We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved being close to the Shrine”
Review of Knock House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Knock House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Knock
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed at the Knock House Hotel for one night the end of June. We loved being so close to the Shrine. The hotel does not have air conditioning, which worked out fine because it was so cool out. Breakfast was a traditional Irish, very nice but I being the picky American did not eat much. The room was nice and large though a bit dated. Overall, we greatly enjoyed our stay and it was the prefect place for us to see the Knock shrine. It was very nice to have the shuttle to take us to the train station. Thank you for making our time in Knock enjoyable!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank preppytraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianc999, Manager at Knock House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you for your review,following your recent stay with us.It was nice to hear that your time with us was enjoyable,& we really appreciate your comments.Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for Knock House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

I enjoy the convenience and comfort of this hotel. Always helpful and homely staff
Keep up the good work
I have come here three times this summer.
I find it quiet and peaceful and welcoming after a long journey. There is a wide selection of breakfast and the morning porridge is the best around!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CobhCathedral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianc999, Manager at Knock House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Thank you for your compliments regarding the Hotel & its staff.We were delighted to hear your feedback as a very regular Guest indeed.Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Enjoyed our stay very much, peaceful, convenient to shrine grounds, excellent food and very friendly staff. I am very impressed with the kindness and understanding shown to the elderly and those with various handicaps by all the staff. A pleasure to observe.

Room Tip: Check that the window opens.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 708Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianc999, Manager at Knock House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

What a pleasure to read your "Impressive" review of your recent stay at the Hotel.
We are all motivated by your kind comments regarding our Food & friendly staff,as we strive to ensure all our Guests are as well looked after as we possibly can during their stay.
All the windows do open,however, our guests need to push in at the handle,& perhaps we need to highlight this in the rooms for their added comfort.Thanks for the "room tip",it is most constructive & helpful.We look forward to your return visit to Knock.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week starting Saturday 21st July 13.

Check in - quick and easy.

Room - very basic no frills bedding very drab room smelt musty, toilet seat broken reported it three times did get sorted in the end, stains on carpet.

Meals - same items on the menu all week by the end got fed up with them but as nowhere else sells food as we did look had no choice but to eat in, also one night a group 6 arrived and the men brought a iPad or something and was watching a football match and it was load just a they were this spoilt our quiet meal, when we as the resteruant manager why she did not ask them to turn it down she said she did not think it was a problem and that they were guest, well so were we!!!

Problems we had - electronic keys to the room kept working nearly every day and we had to keep walking back to reception to get them.

Everytime we tried to get drinks we were asked repeatedly if we were residence even 5 mins after we had booked a table for the night time meal we were asked the same question, it was annoying to be asked this every time we wanted a drink.

One night we tried to book a table for a meal and when we gave our room number we found that someone on reception had booked us out of the hotel so we weren't registered.

Knock is a nice area if you are going to the shrine and this hotel is ok for that kind of visit, but for a base to see the rest of Ireland or to spend a week there then no I would not recomend this hotel.

I must say it is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in will not go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank janeLincolshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianc999, Manager at Knock House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time & trouble to record your recent experience at Knock House Hotel,& I was most disappointed to read that we did not live up to the standards you were expecting during your stay with us.Please accept my sincerest apologies for the shortcomings at the Hotel.
Any guests on a Bed & Breakfast rate can avail of our A La Carte Menu in the Restaurant & our Lounge Food Menu. The basic content of the Menu does not change,but we change our Dish of the Day & Catch of the Day,every day, to ensure variety.Both are extensive menus & offer excellent value for money,& variety.
We are Licensed to serve Alcohol to Residents & Diners only,have a Full Bar,& offer Bar & Table service to all our Guests. I fully appreciate the annoyance this causes all our Guests at being asked whether or not they are Residents.We are merely attempting to be compliant with the Licence requirements,but regretfully it can be frustrating,& for this I apologise.
I have reviewed all your comments & passed them on to those concerned.Thank you once again for your most constructive comments,as it is only by receiving these that I can ever hope to improve the Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I stayed here at the end of June 2013 and all I can say is that nothing has changed. If you read my last review when I said ''3 star hotel, 5 star service''. Well nothing has changed. It's exactly the same. Friendly and accomodating staff, excellent rooms, and wonderful service. No request is too big. I just love this hotel and all going well will be back sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASle_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianc999, Manager at Knock House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Wow.! Nice to see that your return visit was up to your expectations & that we were able to deliver in all areas to ensure your stay was enjoyable.It is great to hear from all our Guests,especially when they are more than satisfied with the Hotel,& it is a real motivation for us all. We constantly strive to achieve more,& sometimes don't, at every opportunity,in order to ensure the happiness of all our Guests & their ultimate return.
Thank you once again & we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

This is a very nicely done hotel. Everything was quiet and comfortable. It is priced on the high side, but the facility is really pretty. They have a large comfortable lounge area where we were able to visit with friends and not disturb anyone else, and the dining room was easily available and breakfast matched up to the quality of the rest. They have seating times for dinner and we were adviced to reserve your time as early as possible because the filled up.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank VAtravelingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianc999, General Manager at Knock House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time & trouble to record your satisfaction,following your recent visit to Knock House Hotel.We were delighted to hear that both you,& your friends,enjoyed the comfort of our Lounge & the Hotel facilities in general.Hope to see you all back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Myself, my wife and her Aunt and Uncle had a really lovely 2 night stay on Sat. And Sun. on 9th & 10th March 2013.
Althou we have been staying in the hotel for approx 3 times a year every year since it opened we had not been back there since sept. 2010. We found the food great as it always was, simple menu which we could understand. We have stayed in other hotels around the country where the menues did not suit us and we had to ask for the "TOUR" menu when available.
One tip, if you want extra sausage or rasher ask for them when ordering as they are only putting one of everything on the breakfast plate due to wasteage, which is understandable.
Every thing was spotless as usual. the staff and management were great, and most of them remembered us after over two years.
I read in one of the reviews that it was stated there was no bar in the hotel, there is a very small one down stairs, but mainly the waitress will bring you whater you want in food and drink.
We got a great deal, 2 Nights DB&B for 118Euro each.We will be back soon.

Room Tip: Ask for room 210 or any along THAT side of the corridor. If there is muic on nights of big pilgrimag...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianc999, Manager at Knock House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

Thank you very much for your complimentary comments,following your recent stay with us.It was most encouraging to read that even though it has been a while since your last stay,all the facilities,the Food & the Staff,were operating efficiently,& that your stay was indeed a memorable one.I hope you will return again soon to the Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knock
5.5 mi away
McWilliam Park Hotel
McWilliam Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Claremorris
728 reviews
5.6 mi away
Park Hotel Kiltimagh
Park Hotel Kiltimagh
#2 of 2 in Kiltimagh
270 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cill Aodain Court Hotel
Cill Aodain Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kiltimagh
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#3 of 3 in Claremorris
68 reviews
6.0 mi away
Dalton Inn Hotel
Dalton Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Claremorris
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Drum Haven Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knock House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knock House Hotel

Address: Knock House Hotel Knock House Hotel Saint Martha's Ballyhaunis Road, Knock, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Knock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Knock
Price Range: £113 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Knock House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knock House Hotel is a newly refurbished 3 Star 68 bedroomed Hotel located in the tranquil International Marian Shrine village of Knock, Co Mayo. This hotel nestles in 100 acres of picturesque grounds and is less than a 5 minute walk from Knock Shrine & Basilica. It's the perfect location for a relaxing break. Here you will experience uniquely friendly, comfortable and stylish Hotel with superb welcoming staff and excellent cuisine. The hotel has 6 wheelchair accessible rooms and is noted for its excellent facilities for those with mobility needs. Knock House Hotel is just 20 minutes from Ireland West Airport Knock and 10 minutes from Claremorris Train Station. The Hotel provides a pick-up & drop off service from Knock bus stops, and to and from Claremorris train station on a pre-booked basis. This Mayo Hotel is the perfect base to get out there and explore the magnificent scenery of the West of Ireland, follow the Wild Atlantic Way, or discover your own route. Westport, Galway and Sligo are all within an hour's drive of the hotel. Visit attractions such as The Museum of Country Life,Ballintubber Abbey, Yeats Experience, Foxford Woollen Mills, Croagh Patrick, Kylemore Abbey, Fr Peyton Centre, Céide Fields and many more Knock House Hotel- where a warm welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Knock House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing