We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Countryside Gem”
Review of Beachcombers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beachcombers Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grouville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Beachcombers for my big(ish) birthday. We arrived at the hotel at about 9.30 a.m. and were pleasantly surprised to be able to access our room after only a short wait - check in time is not normally until 2 p.m. However, we were a little taken aback to be asked to pay for coffee while we waited, especially as breakfast time was still ongoing! The room was spacious and clean, with a very comfortable bed, but we felt the bathroom was a little shabby with rust around the chrome fittings. We understand though that further refurbishment is to take place. Staff were very friendly and one receptionist in particular secured a good car hire deal for us. Breakfasts were very good but we would have preferred the eggs to be cooked to order. We had one evening meal which was tasty and good value. The location is excellent, being bordered by fields on three sides and a short walk to the Gorey coast. All in all we would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ground floor room with direct access to the terrace, swimming pool and car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Libby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

We enjoyed our stay which was enhanced by very friendly staff and pleasant surroundings. At first we were well impressed with the dinners but as the week progressed we found a limited number of items on the menu which were repeated. The room needed some simple updating, ie lubricate the curtain rails, repair taps, toilet roll holder, touch up paintwork etc. the mattress was also too soft for our liking. The car park was too small and access difficult, this could easily be adjusted. Generally we were happy with the experience.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank DavidBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We not know what to expect of The Beachcombers' but this short break exceeded all our expectations.
From our arrival, we were very impressed with the rural unspoilt location, the well-tended gardens
with the Van-Gogh-like Iris's and orange marigolds as you enter the grounds; delightful.

We requested a quiet room, which was provided. The beds were very comfortable. The room staff were very kind and attentive for anything my wife and I requested.

All the staff were without exception attentive, helpful and good-humoured.
The food was excellent. I spoke to the Polish chef; I have never tasted chips so delicious and had to find out how he cooked them! Stir-frys, very fresh cod, and exceptional rib-eye steak
I can highly recommend. Vegetables and vegetarian dishes were also very well-cooked and appetising The home-made soups were exceptional. Also a very well-chosen wine list-the Australian Shiraz was superb.
There is a lovely outlook across a field to hawthorn hedges and an old oak tree from the hotel.
the bus service
The Beachcombers' is very convenient for the lovely Grouville bay beach (10 minutes walk away)
and also for the bus service.
My wife left her nightdress after we left, and this was promptly returned by the hotel management;
very helpful and obliging.
Parking facilities are good; not congested. There is a tennis court and swimming pool too.

In short, we can recommend The Beachcombers without hesitation!

Room Tip: Do not be afraid to simply ask! Rooms upstairs towards the front seem the quietest as far as we can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john_r190729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

A lovely hotel in a nice part of jersey. Staff very friendly and helpful, especially cleaners. Rooms clean and bright, comfortable beds and lots of storage space. Nice restaurant with excellent food. Lovely outside pool with sun loungers, although we couldn't try it out as the water was very cold; apparently the heating had broken down the week before. Bar staff come to pool area regularly to take and deliver drinks orders. No entertainment while we were there, but we were out a lot of the time anyway. We had use of a car and there are lots of lovely places within 15 minutes drive. This was our first visit to jersey and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the pool side. These have a French door which lets you step out of the room and in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dismondguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

we have just returned from a four day break at this small but friendly hotel. there were four of us on this break and we all agree that this hotel was an ideal location for travelling around the island.It is quiet clean and the staff work really hard at making your stay enjoyable the beds are comfy the room very clean and cleaned daily and the food was lovely well presented and very tasty. no complaints from this group on any level hope to return again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay, overall the hotel was very good, facilities good, the staff were
very helpful and attentive, bar area very smart,restaurant very good and the food excellent.
unfortunately the room was very poor. the walls were paper thin, it was very cold and damp
and the bathroom should have been updated many years ago AVOID ROOM 3!!!!. would we
return yes but only to the modern part of the hotel.

Room Tip: rooms over looking the pool and car park seem to be more modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a week in this hotel. I actually won a three day break in a competition and we extended it to a week.
The staff in the hotel are fabulous and cannot do enough for you. The food was excellent and very good value.
It is a short walk to the beach and only half an hours walk to Gorey Harbour with all the sites and restaurants there.
There is a lovely pool with very comfortable sun beds in beautiful gardens.
Can't wait to go again x

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the pool would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grouville
3.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
3.0 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 31 in St Helier
788 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel De Normandie
Hotel De Normandie
#4 of 5 in StSaviour
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#21 of 31 in St Helier
880 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 31 in St Helier
1,239 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ommaroo Hotel
Ommaroo Hotel
#18 of 31 in St Helier
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcombers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcombers Hotel

Address: La Rue a Don, Grouville JE3 9GB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > Grouville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grouville
Price Range: £46 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachcombers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Beachcombers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcombers Hotel Grouville
Beachcombers Hotel Jersey/Grouville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing