We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great break”
Review of Beachcombers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beachcombers Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grouville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable stay at this hotel. Our room was quiet and spotlessly clean,with a very comfortable bed. The staff were very helpful and pleasant and breakfast was very nice. We only ate in the hotel on one evening and had a very nice meal,other times we ate in Gorey village. The facilities in the pool area were fine and we spent one afternoon relaxing by the pool after a long walk.The hotel was ideally placed for us between Gorey and La Rocque,two places which we like very much. We will definitely be making a return visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1961gandc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Anna and the staff were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble, the hotel was immaculate, the food was great and fresh and the room was lovely. Excellent location, very tranquil, just a short walk from Gorey which we love and on the bus network too. Loved relaxing by the pool. I can't wait to return. A little gem! S.Harvey

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We booked this on a very short notice cheapie with BA and hoped for an OK hotel as the price was very low. What a pleasant surprise!

On arrival the hotel gives a mixed impression of a bit of a retro seventies motel throwback and a quiet tranquil hotel. We really liked the palm trees and retroness of the style as it seemed to suit our wish for a tranquil break to recover from illness.

However, tHe room, whilst not "boutique" was modern, clean, comfortable and had a brand new bathroom and TV. Plenty of sizeable mirrors, good lighting, decent hanging space and an iron. The bed was large and comfortable. A French door stepped straight onto the terrace with comfortable furniture and where the pool was, so we had the opportunity to sit outside and read or take a cuppa from our room out when the weather allowed - an added bonus we had not expected. Gardens were pleasant and there is a tennis court if you feel energetic.

The bar area is adequate and restaurant quite nice, although the evening lighting was a little gloomy and improving that to some lower level lighting would make it cosier. Improving the seating in the bar nay have encouraged us to tuck down for a brandy and game of chess after dinner. The food we ate was of a good standard and the steaks we had were well cooked and nicely presented. There was a good wine selection at very reasonable prices. Breakfast was laid as a buffet with good selections and there was more to order such as porridge if you wished. Quality of the sausages and bread could be improved and some fresh fruit like bananas would have been nice.

Overall, we really liked the relaxed ambience and the tranquility of this place. The staff were pleasant, helpful and efficient.

It is clear that this hotel is undergoing a programme of maintenance which hopefully includes the slightly grotty metal windows, and improving some of the soft furnishings, but at the deal we got we were extremely happy and as we had wanted somewhere relaxing, it fitted the bill perfectly.

It's location near yo Gorey is good, transport links excellent and we will definitely come back.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jben40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just returned from a short trip to Jersey with my daughter and granddaughter. We have never been to Jersey before and stayed at the Beachcombers, aware that it is a 3 star hotel, as such it was clean and quiet, the room was reasonably spacious for three of us and serviced daily, the beds were comfortable, the shower was good. The room was a little gloomy but we were only there to sleep so it wasn`t important. We found the staff helpful and pleasant, they dealt with one or two complaints promptly and efficiently and were kind enough to print out our boarding cards for us before we left. The breakfasts were the usual buffet kind, plenty of cereal, fruit etc although the bread was not good being very thin and tasteless, the eggs are better not being described as also the bacon and sausages! The waiting staff were very pleasant and helpful although the restaurant ran out of gluten free bread (my daughter is coeliac) one morning which was not helpful.
The car park is small with a very narrow entrance from the road which could do with being enlarged however we always found a parking space.
My granddaughter enjoyed the pool and there were plenty of comfortable loungers.
Altogether it was a reasonable experience for a 3 star establishment.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sonbol187045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Superb little hotel. Anna (the manager ) runs a tight ship. Well organised and efficient. Everywhere very clean - our bedroom (47) was top floor or three but well laid out - nice view over the pool and garden ... spacious and plenty of drawer and wardrobe space.
Excellent food. Breakfast great and evening meal delicious.....

Perfect location with nice walks and Gorey harbour & Castle very close ...
we will return for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivaylesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just home from our 4th (or 5th?) stay at this great little hotel. We're local but live on the opposite side of the island so it's always nice to walk the quiet country lanes, coastal paths & beaches near the hotel, before dinner & then again the next day after breakfast. Delicious food, reasonable wine & drink prices, Laura & the kitchen/dining room staff are always friendly & attentive, we always enjoy Chivu's company at the bar & Anna's smiley face & professional manner at the desk. Till next time, thank you all, we'll be back!

Room Tip: 1st floor at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KitKatKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Isabelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grouville
3 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 30 in St Helier
816 reviews
3.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
2.5 mi away
Hotel De Normandie
Hotel De Normandie
#4 of 5 in StSaviour
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#20 of 30 in St Helier
902 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#10 of 30 in St Helier
997 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ommaroo Hotel
Ommaroo Hotel
#18 of 30 in St Helier
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcombers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcombers Hotel

Address: La Rue a Don, Grouville JE3 9GB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > Grouville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grouville
Price Range: £48 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachcombers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Beachcombers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcombers Hotel Grouville
Beachcombers Hotel Jersey/Grouville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing