We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't meet expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stella Maris Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballycastle
Dublin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Didn't meet expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I booked this hotel as it is a blue book location, I expected a unique hotel with little extras that blue book establishments provide, this hotel doesn't meet that expectation, it is in a lovely location, but no garden, nowhere to walk in the evening other than main country road which is not safe and no seating outside, when the conservatory got too hot, as it did on first evening. It promises fine dining, while the food is good, it is fairly plain and far from fine dining, very poor cheese plate served cold with bought water biscuits for €11.50! as there are no restaurants anywhere near, you have no options for eating out. I will say the tiramisu is the best I gave eaten. The breakfast is a big let down, very limited, bread on both days was not fresh. Wifi only works intermittently, and TV choice very poor, no extras in bedroom other than regular toiletries, and no tea/coffee provided. Newspapers not available on both days at breakfast or up to an hour later at least. Power showers are advertised as a feature, my shower certainly was not a power shower in the 2014 general standard. Overall this hotel feels like it's been run at a lower level than 10 other hotels in blue book that I've visited and it's poor value for money

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Anna048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StellaMarisCountryHo, Owner at Stella Maris Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
The expectations of a hotel guest can be difficult to anticipate. We strive to ensure all of our guests have a memorable experience, and believe we are usually successful. In some rare cases, it is just not possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    13
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
11
39
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights 2 weeks ago and had a lovely relaxing break.
Breakfast and Dinner were very good as were the hosts and staff.
Views from the bedroom and conservatory were beautiful.
For a nice relaxing. quality break we would have no hesitation recommending the Stella Maris

Room Tip: All sea facing rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Normaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullingar, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here with no expectations last Saturday night as we were participating in a cycle event in Ballycastle on Sunday. WOW! An oasis of peace and tranquillity. Wonderful food. Frances Kelly and Terence Sweeney are charming and all the local staff are very friendly. We reluctantly departed but we will return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MullHeif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The gravel driveway is always an immediate indicator that simple elgance and hushed tones surround the whitewashed walls of this outpost of civilization overlooking a wonderful beach.
The restless bulls in the adjacent fields and roads did provide a whimsical reminder that this is Irish countryside. The whole show was enhanced by the genial hosts brimming with "bonhomie" for the impending arrival of the "bon vivants"! Warm inviting bar dining areas provided an interesting contrast to the cool tones of the spotlessly clean bedrooms where the tidal waters lapping against the shore ensured a good night's sleep at this Mayo coastal gem!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foghornleghorn68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
476 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Finally arrived at Stella Maris Country House after a travel detour and were graciously welcomed by Terry the owner and escorted to our room on the 1st floor. We had a delightful 4 poster with a view of the ocean.

The hotel was originally a barracks and a convent which has been tastefully converted into a very comfortable country house.

Dinner was cooked by Terry's wife Francis and the quality of food and service was simply magnificent. Starters of local smoked salmon and a tagliatelle dish got us off to a great start. Mains of local beef was perfectly cooked and a delight. The wine list whilst not extensive together with the bar charges made drinking a little on the expensive side however all served by Terry who is an excellent host without being intrusive.

The conservatory is the full width of the hotel offering views of the sea in great comfort and an opportunity to view the collection of antiques.

Altogether a great overnight stay, excellent food and ambiance in this quaint little backwater.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bryble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
267 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here last weekend with my Mum. Dinner was outstanding, breakfast was great, the view from the conservatory was stunning and the owners were friendly and helpful but not intrusive which was lovely. Also, we were not rushed to leave on the Sunday which was lovely. My only disappointment was our room, it was truly convent like, lacked character and had a "cold" feel to it. It was a twin room and was handicap friendly so I went away from there thinking that one is really at a disadvantage if a twin room is needed as they only have 2 so there's a 50% chance of getting this room. The food and the view would make me come back here again for definite, I would just never book a twin room again.

If you are staying here pop into Ballycastle village for a coffee or lunch in Mary's kitchen, it's really cute and all homemade food.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CaitDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

My wife & I have stayed here a number of times over the past 10 years and have yet to be disappointed. The high standards set by the proprietors have not slipped, from the cleanliness of the rooms, the general fixtures & fittings, hands on service & the fabulous meals created from mostly locally sourced suppliers. The location is terrific (whilst not being spectacular) & all in all one of our favourite destinations. Not at all cheap but extremely good value.

Room Tip: Just ask when booking. We prefer the rooms where the Bed faces the windows at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djaym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballycastle
24.6 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Belmullet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
15.1 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Diamond Coast Hotel
Diamond Coast Hotel
#2 of 3 in Enniscrone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
24.3 mi away
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Belmullet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
19.2 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Maris Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris Country House Hotel

Property: Stella Maris Country House Hotel
Address: Ballycastle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballycastle
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballycastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stella Maris Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Stella Maris Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing