We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay in lovely hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knock House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knock House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Knock
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
236 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in lovely hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

I stayed in the Knock House Hotel most recently in October on a four night special dinner, bed an breakfast package.
Check in was fast, efficient and courteous.
My room was spacious, spotlessly clean and had well stocked tea/coffee making facilities. There was also a very informative guide to the hotel services and local tourist attractions.
The bathroom was warm and also spotless and was cleaned every day.
Breakfast consisted of a buffet continental and cooked breakfast served to the table.
Dinner was always excellent and the package menu, while having less choice than the à la carte, gives very good choice for meat and vegetarian. Service is prompt and the waitresses are very charming and do recognise regular guests.
I have been staying in Knock House Hotel for about six years and usually two or three times a year and I cannot recommend it highly enough for value, friendly and helpful staff and being an ideal location for a quiet break. I will return soon again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Redsionnach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianc999, Manager at Knock House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time & trouble to articulate the many points that have enhanced your most recent stay with us.It is always most encouraging to receive feedback from our many guests,& even more satisfying for us all to hear you have been, & will continue to be,a regular,loyal & happy guest.Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    36
    23
    13
    7
See reviews for
42
28
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Downings, Co Donegal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel, the rooms where great, clean, spacious and very comfortable. The staff where very helpful and friendly. The food was excellent. Not a place to go if you expect a wild weekend, this hotel is suitable for a nice quiet relaxing get away weekend. First Class hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be the same, our party booked five rooms and they were all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 205Deb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianc999, Manager at Knock House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Your constructive comments are most welcome indeed.Thank you for taking the time to highlight the areas of satisfaction you experienced during your recent stay.It is always a great source of encouragement to us all, to have happy customers that spread the good word following their stay with us. Hopefully you will all return for another short break in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

This hotel is wonderfully designed, with stunning views of the countryside surrounding Knock. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The restuarant was excellent, although very disappointed that there was no bar in the hotel. The town of Knock is mainly catering for the people visiting the shrine so the local pubs and restuarants very quite and few and far between.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa20Norwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianc999, General Manager at Knock House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Thank you very much for your knid remarks regarding your recent stay with us.There IS in fact a Full Bar facility available at the Hotel.However,there is a restriction on our Licence,as it is for Residents & Diners use only.Table service is available to anyone requesting a Drink,& indeed it should have been offered as a matter of course,to anyone who asked for directions to the Bar.My apologies if we fell short in this area during your visit.Thanks again for your constructive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meath
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

from when we arrived,we found the staff friendly.the hotel is only a 3 star but it felt like a 4 star.the rooms are basic but very cosy and the crowning point is the four seasons restaurnt.the food is excellent staff friendly and waiting time for the meal was miminal.the breakfast was plentyful.even though it has no bar the waitress service with drinks was prompt.already talking about going back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianc999, General Manager at Knock House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
It was a pleasure to read that you found our Food & Service levels exceeded all your expectations.Your constructive comments are indeed most welcome & thank you for the Extra Star too.!The Hotel has a Full Bar & Lounge area,however,it is restricted to use by Residents & Diners only.It was great to hear that your Drinks order was promptly taken & served by our Waitress.Thank you once again for your comments,& we look forward to seeing you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

Stayed 2 nights in September 2012 with a group of 16 others. The hotel, staff and service was excellent. Staff were all friendly and helpful at all time. We met the manager and he is an extremely helpful man. As this is a 3* hotel the rooms were as expected. Bathrooms are small - but we were there on pilgrimage and not to sit all day in the rooms. The meals are excellent and served really hot. The location is excellent for the shrine and there is a shuttle service to bring you to any of the sites. All of us had a great stay and will definitely recommend it and return to it. Thank you to all the staff!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianc999, Manager at Knock House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Thank you all for recording your recent experiences at Knock House Hotel.The fact that you all enjoyed your stay,the Food & the helpful friendly staff mean a lot to us all here at the Hotel.We were all delighted to read that you will not only be back but will recommend our Hotel to others.Thanks again for your very kind comments.We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights at Knock House Hotel and was made to feel welcome from start to finish of my holiday. Staff, food & Room was excellent. Everyone I spoke to were highly impressed with everything.

Would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay again.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ramsbottom936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianc999, Manager at Knock House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Wow! Thank you so much for your very kind comments & observations following your recent stay with us.We were all delighted to hear that you really enjoyed your visit to Knock House Hotel & the surrounding area.We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Arrived by bus from Galway with only a short walk to the hotel and shrine. (Arrangements can also be made for pick up) Stayed two nights to visit the Shrine and was very pleased. Both breakfast and dinner was better than I expected. The shuttle back to the bus station before 7 am was arranged without any problems. If you are looking for a quiet, clean and relaxing hotel to visit the shrine this is it! Stayed for two nights to visit the Shrine.

Room Tip: This hotel would be great for those looking for something that is very handicap assessable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mtnmom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianc999, Manager at Knock House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
It was really great to hear that your recent stay with us was so comfortable & enjoyable.Thank you for noting the points of satisfaction,as it is always very encouraging for us all to hear from our satisfied guests.Spread the word ! & thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knock
5.3 mi away
Cill Aodain Court Hotel
Cill Aodain Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kiltimagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
5.6 mi away
McWilliam Park Hotel
McWilliam Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Claremorris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
5.5 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kiltimagh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#2 of 3 in Claremorris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
22.8 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
10.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel
The Gateway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Swinford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knock House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knock House Hotel

Property: Knock House Hotel
Address: Knock House Hotel Knock House Hotel Saint Martha's Ballyhaunis Road, Knock, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Knock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Knock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Knock House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knock House Hotel is a newly refurbished 3 Star 68 bedroomed Hotel located in the tranquil International Marian Shrine village of Knock, Co Mayo. This hotel nestles in 100 acres of picturesque grounds and is less than a 5 minute walk from Knock Shrine & Basilica. It's the perfect location for a relaxing break. Here you will experience uniquely friendly, comfortable and stylish Hotel with superb welcoming staff and excellent cuisine. The hotel has 6 wheelchair accessible rooms and is noted for its excellent facilities for those with mobility needs. Knock House Hotel is just 20 minutes from Ireland West Airport Knock and 10 minutes from Claremorris Train Station. The Hotel provides a pick-up & drop off service from Knock bus stops, and to and from Claremorris train station on a pre-booked basis. This Mayo Hotel is the perfect base to get out there and explore the magnificent scenery of the West of Ireland, follow the Wild Atlantic Way, or discover your own route. Westport, Galway and Sligo are all within an hour's drive of the hotel. Visit attractions such as The Museum of Country Life,Ballintubber Abbey, Yeats Experience, Foxford Woollen Mills, Croagh Patrick, Kylemore Abbey, Fr Peyton Centre, Céide Fields and many more Knock House Hotel- where a warm welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Knock House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing