We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, nice view, nice food”
Review of The Boat House

The Boat House
Ranked #7 of 25 Restaurants in St Aubin
Price range: US$4 - US$33
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, View, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: There is a regular bus service to the town St Helier. The bus stop is approx 30 metres from The Boat House.
Description: A stunning bar and restaurant offering an unforgettable experience on the North Quay, St Aubin, Jersey.The Boat House offers restaurant dining upstairs on the Upper Deck, and delicious tapas and light bites downstairs on the Main Deck. Located at the Western end of the spectacular crescent shaped St Aubin's Bay, The Boat House is a modern, two storey, glass and timber building with large terraced areas enjoying terrific views of St. Aubin's Bay. It is an amazing place to spend time with friends and enjoy a relaxed meal.
Oxfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice place, nice view, nice food”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Modern and swish set on the harbour the setting makes a good start. The food is plentiful and well done; choices are typical, chicken or burgers and mostly with chips but there are other options. This place just made a nice change from the Jersey norm.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 40somethingboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHG_Admin, Manager at The Boat House, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi 40somethingboy,

Thank you for visiting The Boat House. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the change.

The Boat House Group management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    414
    187
    78
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived on jersey at an odd time and walked to st aubin for food. The boat house was open and we sat outside. Food was lovely. Freshly cooked and a great welcome to the island.

Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHG_Admin, Manager at The Boat House, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi Sam S,

Thank you for joining us at The Boat House. We appreciate your review.

Do come again!

The Boat House Group Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning location, great service and great food”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Ate here on a recent trip to Jersey. We had a table by the window (I say window - nearly a glass wall with amazing view of harbour). Food and service was amazing. Will definitely be going back here when I visit again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sawyer359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHG_Admin, Manager at The Boat House, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi Sawyer359,

Thank you for your review of The Boat House. The harbour-view is one of the most-loved features of The Boat House, (along with the great-tasting food!). So we're glad you also enjoyed this.

We look forward to having you again,

The Boat House Group Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely spot and great welcome”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Having been made to feel very unwelcome at another restaurant in St. Aubin when we asked if we could eat outside, we wandered over to The Boat House. We were made to feel very welcome - nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We sat outside on their small upper terrace - such a lovely spot. The food was lovely - we shared a Greek platter between 3 of us to start and there was ample. We ordered the Moules frites, fish & chips and the ravioli - it was all delicious. We have eaten at The Boat House many times and it gets better and better.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jersey53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHG_Admin, Manager at The Boat House, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi Jersey53,

Thank you for your kind review.

We're glad to hear that you were made to feel very welcome at The Boat House. Our staff work very hard to create the perfect atmosphere for guests.

We look forward to having you again.

The Boat House Group Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“2 maggots”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have really enjoyed the Boat house and so we decided to take two friends from Amsterdam out for a meal there last night. Sadly one of our friends had a maggot crawl out of her salad and up the side of her plate. The waitress promptly removed the offending critter and then after quite a wait returned with a replacement salad, unfortunately this had anchovies on it that she had expressly asked to not have included. This plate was then removed and a third salad arrived, which then had another maggot crawl out of it. Basically at that point all of our guests lost their appetite and stopped eating. The thing we were most unimpressed by was the fact the maitre d'hote seemed to suggest that this can't have been true. Was this the first salad returned to the table? Are the cleanliness levels up to the right standards? Does she really think that three people are seeing things....sadly will not return to this restaurant until there is major change

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHG_Admin, Manager at The Boat House, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
HI Martyn S,

Our salad leaves are freshly prepared every morning and between washing, spinning & preparation are checked at least 3 times for impurities.

We can't give a response about the first salad as the waitress who removed it from your table put it straight to the bin. The second salad had anchovies, which we can only apologise for, but this was removed and replaced with a fresh salad immediately. The third came back and under inspection from the Catering Director, Head Chef, Chef de Partie & Duty Manager no maggots or critters could be found. The only thing which they could see which you may have thought was a critter was some residue of the fat from the bacon. Other than that they couldn't see anything.

A complaint which attacks the cleanliness of our kitchen is one we never want to see. Our chefs work long hours ensuring everything you receive at the table is 100% edible and part of this is making sure the kitchen is spotless. A month ago we had a visit from the local Environmental Health Officer who gave us a glowing review and commented on the cleanliness of the kitchens on both floors and the preparation kitchen in the basement.

If you would like to take this any further then please contact myself, Ross Michalski the General Manager on 744226 or by email ross@theboathousegroup.com.

Many thanks,

Ross Michalski.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boat House also viewed

 
St Aubin, St Brelade
St Brelade, Jersey
 

Been to The Boat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing