the ever-changing sky and the view of Downpartick Head from the large glass conservatory. The photographer walked and drove all over the area and got some wonderful shots. We also loved the sculpture trail, which had local artists create outdoor sculputers in the most remote areas.

The hotel itself was charming and well-appointed. I wish we could have stayed longer. Rooms were comfortable and immaculate; every one seemed furnished individually. The bathrooms were well-designed with lots of hot water and high-end toiletries. I had a window seat in my room, and spent time gazing over the water and reading. The food was fabulous, with fresh local ingredients. (I wish they had offered cooking classes.) Service was attentive but not fawning, and the dining room very attractive. The bar is well-stocked (my husband found the best single malt scotch) and very comfortable. We learned alot about the history of the area and sights to see from the owners and the staff. They suggested a place with sea-weed baths which was a highlight of my trip.

All in all, a great getaway which I hope to repeat. I have never felt so relaxed as I did at Stella Maris, or as well-taken care of.

  • Stayed: June 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank avms3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2007

I stay in very many hotels all over Ireland for work and have got a bit fussy over time. i requested an upgraded room, as i was working for a full day when there, and wanted somethng other than a field to look at every now and then! i got the upgrade, as i was a business customer, although they kept mentioning it several times, which i found irritating. Anyway, the room was bright and pretty, and it was brilliant to have broadband - i get tired of bringing a memory stick to reception to send off work when staying in more remote locations. However, in a very irish way, when i hung a Do Not Disturb sign on my door, i had a phonecall from the owner to ask me if i had really meant to leave it there so long! Yes, obviously, was the answer... All in all, fine, but what really surprised me about this place is the fact its in the Blue Book, something associated with excellent food at a hefty price. My meal was totally average, in fact, poor in places. The starter, goat's cheese with leaves, was burnt and nasty; the sorbet was a over-frozend disaster like a child's ice-pop; and i left most of the lemon tart as it was so soggy on the base. The salmon was wild, delicious and properly poached, but one course out of three does not a good meal make. Also, i specifically asked that my half bottle of white be chilled. It arrived almost lukewarm. i found it surprising that nbody asked me why i had left so much on my plate for three of the four courses. It struck me as a complacent restaurant.

Stayed: July 2007
2  Thank Lasairfhíona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 February 2011

The writer of this review is a writer for a newspaper in Ireland. She contacted us a couple of days ahead of arrival, explaining that she was a member of the media, needed to be in the area for two days, and would we provide a discounted rate for her for no other reason that she represented this newspaper. We agreed to do this as a courtesy. We provided a deep discount, and additionally upgraded her to an oceanfront room upon arrival. It was apparent that she expected this treatment as there was no acknowledgement or thanks forthcoming for these goodwill gestures. On the afternoon of her second day, a housekeeper wanted to change towels, tidy her room, etc., and the “Do Not Disturb” sign was hung out. While we did not want to disturb her, we wished to ensure that she did not need anything before the housekeeper departed for the day; we also offered her nourishment as she had not requested lunch. We rang her room and she declined both with some choice words. Regarding our food, we have been cited by several tour and food guides for the absolute high-quality of our meals. One leading restaurant critic has gone as far as to state that meals created by our owner/executive chef are “perfect.” Like all good restaurants, our white wines are served chilled. We did not discover there was a problem with the wine cooler until the half-bottle of house wine had been served at her table; at that point we offered to ice the wine or change to something else. On the rare occasion when a guest doesn’t finish a portion, we inquire why. Complacency is not part of our vernacular. It is appalling that this guest made no attempt to state any of her criticisms at any time during her stay; she waited until she left, then anonymously wrote mistruths and exaggerations while hiding behind the veil of secrecy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2007

Stella Maris - Great place and well worth a visit. Recommended for those that like to relax and watch the ocean, eat great food and enjoy the sea air. Frances and Terrance have a real gem and have made it into a wonderful, peaceful and relaxing place.
Interesting history about the building too. V. good for golfers with many courses nearby.

Next day visited the Ceide Feids which are very interesting and holds great history too. Recommend a visit to Belmullet town - Mayo is keeping this one a secret! Great town, very friendly people, good night life and plenty to do. Long drive to get there - allow at least 2 hours to travel from Mayo to Ireland West Airport/Charlestown.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edearie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2006

After 5 nights at Stella Maris, we really didn't want to leave. The serenity of this area will seep into your pores. The warmth of Terence and Frances will become something you expect. And the food, you have locally grown and raised being cooked to perfection. And this doesn't happen by accident. Terence and Frances anticipate your needs. Golf in this area is the one Irish secret- they haven't been "discovered yet", but they will be soon- County Sligo, Connemara, Enniscrone, Bellmullet Carne.) Breathtaking. We found the rooms appointed simply but well- they understand American traveler's needs. We travelled with our sons, ages 21 and 26, they were as comfortable as we. Eat in every night there, don't miss out on a single creatively crafted meal....

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank othello1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2006

We stayed for just one night in September, and would agree that the location is nice and the food above average. The public areas are cosy and well presented. However, the rooms themselves are small and basic. For example, a very small shower room and no tea/coffee facilities. If you are looking to play at Carne, then go for the Broadhaven Bay Hotel at Belmullet. A more modern hotel, but similar quality with equally attractive view at half the money.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank TerryDart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 February 2011

When the gentleman called for a reservation the day before arrival, he was informed that there was only one oceanfront room remaining and that it was the smallest room in our inventory. He booked nonetheless and received said room when he arrived—all 6-foot-4 inches of him—with his partner. We certainly would have placed him in another room if possible, but since we were booked out, we did not have any other oceanfront rooms available. All of our other rooms are larger, but they were occupied. We provide tea and coffee service to our guests in their rooms upon request.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2006

We stayed for two days in August 2006 at this lovely good sized B & B. Our hosts Frances & Terrence were gracious and warm and we really enjoyed the food. Our accommodations were perfect, they had wireless Internet access and a great view. We wished we were there longer to enjoy the area, play more golf as we got to play one round at Carne (Great), and read some of the great golf books. Spent a few hours one afternoon at Downpatrick Head which is a great place. There is so much to see in the area and it was a whole different atmosphere than the "popular" tourist areas of Ireland as the area was not crowded at all. We will be back. Also look for a very nice article on our gracious hosts in the latest Golf Digest.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank NorthShoreLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2006

Five years ago, my wife and I stopped in Ballycastle, County Mayo in Ireland and stayed for a few nights at one of the most lovely, friendly and restful hotels we have ever stayed in. Run by proprietors Frances Kelly and Terry McSweeney, Stella Maris is nestled along the shore of the ocean and a small bay. The hospitality, superb accomodations and exceptional cusine are the best to be found in the Republic of Ireland. During our subsequent stays at Stella Maris over the last 5 years (we have visited annually), we have discovered some of the best and relatively unknown golf in Ireland - Carne Golf Links, Enniscrone and Rosses Point. We anticipate continuing our annual trek to Ballycastle for years to come to enjoy this lovely hideaway.
Steve & Ruth Jubb

6  Thank SteveRuth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballycastle
15.6 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,380 reviews
17.6 mi away
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Belmullet
522 reviews
19.2 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Maris Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris Country House Hotel

Address: Ballycastle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballycastle
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballycastle
Price Range: £130 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stella Maris Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Stella Maris Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing