We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IF ONLY THEY COULD BOTTLE THEIR BREAKFAST ATMOSPHERE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Bank House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Grouville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The thing we enjoyed most about the hotel was the relaxed and friendly atmosphere that was created at breakfast each day and our experience would have been significantly better if this same attention to detail could have been applied in other ways.

Located in the village of Gorey on the East coast of Jersey with a few eating places and a couple of general stores close by and within a decent walk of the harbourside and a good selection of restaurants and bars ,this is an old building converted to provide around twenty rooms with a basement bar and an all day tea room open to the general public.

A few points about what we found at Old Bank House may be worth noting - there was a very easy style greeting which included just passing the keys to us and leaving us to find our room ourselves. The room we had was clean and tidy but included no (expected) phone, nor did it have any chair of any kind which seemed unusual. The Wc/shower cubicle off the bedroom was very compact (although the power shower was truly excellent) but there has been no room for a wash basin which was placed with mirror above inside the bedroom itself by the window.

The bed was very low but comfortable but we did have an issue with the housekeeping as we found cups and glasses were left unwashed and toiletries were not replenished without asking at Reception.While the hotel was reasonably quiet there was a seagull nest complete with three chicks just outside our window which will probably cause future occupants some concern in terms of noise nuisance generated as they grow if they are allowed to remain by the hotel management.

Overall we enjoyed our stay here as would others if they seek a modest, cheap and well located hotel that offers a good cooked breakfast to set you up for the day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LES N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

Its not often I am able to give such a good review for a hotel but this one is one of the best I have stayed in recently. Yes its a little dated but its quaint, clean, smart and the beds are a dream. Very comfortable. Tea and coffee facilities are available, as is an excellent hair dryer. The staff are excellent; nothing was too much trouble and service was good. Breakfast was very enjoyable, with good food served by the housekeeper who was friendly, helpful and full of information. She really made us welcome, as did the other guests who were all pleasant and friendly. The atmosphere was of a big family. The hotel is nicely situated in the pretty village of Gorey, and is close to many restaurants and the harbour. The takeaway fish and chip shop opposite the hotel is fantastic. From the harbour there are buses to take you all over the island. Car park is good. Hotel also serves cream teas in the garden, I didn't try them but I understand from the other guests that they are very good. We enjoyed our stay so much that we will be going back again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaptJ_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We would recommend this b&b for its great location,lovely breakfast and excellent service.
we stayed for a week in may 2013 in a family room with our four year old.The hotel is spotlessly clean but abit outdated.Our room was like stepping back to the seventies! But that should not put you off as we would definately go back,weve probably watched too much Hotel Inspector!
Breakfast was excellent and breakfast room and bar was bright and airy.Would also like to mention Chilena who was the lady serving tables and at reception,she was so friendly and gave our son bread everyday to feed the ducks she put a smile on our face everyday!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diggers6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Great staff , very friendly and helpful , and an enjoyable and generous breakfast each morning set us up well for a days exploration ! The rooms were nice enough - clean and with comfortable beds - just a couple of minor annoyances with a broken shower head and a broken kettle meant we had to swap rooms mid week , but this wasn't too much hassle .Would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwickenhamKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

This former Bank building has been tastefully converted into a hotel in the centre of the small village of Gorey. The hotel has parking at the rear which was good since parking seems to be a big issue in Jersey ( the use of pre-paid scratch cards to park in certain places is the Jersey alternative to pay and display). The staff were pleasant and helpful. The bedroom was a good size, clean and comfortable. The hotel is not suitable for wheelchairs and there is no lift for those who have difficulty with stairs. Our tariff included breakfast, which was ample, well cooked with quality ingredients. The bar/resturant was located in the basement, which was well appointed with comfortable seats. The hotel did not provide evening meals, but there is plenty of choice nearby.For those who arrive late (like us), there is a fish & chip shop directly opposite. There is a good chinese resurant in the village and a selection of eateries along the harbour in Gorey, a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel. Our stay was near the end of season, so the hotel bar closed early (8.30pm).

Room Tip: The front of the hotel faces the road through the village. Rooms at the rear are quieter, however in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedPig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Had stayed in Gorey before but wanted a change of hotel. Spotted this about 3 years ago and following recent reviews decided to book. The room was comfortable, generous and clean. The breakfasts were beautifully cooked and more than ample. Staff were kind and very pleasant. The breakfast room is painted bright yellow and seems sunny despite being in the basement. There is an obvious theme re hot air balloons. Ask why when you stay. Although The Bank House does not now do evening meals, snacks and afternoon tea are available, which can be eaten either inside or in the very pleasant courtyard garden.There is a bar but no cask ale. There is a fairly large carpark. There are good and excellent restaurants within 20 mins walking distance, at or near Gorey pier, a Chinese restaurant in the village and even a fish & chip shop across the road from the hotel (take-away only). If you don't have a car it is only a ten minute walk to the nearest bus stop. We will be staying here next time we visit Jersey.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeenWalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed in this comfortable hotel for three nights (Sept 6-9), and were delighted by its charm, the cleanliness and finish of the rooms, and above all by the hospitality and friendliness of the staff. Excellent well-cooked breakfast in well-appointed basement room, plus the option of relaxing on the sun-trap patio. Gorey is a great place to be based, with all the great beaches of the north coast within easy reach. The castle provides a stunning backdrip and is well worth a visit - just watch out when they fire the cannon. I swear the ground moves and covering your ears is a must! The Old Bank House is thoroughly recommended and we look forward to returning one day soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in a spacious family room - although for the price of a twin - and its location on the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank templar79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grouville
1.1 mi away
Beausite Hotel
Beausite Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grouville
202 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beachcombers Hotel
Beachcombers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grouville
475 reviews
4.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St Helier
1,710 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 32 in St Helier
772 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel De Normandie
Hotel De Normandie
#4 of 5 in StSaviour
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bank House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bank House Hotel

Address: Old Bank House Hotel Gorey Village Main Road, Grouville JE3 9FX
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > Grouville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grouville
Price Range: £89 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Bank House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Old Bank House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bank House Hotel Jersey/Grouville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing